We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not the best location for a city break”
Review of Holiday Inn Lisbon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Ranked #133 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but not the best location for a city break”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because I used my Priority Club points otherwise we would have stayed more centrally. Buy a day ticket at the metro station for the metro/Trams & buses, buses pass the hotel, the nearest metro into the town centre is Rossio about a ten minute walk this will also take you to the airport and a day ticket is 6 euro's - great value.
Our room in the hotel was five star because we got an upgrade to an exec room, two flat screen TV's, large lounge, king bed and the shower was high power. The room was on the front which I would recommend and on the sixth floor.
Breakfast was ok but I would not recommend the evening meal, the spagetti was tasteless I could not eat it and received a refund.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and this was our first visit to Lisbon and would recommend it to anyone looking for a city break, 4-5 days is perfect

Room Tip: high floor rooms facing the road and try for an upgrade athough we looked at standard rooms and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trunkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Trunkers,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I appreciate the compliments on our hotel staff. Please accept our apologies for the evening meals you received and hotel location. Though this matter has been resolved in a timely manner, I regret this has negatively impacted your stay with us. We take comments such as yours very seriously and please be assured that we will continue to work hard to improve. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    574
    260
    46
    28
See reviews for
421
296
49
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hotel is basic and rather character less but is comfortable. I guess we should expect this from Holiday Inn. Wifi is rather slow though. Location is not very convininent either....... Staff and service is good though...... breakfast is excellent..... this is one area where the hotel does very well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rex_edmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Mr. rex_edmund

Thank you for sharing with us your experience during your stay at Hotel Holiday Inn Lisbon.

We hoppe to receive you in the future

Kind regards

Pedro Encarnação
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located outside the center, in an area of little interest. Metro is fortunately not far (taxis are cheap in Lisbon, anyway). There are two possible benchmarks against which appreciating this hotel: against the number of stars (4) or against the price paid. For a 4 stars, the hotel is so-so. Staff is friendly, but many things were not functioning in the room and the architecture is not very nice. Breakfast is also so-so, both in term of choice and quality. That said the price I paid was extremely cheap (79 euros, breakfast included). The quality was very good for this price, but I would not come to the same conclusion if I had paid a normal price.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank angelbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Angelbe,

Thank you for your comments.

We regrett that we weren't according your best expetations

Waiting to see in the future to provide a better then a so so Service

Kind regards

Pedro Encarnação
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
659 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Located about 2 mi north of central Lisbon in a quiet neighborhood, this 3-4star hotel is an outstanding value (<€70 per night) with clean, spacious, comfortable rooms. About 5min walk from the nearest metro station or bus stop and 7-8 stops from the city center. I would not have chosen to stay here but for a 6:30am flight the next day but no regrets with my choice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jon1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Jon 1796

Thank you for the comments made

At your disposal

Kind regards

Pedro Encarnação
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I hadbooked to syop at this hotel for 4 nights.... i left after the first night! Room quality is average .... with intermittant wifi duringmystay. Car park is a nightmare to get to and is a nightmare to drive around ..... very tight difficult to park a car the size of a BMW 5 series ... ok if you have a mini!! Restuarant food is average and was not really value for money! On the whole i would steer clear .... and too far out from the main shops and restaurants!

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winge_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Wing_12

We regret that your stay wasn't according your expectations

Thank you for bring to our attention your comments

On the next stay you can request help to park the car. We can inform that we have BMW's 5 series or Mercedes S class or even bigger cars that use the Parking regularly.

Feel free to ask us for help on a future stay

Kind regards

Pedro Encarnação
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

stayed here for 5 nights in September was excellent. very clean and great facilities including rooftop pool . our room was huge and had all we needed. breakfast very good as was hotel restaurant, also had food in hotel bar and the club sandwiches were delicious .staff particularly in bar and in dining room helpful and friendly. this hotel is great base for sightseeing shopping transport links and would love to stay again if I return to Lisbon.

Room Tip: rooms at front have bit traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Maureen p

Thank you for your stay at Holiday Inn Lisbon.

I'll share your comments with the staff, those words are important to us

We hope to receive in a near future

Kind regards

Pedro Encarnação
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

It was a nice hotel to go with your family. The breakfast was excellent as the cleanliness of the room. I will recommend tha the service be better because they weren´t friendly. But in general was a great attention.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Elvimar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Mr./ Mrs Elvimar O

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us

Thank you for sharing your experience with us

with Kind regards

Pedro Encarnação
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
1.1 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#111 of 251 in Lisbon
2,697 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#152 of 251 in Lisbon
453 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lisbon

Property: Holiday Inn Lisbon
Address: Avenida Antonio Jose de Almeida 28A, Lisbon 1000-044, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Lisbon 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is situated in the heart of the citycenter between Av da República and Pr. de Londres by the Instituto Superior Técnico .With several underground stations around and 10 minutes away from the International airport, the Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is the ideal place for your stay should you travel in business or leisure. The Hotel is famous by its spacious standard and executive rooms as well as its suites with direct access to high speed and wireless internet. Each of its 169 spacious rooms, including 17 Executive bedrooms, 13 Family rooms, 2 disabled rooms, 8 junior suites and 1 Presidential Suite, are equipped with cable TV, direct-dial telephone, desk, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities, Pay Tv, hairdryer, gives you a good value for money. Business center in the lobby. Rooms with High speed internet on request. The modern meeting space is ideal for business meetings and social events and can accommodate up to 400 delegates Appreciate the Portuguese and Mediterranic gastronomy at our restaurant 'Vasco da Gama'. The 'Almirante' bar is the ideal place to relax after a busy dayTogether with a parking, fitness center and a gift shop, the Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is the right choice for the right stay. Our rooftop terrace and outsidepool (from May to September) is the perfect place for sunbathing and to enjoy the beautiful view to all Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing