We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad -Not Wonderful”

Restaurante Tripeiro
Ranked #1,231 of 4,104 Restaurants in Lisbon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Bulverde, Texas
Level Contributor
482 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 835 helpful votes
“Not Bad -Not Wonderful”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stopped at Tripeiro on a whim. The wait staff was efficient, friendly and helpful. The Garlic soup was quite wonderful. We then had a dish of Clams and Pork which was disappointing. We did see other dishes go by that looked good. When we visited with those clients having the dishes they stated they were "okay" no rave reviews from anyone; however, no complaints either.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    80
    47
    25
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
141 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We decided to try it out on a hunch, while walking down Rua dos Corrieros.
Service was nice, the location central, but the food was just terrible.
We had a pan cooked mix of meats that came with rice and fries. The meat pieces were suspicious pieces of undetectable organs, and the side dishes were drenched in oil. We were genuinely suffocated only after a few spoons, with a bad stomach ache that followed.
Moreover, the semi dry white wine we ordered gave both of us a headache immediately as we were drinking it.
What seemed like a nice unplanned stop for lunch, ended up as an overpriced bad culinary experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RJS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good Seafood Rice”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The taste of the seafood rice is very good. For the service, I think it is acceptable. I didn't try other food, but if looking for a seafood rice, Tripeiro is a good choice.
And it is a good price for a dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Small taverna”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very small tables,just enough for 2 plates an 2 glasses.Attentive waiter delver immediatley plate of home cheese and olives,which are tasty.After my question,why house wine so swee ,he reply tt it always semi-sweet,which is not true of course.price for 1 ltr is (euro,other places-5 Euro for the dry one.We ordered seafood rice and grilled dorado.Long waiting explained by fact,tt there only one cook.Food was nice,but final bill 45euro(10%service was included by hand in the bill),after waiting for change fm 50Euro,waiter not reacted and we left dissapointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank admirerItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delectable!!!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a quaint little restaurant in the heart of Lisbon's main tourist district. It is family owned and operated and serves traditional Portuguese cuisine. The peri peri chicken was moist and rich with sumptuous flavours. The serving size is quite generous - 1plate is good for 2 people and comes with your choice of 2 side dishes.

Be aware that like many restaurants in Portugal this place will offer you tapas to start, they are not free of charge and if you choose to nibble on the offerings it will be added to your bill.

Bom apetite!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hkja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Tripeiro also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante Tripeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing