We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa
Ranked #132 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Lisburn
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and can say that the staff at the front desk went out of their way to be helpful. The hotel is in a good location close to the metro station and 10 min walk to the center of Lisbon. Breakfast was standard buffet with a good selection of choices. We would stay here again if in Lisbon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stan_kee85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    242
    62
    6
    3
See reviews for
71
221
48
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was a nice small hotel in a very good location in Lisbon-easy walking distance to the center. The rooms were small, but comfortable and clean-good lighting for a hotel room. Best of all was the front desk staff-they were very pleasant and helpful-giving us excellent recommendations for nearby restaurants and activities. They were very helpful with an excellent recommendation for a tour to Sintra when we couldn't get there by train because of a slow down of the day we planned to go (Dianatours Rais de Sintra-an all day tour that went to both palaces and gave us time to wander on our own).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rataBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cuneo
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed two days in Lisbon and this hotel was perfect,everything at walking distance.
The staff was friendly,the room small but clean,the location ok.Great breakfast with all you can ask.There's a very good choice of restaurants nearby for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DadyCuneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I've just returned from a 7-night stay at the Dom Carlos Liberty Hotel. It's a fairly nice place, but in my view, a bit overpriced. I see that Mambo_DK got a 'deal' (in mid-August) for 50 Euros a night, which would be more in line with what I would have expected to pay. (I paid 69 Euros a night -- just a couple of weeks later -- which, in my view was a bit pricey.)

However, on the positive side:
Good location -- just a heartbeat away from Avenida Liberdade.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Bed was quite comfortable.
They had 4 of my favorite TV channels: Travel, National Geographic, Odyssey, and Bio.
Room was clean.

On the 'neutral' side:
No complimentary toiletries, e.g., body gel, shampoo. (Most 3-star places routinely provide these items)
No complimentary coffee/tea packs or cordless kettles. (Again, most 3-star places provide these items.)

When I next return to Lisbon, I may stay here again, but not at 69 Euros a night, given that other people seem to be able to get 'deals' at far less than what I paid.

A difference in dates can't be used as a reason for a 19 Euro/night price discrepancy, given that Mambo_DK went in mid-August and I went only a couple of weeks later -- both dates still during 'high season'.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starlightShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

stayed here with my partner for 3 nights. we know lisbon well so choose this rather than an upscale hotel. the rooms are small, but that is lisbon for you. the price was the main attraction and we were very happy with the value for money. very centrally located and only a few mins walk from the tourist sightseeing bus terminal which was very handy. veryy good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed in this hotel last year with friends and was really impressed. Staff were helpful,breakfast was plentiful and it was ideally located. Thinking of coming back to Lisbon again and this hotel will be our choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bill y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The staff was so helpfull, and geniunly cared for their visitors. We rarely walked by the counter without seeing a member of the staff giving advice to someone visiting, and we stayed for 8 nights. Also the cleening personell were very plesant, and that is something we dont always get when we're a young couple...

The rooms are fine, unless you need much space, they are clean and look new.

Also the breakfast buffet was above expectations, all kinds of pastries and fruits aswell as the normal hotelbreakfast things. We ate much and good here every morning.

The only negatives for us were: Small tv in the room (although with some 40/50 different channels), and no wireless internett in our floor (8'th).

All in all our best hotel experience in a European big city, and at 55 EUR with breakfast buffet Dom Carlos Liberty is a bargain! This is for sure the Hotel we will be booking if we are going back to Lisbon, and we are happely advicing friends this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sigmund0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
#136 of 251 in Lisbon
465 reviews
SANA Capitol Hotel
#66 of 251 in Lisbon
586 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#92 of 251 in Lisbon
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botanico Hotel
#140 of 251 in Lisbon
412 reviews
Hotel Florida
#112 of 251 in Lisbon
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa

Property: Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa
Address: Rua Alexandre Herculano 13, Lisbon 1150-005, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, alongside Avenida da Liberdade and next to the Marques de Pombal. All rooms equipped with individual climate control, thermal and acoustic insulation, cable TV, mini-bar, digital safe, and private bathrooms with hair dryer.The Dom Carlos Liberty guests can also count on a fitness center, meeting room, laundry service, garage, and 24-hour luggage service. Full coverage of Wi-fi internet access free of charge. Smoke free Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa Hotel Lisbon
Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing