We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated, nevertheless a very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
Ranked #130 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel unexpectedly, due to a flight cancellation. At the first sight it seemed a bit dated and not-so-nice, and we were no so happy, but once we entered our room and had our breakfast next morning, we changed our minds.

The rooms are very spacious and silent, with soundproof walls and windows, the king-size bed is very-very big and really comfy, there is much space for the luggage and cloths. The windows can be opened. The bathroom is clean and big with any amenities you may need.

The breakfast is very rich and tasty. Hotel staff is nice. The gym is very small and not so nicely equipped but better than nothing. The hairdresser of the hotel is cheap (wash+blow dry costs 11,- €). From the top floor you can enjoy a nice view on the city.

The location of the hotel is good: it is to a 3-min. walking distance to get to the metro or bus 736 or Aerobus: they all take you to the city centre. If you take the Aerobus, the tiket costs 3- € for 24 hours and it can be used for every transportation (even the sight-seing trams in the center), except the metro.

There is a special food store very near the hotel with all kind of special food. e.g. lactose and gluten free stuff, etc., just in case you need it, you can get it there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Serike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feed back regarding your recent stay in our Hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind Regards
Alice Bancaleiro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 930 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

I decided for his hotel because suggested by the flight company and
I really enjoyed the stay..
The room was very clean, and the bathroom to.
The position of the hotel is not far from airport and very near to the subway (Campo Paqueno in the yellow line).
The position is central but not noisy.
The breakfast was perfect and the staff there was pleasant and kind.
Thanks to Lisbon,
Obrigada, Lisboa

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Mrs. Sara,
Thank you for your feed back regarding your recent stay and thank you for the 5 pontuaction.
kind regards
Alice Bancaleiro
Gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night on New Years Eve.

Room excellent except too hot and air con did not seem to work properly.

Breakfast adequate. Having walked around Lisbon I was suffering from a bad ankle. When we entered for breakfast the chap on the desk made the service lift available for me to get back to our room so I did not have to walk up to reception and get the normal lift which was a very nice gesture. All the staff were polite, pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank countercomedian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feed back.
We regret any inconvenience caused with the air cond.
Hope you get better and had a pleasant trip back home.
Kind regards
Alice Bancaleiro
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I agree with other who rate this hotel excellent and can add little to their comments. Our three nights there was a great value for the price paid. Rooms clean, good tv, nice staff, and bed was comfortable. I like that it had faux wood floors which make it easy to judge how clean they were. We had one small problem and it was resolved immediately by a manager in a most professional manor. To me there were two small negatives-- The bathroom extras were almost none existant. Soap and shampoo were both in push containers (not worthy of four star property) and the bed pillows were of poor quality even if there are firm and soft on each bed. Good area, near metro, and found a couple of good ones in area, there was an excellent fish restaurant just a block away (sorry but not have name, but think it is nearest restaurant to hotel). If you can get a good rate take it you will not go wrong. I base excellent given the quality for price paid. It is not the Ritz, but it is probably 75% or more less. Would, for sure, choose this property in future.

Room Tip: Ask for front as view is a little better, however planes taking off from airport might be problem fo...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AZGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your feed back.
The comments of our Guests are very important to improve our Service,
Please apologize anything that was not your expectations.
kind regards
Alice Bancaleiro
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was 3 days for vacation in this holiday inn. I ve got a very good price.
My stay was plesant. The rooms had a good size and they were newer than I thought.
Everything was clean.
The check inn agent was also very nice.
Its is next to the airport but not direct in the center.
Taxi from airport is 8 Euro, to the center also around 8.
The negative things:
No upgrade for platinum member.
Internet very bad connection (but free due my status)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernstar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We reserved a room at this hotel only because we get priority club points, and it also fulfilled two p.c. promotions, giving us a lot of extra points.
I was very hesitant, since we always insist on staying in a city center, as we like to eat dinner and walk around til late, and like to be able to walk right back to our hotel.
We were pleasantly surprised, as check in was quick and the young man (Jose, I believe) was pleasant, friendly and helpful.
The price couldn't be better, very inexpensive for Europe, and the area wasn't bad at all.
Granted it wasn't in the center, but neither was it a poor, remote area.
There was a supermarket nearby, where we shopped.
There was also a wonderful Chinese buffet nearby and after being at the trade show, eating in town, and being out, we relaxed there.
The hotel was quite nice.
The highlight was that after two nights, they moved us to an upgraded room because of platinum and what a room! Large bedroom, hall with fridge, large bathroom and another room with tv, sofa, table and chairs, and coffee, etc. Plenty of space for our luggage so it wasnt cluttering the floor. We didn't want to leave!
The beds were so comfortable, and we had everything we needed.
A 5 minute walk brought us to the bus where we hopped on a 10 minute ride right into the center.
We felt very safe doing this even late at night as the area had many things still open and plenty of people walking around at all hours.
No sweat at all, and the walk was nice. We did this many times, and even early in the morning, in order to catch tours on two different days.
Inside Lisbon will also pick you up at H.I.C. for their day tours, and drop you back.

Room Tip: If you're platinum, ask for an upgrade. They were very good on following through with their pro...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littledebnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Nicely appointed four star hotel which is located close to the airport and public transport but a very long walk from the city centre. The rooms were exceptionally clean and because the floors are made from hard wood, any allergy sufferers may find this a great solution to questionable carpet. Room check in and out was a quick and painless and the reception desk staff were always available to set-up tickets for tour buses to out of city. Tour buses pick up at hotel front. If you're into Bull fights (I'm not) then the hotel is across the road from Lisbon's major arena.
Hotel bar was modern, comfortable and average prices.
If you are comfortable with traveling on the subway/buses then getting downtown is very simple and bus # 727 will take you from near the hotel all the way to Belem (a must) and back for 3.50 euros. A nearby restaurant to the hotel, Valbom, was terrific value and quality (see restaurant review)

Room Tip: As this hotel structure is built in an arc, the outside rooms ending in an even number are larger th...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#136 of 254 in Lisbon
1,155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#114 of 254 in Lisbon
2,743 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
0.5 mi away
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
#97 of 254 in Lisbon
952 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#153 of 254 in Lisbon
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental

Address: Rua Laura Alves 9, Lisbon 1069-169, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#79 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#98 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $76 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay close to central Lisbon when you choose the Holiday Inn Lisbon-Continental hotel.A curvaceous high-rise building on a lively boulevard, the contemporary Holiday Inn Lisbon-Continental is a 10-minute taxi ride from Lisbon Airport. We're just a minute's walk from Campo Pequeno metro station for direct subway trains to Lisbon city centre. Settle in and surf the web with wireless Internet in your smart Guest room.Have a productive stay at Holiday Inn Lisbon-Continental, with 9 modern meeting rooms for up to 200 people and a 24-hour Business Centre. We're close to the banking district, Instituto Superior Técnico engineering school, and major companies like Ernst and Young. Lisbon Congress Centre is a 15-minute metro ride away, and the hotel offers ample parking and easy access to the IP7 motorway ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing