We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, relatively quiet location, nice facilities”
Review of Holiday Inn Lisbon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Ranked #133 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Ireland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, relatively quiet location, nice facilities”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This hotel was lovely. It is a bit away from main downtown area such as Rossio, but taxis generally are 5-7 euros to town centre.
The room was lovely, clean and quiet, and we were on one of the lower floors, I would think that the higher floors would be even more impressive.
The rooftop pool is beautiful. Not large, but just a great private spot to go and catch the sun and chill out before hitting the town.
The drinks service at the pool is also handy and quite good value (comparing prices to Ireland).
We never ate here but the food did smell really good!!
The staff were really friendly, had great english, and helped us with every query we had.

Room Tip: Higher floors would probably offer impressive views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prius_owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceHIL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Mr. Prius_owner,
Thank you for your comment, all the comments are useful to analyse our work.
The hotel is not in the historical centre but is very easy and fast to reach the center.
We look forward to have you as our guest in the future, next time you can try our restaurant.
Kind regards,
Paula Vidal
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    555
    245
    45
    27
See reviews for
401
288
49
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Visit happened in 2010. My parents and I share a triple room there which we found nice, big and clean until we discovered a cockroach in the bathroom. The Receptionist didn't believe me when I asked someone to come and take put their pet!!! It took so long until someone came and effectively found the little beast.

Apart from that "detail" the rest was good. Very good breakfast and a nice boutique with lots of Portuguese souvenirs at fair price.

We took the subway to go to down town and other places but the nearest subway stop was about 6 block or so from the hotel and it is located in a hill so lots of physical exercise for my parents and I. Each evening we were exhausted and at that moment regretted the location of our hotel but each next morning we were fully reloaded with the delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_tell_you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear I_tell_you,

Thank you for sharing your experience online. It is very nice to know that the size of the room was suitable for you and your parents, and that you enjoyed our breakfast selections. On the other hand, it is regrettable that the bathroom condition upon check-in was a let down and the location of the hotel failed to meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced.

We value all the feedback we receive as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. We do hope you would consider us again when you return to Lisbon.

Warm Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great hotel - clean, quiet and comfortable room and off the beaten track. Great pool on top floor with great views. All staff without exception are very friendly and very helpful. Convenient for airport too. I will be back!

The only negative from my view is the breakfast is not worth 14 euros per person.

Room Tip: Great views from the top floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenleader1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceHIL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Mr. greenleader1984,
Thank you for your comment, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. Our pool is very attractive and the view is astonishing.
We look forward to have you as our guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Paula Vidal
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best options in Lisboa, considering price, quality, location and service.

The hotel has good rooms and, in my option, the only negative side is the gym. It is a little bit poor (but it does not metter if you are in vacation or dont work out).

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jbbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceHIL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Mr. JBBI,
Thank you for your comment, all the comments are useful to measure our performance.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to have you as our guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Paula Vidal
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
246 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Hotel is clean but old in the common areas. Breakfast room is a bit sad. Hotel has slipped down market and caters to tour groups. Nice large room, modern furnishings. However, a very bad night's sleep due to cars passing in the street...hotel must have no double glassing. I was on second floor...but a collegue on 10th floor had the same problem. To be avoided.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Martin M,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. We would like to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

I went to the Holiday Inn with my parents and my little sister. It was a clean and comfortable hotel. My beds were okay but the table in our room was a little broken so I think it is better to check that. The food was very good although I didn't have lunch there so I can't say anything about that.
I was a little disappointed with the pool (it was small and a bit dirty) but the rest of the stay was okay. The staff was friendly, the food was good, etc.
ROOM TIP: Enjoy your stay

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Luiza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceHIL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Mrs. Luiza,
Thank you for your comment, we regret that you've found a broken table.
The pool is not very big but the view is very nice, at this time of the year the hotel is fully booked and the pool is a little bit crowded and the water gets dirty. We would like to have you as our guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Paula Vidal
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Area is a little dull, but contrary to other reviews I do not feel that the area was unsafe. It was quiet and residential. The walk to the metro(s) wasn't too bad (though a bit annoying if you have a wheeled case - because of the cobbles however this is the same all over the city) Taxi's are cheap and it's not far to the airport.

Staff were friendly enough but room was disappointing. It was an odd 'L' shape with threadbare carpet, smashed glass in the window (that had been covered up with the curtain) and lots of door banging and noise, early in the mornings. Found the bed to be uncomfortable (though personal taste - it was quite bouncy) and had to get the sheets changed as they were dirty. The rest of the place was clean and tidy, just very tired. Very much in need of a decent refurb to bring it up to standard. Disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Higher up is probably better view? street view gets you the statue in front of the hotel but increas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bjam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Bjam F,

Thank you for staying with us during your business trip and for writing a candid review. It’s good to know that you found our location very convenient and safe. It is regrettable that we failed to provide an exemplary stay due to the conditions of your room as well as the noise. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort it may have caused you. We appreciate all your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#149 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
1.1 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#105 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
1.3 mi away
Mercure Lisboa
Mercure Lisboa
#82 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#75 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lisbon

Property: Holiday Inn Lisbon
Address: Avenida Antonio Jose de Almeida 28A, Lisbon 1000-044, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Lisbon 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is situated in the heart of the citycenter between Av da República and Pr. de Londres by the Instituto Superior Técnico .With several underground stations around and 10 minutes away from the International airport, the Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is the ideal place for your stay should you travel in business or leisure. The Hotel is famous by its spacious standard and executive rooms as well as its suites with direct access to high speed and wireless internet. Each of its 169 spacious rooms, including 17 Executive bedrooms, 13 Family rooms, 2 disabled rooms, 8 junior suites and 1 Presidential Suite, are equipped with cable TV, direct-dial telephone, desk, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities, Pay Tv, hairdryer, gives you a good value for money. Business center in the lobby. Rooms with High speed internet on request. The modern meeting space is ideal for business meetings and social events and can accommodate up to 400 delegates Appreciate the Portuguese and Mediterranic gastronomy at our restaurant 'Vasco da Gama'. The 'Almirante' bar is the ideal place to relax after a busy dayTogether with a parking, fitness center and a gift shop, the Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is the right choice for the right stay. Our rooftop terrace and outsidepool (from May to September) is the perfect place for sunbathing and to enjoy the beautiful view to all Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing