We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel...awful position!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Lisbon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Ranked #128 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“lovely hotel...awful position!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

positives-there are many-beautiful room-5 star id say-large comfy beds-great cleaners-gave us everything we asked for and more-very clean and nicely kept hotel all round-nice helpful reception staff-lovely rooftop pool(only 1 metre deep-but suited me)-small gym thats free to use-a perfect hotel for a short break.
negatives-only 2-prices of drinks were too expensive 3.50 euros for a coke that you could buy around the corner for 55 cents-a real rip off! and finally the location-its 8/10 minutes walk to the nearest metro station then about 6/7 stops before you get into the main part of town(bars/shops/etc)-the metro stops at 1 oclock and so we were having to go out early to make a night of it and then coming back early to avoid the taxi fare-was a real shame as i dont feel we saw the city at its best-basically i would recommmend this hotel-but just be prepared for the traveling to and fro-which did spoil it a bit for us-overall a big thumbs up for holiday inn!!!(lovely little authentic portugese restaurant 5 minutes away-Charrua Do Lavrador-reception will tell you how to get there-sea bass to die for )

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulou2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeHIL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. All the comments are helpfull to improve our performance.We invite you to try our grilled codfish next time you visit us.
We look forward to have you as our guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Paula Vidal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    543
    237
    43
    27
See reviews for
387
282
47
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We ended up in this hotel 3 days after booking. (Family with 2 young kids)
Lovely! Rooms were ok. Mattresses great!
I have read some non-sense about coffee sachets not being replaced, as well as problems with bath towels: all non-sense.
Staff were great! Everywhere: check-in, cleaning, breakfast. Very helpful.
Breakfast was great, as you would expect from Holiday Inn. Fresh fruit & bread, hot stuff, cold stuff etc. etc. Nice little coffee machine. (finally had some nice bacon rolls again, after 9 years in France :-) ).
Area is not too bad, taxis are cheap anyway (almost cheaper than public transport!)
The hotel gave me some tips for local restaurants, but if you look a little more you'll find quite a few nice ones very close: try Sem Duvida or Al Parte for instance.
I did not have a problem with internet connections: laptop, tablet, phone: all worked. not perfect all the time but definitely good enough.
I liked as well:
Little gym upstairs, little pool (shame it wasn't heated though...)
All'n All: nice stay.
Thank you!
Walter
PS: I think the bowl of fresh fruit on arrival may have been because I had just become an IHG member. So why not try that: took me 5 minutes.
PPS: I think I will be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: I had a room on the back. No noise in the room. (I can't say anything about the front rooms.) AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeHIL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Google Translation
Merci beaucoup pour votre commentaire. Il est bon de savoir que vous avez apprécié votre séjour. Merci pour votre préférence.
Nous nous réjouissons de vous compter parmi nos invités à l'avenir.
Cordialement,
Paula Vidal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel gve us a nice and spacious room, provided good service and is close to the airport, just 10 minutes drive. The hotel is located across an erotic club though. It did not bother us but not every traveller would appreciate it.

The hotel is near a metro station which takes you in 15 minutes to the city centre, convenient I would say. We did not have breakfast so I cannot comment on that.

Would I recommend it? Absolutely if you are looking for a comfortable stay near the airport. Great beds!

Room Tip: There is quite some traffic on the avenida so request a room on the quiet left side if you are a lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PINGUZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear PINGUZ,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention where guests’ feel it is necessary. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

i was very impressed with this hotel.I have stayed in zillion hotels ,over the years,most have hospitality problems and small rooms!!!5 stars or not.

The hospitality is very good.The staff dont huff and puff,when you ask for help.

The rooms are modern,spacious and clean.Very comfortable,

POOL is a bonus,very nice on the roof.

The hotel is central.What more do you want???

I cannot fault this hotel.I am very high maintenance.,was pleased.

Well done,the Holiday Inn,Lisbon went beyond my expectations.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeHIL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. It's very good to know that you have enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your preference.
We look forward to have you as our guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Paula Vidal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We did not realise until a few nights in but teabags,coffee and milk are only left on day one and then you have to ask for tops ups there were three people in our room but cups and towels were only left for two !! On our third night towels were taken away again!!
On our first night we only had one tea bag!! Expect better

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroleraw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Caroleraw2014,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret the issues you had surrounding the room amenities. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
493 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Easy walking distance to the city Centre,ideally suited for the business person in a safe and quiet neighbourhood,plenty of taxis nearby and easy to navigate to if you are driving.The hotel was recommended by TAP airlines which I had flown from Miami via to London but was forced to overnight on the return journey.Simple no nonsense frills and nicely appointed rooms with various sleeping options,all the usual services and a reasonable breakfast area.I arrived very late in the evening and outside was rather quiet and little to do within the hotel.Manger on duty offered some suggestions of clubs and restaurants in a minutes walk.Reasonably priced,convenient location for business or pleasure and apparently family friendly as well.

Room Tip: Join their hotel club or Ambassador program for immediate upgrades and worthwhile additional benefit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talentpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeHIL, Gerente de relações públicas at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
First of all thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Lisbon.
Our hotel is well located and is easily recahed either by car or by public transportation. Our hotel is also family friendly as you mentioned but also a good option for business or pleasure. We work daily to please our guests, thank you for your comment, it was very usefull to analyse our work.
We look forward to have you as our guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Paula Vidal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed in this Hotel during my business trip to Milan this March 2014.
The Hotel is nice and clean. The rooms quite spacious. Beds comfortable and staff gracious enough to help.
The WiFi worked quite well. Breakfast was decent enough for the price I paid.
I could not go around the place as my trip was for only one night.
They only complain I had was that they charged my room and my friend twice for the same car Parked.
They did not have anything on the Menu as vegetarian meal but prepared a pasta on request.
I would stay its was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globe-Trotter-Sach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeHIL, Gerente de relações públicas at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We would like to thank for choosing Holiday Inn Lisbon. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the misunderstood with the double charge.
We will improve our menu with at least one vegetarian option.
We look forward to have you as our guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Paula Vidal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#147 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
1.1 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#98 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
1.3 mi away
Mercure Lisboa
Mercure Lisboa
#76 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#77 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lisbon

Property: Holiday Inn Lisbon
Address: Avenida Antonio Jose de Almeida 28A, Lisbon 1000-044, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Lisbon 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is situated in the heart of the citycenter between Av da República and Pr. de Londres by the Instituto Superior Técnico .With several underground stations around and 10 minutes away from the International airport, the Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is the ideal place for your stay should you travel in business or leisure. The Hotel is famous by its spacious standard and executive rooms as well as its suites with direct access to high speed and wireless internet. Each of its 169 spacious rooms, including 17 Executive bedrooms, 13 Family rooms, 2 disabled rooms, 8 junior suites and 1 Presidential Suite, are equipped with cable TV, direct-dial telephone, desk, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities, Pay Tv, hairdryer, gives you a good value for money. Business center in the lobby. Rooms with High speed internet on request. The modern meeting space is ideal for business meetings and social events and can accommodate up to 400 delegates Appreciate the Portuguese and Mediterranic gastronomy at our restaurant 'Vasco da Gama'. The 'Almirante' bar is the ideal place to relax after a busy dayTogether with a parking, fitness center and a gift shop, the Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is the right choice for the right stay. Our rooftop terrace and outsidepool (from May to September) is the perfect place for sunbathing and to enjoy the beautiful view to all Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing