We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very expensive for what is offered”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
Ranked #112 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very expensive for what is offered”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed in this hotel because I attended and international meeting that was held there, so the location was convenient for me. Otherwise, location would be a negative point.
This review's score is actually based on the price I payed for 1 night - 140 eur for a double room plus 19 eur for private parking (and I really couldn't find anywhere else near to park in the surroundings). For that money, I expected more! Hotel is dated, wi-fi is only available in the lobby - you have to pay to have it in the room!!!!! Didn't get to experience the pool because the whole morning it was covered in shadow. TV signal was very bad and the image was not clear. Breakfast was OK.
There are plenty other hotels offering better conditions for a much lower price. Marriott really needs to step it up on this one

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachella84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia R, Manager at Lisbon Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

We are indeed disappointed to read your remarks which show that you have not been entirely satisfied with your stay.

I take this opportunity to inform you that very soon we will start a renovation project which will freshen up our Lobby and rooms. The main idea is to offer a seamless experience merging modern, stylish design and comfort to all our guests.

We sincerely hope that you will visit us again, another time in the future, and that you will see an improvement in our service.

Kind regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    939
    370
    106
    46
See reviews for
397
596
146
601
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott for just one night. Was flying out with the family the next morning. Great hotel so close to the airport (about a mile and half). It was super clean and staff was very friendly. They have a restaurant on site and a swimming pool, which was great for the children (ages 11 and 6). If your looking for a clean and comfortable hotel close to the airport...this is it!

Room Tip: If you have small children (under 12) the hotel will give you a cot free of charge if needed. Helps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Pros: Fabulous staff at the front office and check-in was so quick and easy
Good selection for their breakfast buffet and loved the omelet station
The bellman and concierge were great and they even have the Hop-on hop-off bus stop at the hotel two times a day for pick up so you don't have to go to the city center to hop on.
Free wifi in the lobby
They have a couple of places of free parking and we were lucky enough to score a space when we checked in.

Cons: Location but its only a 10 euro cab ride in which isn't much at all. I originally though I booked the one in the city center but this one was great and I can't complain.

One afternoon we got to the pool literally right after the service had ceased for the day and when we asked the restaurant staff if we could get a drink by the pool they refused and then the nicest lady by the name of Joana who was cleaning up close by overheard us asking and came over and quickly got us sorted and brought us a drink. Really left a great impression on us!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauiDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights whilst my partner was at a conference at the University next door - hence our choice. If you do stay here then be prepared to use taxis or to walk to take public transport to the centre. The hotel is on main roads and walking into town not really an option. There are taxis on site, bus stop opposite and metro stations within 10 mins - Lisbon's transport network is excellent.

Whilst clean etc the hotel is now quite traditional & dated. The pool is unheated & deep & in shade for a large part of the day and therefore very very cold.

Everything comes at an extra charge. Internet in your room is around €20 a day - insane! A very simple breakfast is €12+. We walked over the bridge to the old village and took breakfast at a cafe there for €7 for two!

By far the most annoying part was the charge for a movie we hadn't watched - we don't watch T.V at home and hadn't even turned it on! I'll be watching my account closely as it seems others have been charged for services they have not partaken of here.

Overall - functional, corporate, expensive & bland.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAPlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia R, Manager at Lisbon Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel

We assure you that we do our best to accommodate our guests as efficiently as possible so we apologize that the level of service did not meet your expectations.

We appreciate your understanding as the charge made to your room was an unexpected situation due to unforeseen circumstances and kindly ask for your understanding. I would also like to assure you that your points were addressed to our television company in order to avoid issues like this happen again in the future.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our hotel so that we can provide you with the outstanding service you deserve and expect from Marriott

Best regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We chose this hotel due to it's close proximity to the airport.We only spent one night and arrived very late due to our flight being delayed. We received a warm welcome and the porter was especially efficient. The porter was just as shocked as we were when we unlocked my daughter's room to be welcomed by an unmade messy room. The porter phoned reception and she was allocated another room on another floor.Our room reeked of cigarette smoke, even though we have non smoking rooms as our preference.One room missed a bath robe. In our room the big water bottle on the table ( not complimentary) had a broken seal and the water bottle in the mini bar was also open and half empty. Breakfast was average and the service was very poor. Our table was not properly set and we had to get some cutlery, sugar and salt from another table. We also had to get up from the table to look for a waitron to order coffee and it took very long for our plates to be cleared. On the positive side, the room decor was inviting and the bed was very comfortable with good quality linen and pillows.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EtrRsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia R, Manager at Lisbon Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us.

The Lisbon Marriott Hotel is known for its hospitality and the quality we provide to all our guests, unfortunately you did not experienced this, so please accept our sincere apologies.

We can only apologize if the service was not up to our normal standards. I would also like to assure you that we will be taking appropriate action to make sure that such situations do not happen again and we will address your points to our Housekeeping Manager.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our hotel

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

theres a few average or negative reviews about this hotel i did not agree with at all. spent 4 nights here. very well priced (had a further discount due to function). hotel is half way between city centre and airport. taxi from airport cost me 7 euro (others said 10-15) and got there quickly. nice lobby and easy check in. room itself was nice for my single purpose with study desk, empty fridge (no minibar contents), ironing board, safe. tv had 3-4 3-4 english news channels. large bathroom with bathtub and bidet. room service one night was fine. the included buffet was average, chef cooking omelettes, other hot food, whole fruit, cold platters. i found the lunches and dinner (inc buffet) a better range than the breakfast but being picky. pool simple, and overlooked by rooms and adjacent apartment block. pool may be a bit deep for smaller children (<5-6?). gym was reasonable with 8-9 treadmills, bikes and other devices. 2-3 weights machines and TV on wall. lobby also has several tourist shops and small 'deli' with drinks, toiletries etc. note there was no water included in room but didn't mind paying 3.50 euro for a litre in this shop. slightly further out than most hotels hence price, but only a 5-10 euro taxi ride, or could get public transport from bus stop adjacent zoo (5 mins walk downhill). the concierge was helpful on tourist issues. i understand the hop on hop off tourist buses will collect you from the hotel to take you into city where you can take one of 3 bus lines. internet in hotel is only free in lobby and irregular - unable to upload youtube video one night, fine the next. otherwise its 19 euro/night to have the internet in your room!. all up, nice hotel could do with minor spruce up of exterior but would happily stay again for business or holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieHrvat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice welcome on arrival, Hotel was full but had lots of staff who were excellent so no delay, no problems. Every one spoke very good English and Spanish as well as Portugese. Hotel is next to busy dual carriageway so a bit noisey. Breakfast was very good as long as you go early. If you lay in and go later, there can be a lack of choice.
I was ill (nothing to do with Hotel) and needed to visit Hospital, staff pointed me in right direction and arranged a taxi immediately.
Just a warning though if you have to pay and then claim back on your travel insurance Public Hospitals do not accept foreign credit/debit cards

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreu r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Novotel Lisboa
#102 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parque das Nacoes
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
#110 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,460 reviews
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
#43 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Marriott Hotel

Property: Lisbon Marriott Hotel
Address: Avenida dos Combatentes 45, Lisbon 1600-042, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#57 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#58 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#58 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#88 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisbon Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the future of travel at the Lisbon Marriott Hotel, your home away from home in the heart of Portugal's capital city. With renovated guest rooms and public areas in 2015, the Lisbon Marriott Hotel welcomes business and leisure guests with luxury accommodation and a prime location near Lisbon Airport and city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lisbon Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Lisbon
Lisbon Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing