We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, Stately Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
Ranked #112 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegant, Stately Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

Stayed a few days at the Marriott Lisboa for a break from local friends. The hotel is a little out of the way from the old city (about 1 hour walk, 10 minutes by taxi) but glad I selected it. Typical high end Marriott property with outstanding staff who were always ready with a smile. The room was average size but spotlessly clean with character (furnishings better than average). This hotel is very spacious with high ceilings and large open foyers and conveys a feeling of grandness. The outdoor swimming pool appeared to be a hub of activity and the hotel appeared to have brisk business. Due to the layout though, it was not loud and lacked any kind of crowded feeling.

The only negative was the buffet which was ill-advised by one of the waiters. Most of the food sat under heat lamps for over an hour before the buffet was opened. Everything was bland and somewhat dried out from the heat. But even so, the staff were great!

At roughly CDN 115.00/night I thought it was a very good value. The management from the Montreal hotel I reviewed here should contact the management at the Marriott and maybe learn a few things.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corum101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    939
    370
    106
    46
See reviews for
397
596
146
601
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

liked the hotel and staff. It's a shame it isn't 2-3 km further downtown. Generally the service is good, Marriott standard, but few highlights.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billy1837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

In almost 40 years of travelling around the globe, I have never experienced such poor service. My laptop and several other valuable items were stolen from my room while I was out in town. When I saw that my room had been ransacked (bags were opened and another locked bag had scratch marks where the thief tried to pick the lock), I immediately phoned and asked to speak with the hotel security manager. I was informed that the hotel did not have a security manager (very strange) and was directed to the manager on duty. The manager was extremely unhelpful and was rude and apathetic to my situation. Samuel (manager on duty) hinted that perhaps it was due to my own negligence (I perhaps left the laptop outside the room door) that the laptop was stolen. These ludicrous and outrageous statements from the manager led to my asking to speak to the police. After filing a police report, the manager still refused to investigate the situation and search the property to locate my stolen items. The Marriott should be ashamed of providing such poor service (something which they claim is a priority via their slogan “At your service”). I sincerely hope that the Marriott looks into the situation and tries to find the culprits. It would appear that only someone connected with the hotel would be able to gain access to a locked guest room. The Marriott has a lovely property in Lisbon and I hope that they improve their level of service so that such incidences do not occur in the future. Ensure that your valuables are locked up securely if you choose to stay at this property!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravellerYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
Level Contributor
291 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

I only stayed two non-consecutive nights, and just a few hours to sleep, but i liked the staff, (friendly and fast) and the room, specially the bed and the bathroom. Just a warning, because i stayed just in transit, because the city center is quite far indeed, I haven't had the time for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

As usual, the comforts of Marriott are superb in Lisbon. The rooms are fabulous! And the room service was great. The staff was very helpful and attentive when inquiring about side trips and attractions. The pool is lovely too. The hotel location is a bit out there. It is a trek downhill to the metro stop, which isn't too bad, but walking back up is not much fun. There are no restaurants or shops nearby, everything is a cab, bus, metro ride or a long walk away, but you cannot beat the comfort!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

I stayed in the hotel for 3 weeks in 3 different rooms. The hotel looks like it could use some remodeling. The rooms look ok but nothing fancy, the bathrooms are quite old and could be cleaner. The most annoying thing for me was the smell in the room - probably some detergent they use for cleaning but the smell was so strong I had keep the balcony open for the night.
Another thing is the bottleneck at the reception desk. It's a big hotel so if there is a busful of tourists checking in right in front of you (happened to me twice) prepare for at least 15 minute wait.
Breakfasts are the highlight of this hotel - if they are included in the price.
The location is a bit out of the way so if you want to go to the center you will need to spend 5-6 EUR for a taxi.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba
Level Contributor
286 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

I had a four night stay in Lisbon Marriott, and it was a very good experience!
The room was on a high floor, and with a balcony.The size of the room is perfect, and after staying in other Hotels in Europe it was really nice to have space for the luggage, and sleep in such a good bed, with good linens.
Very clean and really well maintained.You can notice it´s not a brand new Hotel.
The staff is very helpful and friendly.
The fitness room needs new equipments, it´s outdated!The pool is great for summertime.
You may ask your breakfast in your room which is perfect to share with your room mate, if don´t want to have the buffet and it is less expensive as well.
I did my laundry in wash house, close to the Hotel(I Had a lot of Clothes).And it was perfect, they made a great job and a save some money.
The only inconvenience is the location.I must plan your day considering to come back to the Hotel just for the night.
The subway is a 10 minutes down hill walk, what is a little stressing on your way back...
Despite that is another great Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AUECWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Novotel Lisboa
#102 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parque das Nacoes
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
#110 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,460 reviews
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
#43 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Marriott Hotel

Property: Lisbon Marriott Hotel
Address: Avenida dos Combatentes 45, Lisbon 1600-042, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#57 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#58 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#58 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#88 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisbon Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the future of travel at the Lisbon Marriott Hotel, your home away from home in the heart of Portugal's capital city. With renovated guest rooms and public areas in 2015, the Lisbon Marriott Hotel welcomes business and leisure guests with luxury accommodation and a prime location near Lisbon Airport and city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lisbon Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Lisbon
Lisbon Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing