We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”
Review of Neya Lisboa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Neya Lisboa Hotel
Ranked #97 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed two nights at Neya Hotel in February 2013, and had a very pleasant stay. I arrived early in the morning, but the receptionist was very understanding and gave me a room right away. My room (single room) was spotlessly clean, big-ish and has a great bathroom. I had a room facing the back yard, which was very quiet. I also liked the sustainable profile that the hotel has, but would appreciate a little more light in my room. During the evening, the room seemed very gloomy and dark.

The free breakfast was excellent as well, with high-quality food. I only wish that the “milkshake” of the day could have been colder. But I really appreciated the large selection of bread!

There is a grocery store about 400 meters from the hotel (ask the receptionist) and several Metro-stops close by. The easiest to find might be Picos (yellow line).

I would definitely stay at Neya again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorite, Gerente at Neya Lisboa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2016

Dear Sirs,

thank you very much for your nice review.

Hope to see you soon back in the Neya!

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Neya Hotel in Lisbon proved to be a little gem. Small, but comfortable, and a great value. It was my first trip to Lisbon (business), so I don't know the big picture of what's available and at what cost, but I'd return to this hotel in a heartbeat. Nice restaurant, although not a big draw, as it was seldom busy, but with good breakfast included in my very reasonable rate. Nice bathrooms, comfy bed, free internet access that provided decent speed. Essentially everything I needed. Location is OK, not stellar, but Lisbon is not a huge city, and it's easy to navigate by taxi or Metro. The closest metro station was about a 5 to 7 minute walk, and much easier to walk to than to walk back from, Lisbon is NOT flat. Cabs were cheap enough. A few restaurant choices in the immediate vicinity.

Room Tip: Try the little middle eastern restaurant on the circle just down the street. Great food and nice pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank handlebarmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel. I was stayed with my husband and our 2 months old daughter. It was half business half family vacations. All staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is varied, they beat on quality instead of of quantity (as it should be): fresh fruit and salads, milkshake of the day, a variety of teas and breads, cheese and pastry, the scrambled eggs are the best I've ever tasted! The room had a super comfy mattress, the shiatsu cushion is excellent after a tiring day and can be used on the back and the calves but that not an excuse not to try the massages! If you ask for crib witch was our case, the room space gets limited, we had to choose between getting access to the desk, the wardrobe (which is reduced for a couple traveling more than 2 days, actually I found it quite small for a double room, it has the ideal space for one person traveling a week, more than that it is necessary to leave clothes on the bag) and the widow! If you "loose the crib" the bed is huge for 3 =) The bathroom is spacious. The wi-fi was quick. The restaurant has a varied suggestions and a excellent quality-price, with lunch menus at 10 euros with superior quality. You get more than what you payed for =) Room-service is quick and with little increase. The spa massages are at an attractive price, I am a massage knower and I advise you to try at least the Ayurvedic! Right in front of the hotel there is a bus stop that leads to various points in the city and Belém, you also find the metro station at a 10/15 minute walk and taxis are always passing by. Although it is near a hospital it was rare to hear ambulances (and our room was facing the street). I will return for sure because in addition to having been well received, I'm curious to see the suites and as it is an environmentally friendly hotel you feel like "I'm doing the right thing by supporting a good initiative!"

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorite, Gerente at Neya Lisboa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2016

Dear Madamme,

thank you very much for your nice words, we are very glad to know that you had a great time with us.

For the next time please do not hesitate to contact us with some time, we want to welcome you with our repeater customers attentions.

See you soon back in the Neya!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here at Neya Lisboa. The room was spotless and modern. the bathroom was really nice, but the sliding door didn't always shut completely (not a big deal!)We loved the Eco-conscious approach as well. The wifi is free and we enjoyed a great breakfast buffet every morning. The metro isn't too far- about 8 minute walk. The metro system is easy in Lisbon and worth trying! There is also a bus stops directly in front of the hotel and many taxis. The front desk staff was wonderful and friendly!

This was a great place to stay and would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jehrn313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The only let down for the hotel is it's location, a good 20/25 minute walk to the city centre, and not a very nice walk at that, I was surprised how run down and dirty this part of Lisbon was. The Staff of the hotel could not have been more helpful and friendly, a really nice warm welcome. The rooms are of a good size and spotlessly clean, breakfast was a real disappointment on the first morning as they kept running out of food and the choice was already very limited, but on the next 3 mornings it was very good indeed. The hotel is very reasonably priced, which almost makes the walk into town worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerryire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just got back from this place which i'd booked on basis of great value for money deal and good reviews. Location is not ideal - 10 minutes from metro (Tip if you have to stay here use the Anjos metro stop going out and Saldhanha coming back so you're going downhill each time, it's a sweaty walk uphill otherwise). Shower gel disepnser didnt work and not much you can do about it when youve just wet is fixed so annoying. I left the centre bit of the dispenser out so the cleaner noticed there was a problem and did something about it but when I got back to the hotel at night it was in the same place so no chance of a convenient shower 2 days running. Breakfast was below average- ok if you like cold boiled eggs, cold coffee, milk if your lucky and poor food selection for a 4 star. It should be 3 star at best. My room was at the back and there was a fair bit of noise outside from ppl in their yard. No bars/restaurants locally so it's a leg to get some atmosphere. I decided not to try the hotel food because of poor breakfast fare

The biggest cheek was they tried to charge me 6.90 euros extra for having too much to eat at breakfast! I'm not kidding. I didn't know hotels had rations! So watch that you don't eat too much

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kuepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio P, Diretor de vendas at Neya Lisboa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

We do thank you for your comments.

It is our policy to make sure that explanations are due to our guests in a regular basis as well as we believe that criticisms improve our service and allows us to offer the aimed quality that we wish to attain

Concerning the distance of the public transports, we are 10 minutes walking from 3 different Metro stations but just in front of the Hotel, there is a bus stop, from where it's possible to go straight by bus, to the "Saldanha Metro station (yellow and red line)" and 1 minute walking from the Hotel, there is another bus stop with direct connections to the city historical centre of. The information about the distances from the different available alternatives, is clearly available and explained in our website and our Reception it's always available and happy to help our guests concerning this and other issues.

We are sorry that the shower gel dispenser in your room didn't work properly and that we haven't noticed that there was a problem. It's a pity that you didn't informed us about that during your stay, giving us the opportunity to solve your problem at that time. You can be sure that we would have done all the efforts for that. Either the way, we should have noticed the problem without being warned about it, and in fact, we weren't able to do that.

We are also sorry that our breakfast didn't meet your expectations, even if the general opinion about our breakfast it's really positive, as you can notice in the majority of the comments of our guests.

It is a fact that we present to you, the supplement for our buffet breakfast 6,90 euros, but, as well as explained to you the mentioned cost was not concerning the consumption of your breakfast but referring to the items that you have taken out from the buffet breakfast in your bag. At the time, in the breakfast room you weren't expressly informed that you couldn't take that food with you, reason why our staff didn't charged the cost of the food items you took along. Anyway, we apologize about all the inconveniences that we caused to you and wish you a happy Christmas.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel. I was stayed with my husband and our 2 months old daughter. It was half business half family vacations. All staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is varied, they beat on quality instead of of quantity (as it should be): fresh fruit and salads, milkshake of the day, a variety of teas and breads, cheese and pastry, the scrambled eggs are the best I've ever tasted! The room had a super comfy mattress, the shiatsu cushion is excellent after a tiring day and can be used on the back and the calves but that not an excuse not to try the massages! If you ask for crib witch was our case, the room space gets limited, we had to choose between getting access to the desk, the wardrobe (which is reduced for a couple traveling more than 2 days, actually I found it quite small for a double room, it has the ideal space for one person traveling a week, more than that it is necessary to leave clothes on the bag) and the widow! If you "loose the crib" the bed is huge for 3 =) The bathroom is spacious. The wi-fi was quick. The restaurant has a varied suggestions and a excellent quality-price, with lunch menus at 10 euros with superior quality. You get more than what you payed for =) Room-service is quick and with little increase. The spa massages are at an attractive price, I am a massage knower and I advise you to try at least the Ayurvedic! Right in front of the hotel there is a bus stop that leads to various points in the city and Belém, you also find the metro station at a 10/15 minute walk and taxis are always passing by. Although it is near a hospital it was rare to hear ambulances (and our room was facing the street). I will return for sure because in addition to having been well received, I'm curious to see the suites and as it is an environmentally friendly hotel you feel like "I'm doing the right thing by supporting a good initiative!"

Room Tip: Room 208 is facing the street corner and another building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.8 mi away
Jupiter Lisboa Hotel
Jupiter Lisboa Hotel
#39 of 255 in Lisbon
1,437 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lutecia Smart Design Hotel
0.7 mi away
SANA Reno Hotel
SANA Reno Hotel
#95 of 255 in Lisbon
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Miraparque
Hotel Miraparque
#91 of 255 in Lisbon
1,494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Czar Lisbon Hotel
Czar Lisbon Hotel
#182 of 255 in Lisbon
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#78 of 255 in Lisbon
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neya Lisboa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neya Lisboa Hotel

Address: Rua Dona Estefania, 71-77, Lisbon 1150-132, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: $91 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Neya Lisboa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Neya Lisboa Hotel, a physical and mental retreat where every detail was thoroughly considered to provide you with a unique stay in harmony with nature. We are strategically located in the heart of Lisbon, but a good way from urban agitation. You will enjoy a carefully created atmosphere which will provide customers with a deep sense of calm and relaxation.The concept of Sustainability gains a new meaning with us, by implementing in all our activities strong policies of environmental and social responsibility. This combined with high-end gastronomy, personalized services, SPA and a Business Center make Neya Lisboa Hotel a haven for those wishing to have unconcerned tourist experiences or formal business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Neya Lisboa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing