We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base location to visit Lisbon”
Review of Holiday Inn Lisbon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Ranked #135 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel has a good location close enough to Metro stations to reach City Centre Lisbon.
It is rated as a 4 star hotel, but that must be for Portuguese standards, I would class it as a 3 star.
The hotel is in good order, but could do with some decor upgrading.
The Vasco Da Gama restaurant is ok for breakfast, but really does need a complete makeover for me to have dinner there.
The chairs are old fashioned, ind of 70's style rattan with green seats. There are pinkish tables cloths on the tables on top of white ones, why not just have white? The walls need a good clean or general paint to be done.
At breakfast the staff couldn't keep up when bread, fruit or eggs ran out, and there was some waiting time. They also didn't have enough staff to clear up the empty tables and re-set, clean plates were missing etc. More staff would sort this no problem.
The prices for dinner or even the bar food was quite pricey for the place it is. A club sandwich was EURO 10.50, I certainly wouldn't pay that, and didn't see anyone else eat in the bar area. Only saw 1 couple have dinner in the restaurant, during our 3 night stay.
The bedroom was ok, very spacious, not sure I got an upgrade although I am a Platinum Priority Card holder, but maybe it wasn't available. Lot's of daylight would come in, but able to black out with the curtains. The bedrooms windows needed a good clean outside, very streaky from rain and god knows what.
The bathroom was adequate, although quite narrow. The bath/shower is positioned in front of the window, but thankfully there is a curtain to pull! Weird that the tap in the bath was still running although the shower head was also pouring water. But OK. There is only Dove shower-gel/shampoo attached to the wall for guest use.
The roof top pool area is great, BUT they need more sun loungers. There are only about 10 for use, so you have to be there early to get one. At the rooftop there is a small bar where you can buy drinks, but beware the drinks are expensive. EURO 3.50 for a can of Pepsi. You can also buy snacks and sandwiches to eat, but again very expensive at around EURO 10 for a ham and cheese sandwich. I saw no one eat at that place so the hotel would be better off using the space where they put up tables and chairs, to buy more sun-loungers and utilize the space better for their guests.
Metro stations Saldanha is only a short walk away, the best station to reach especially if you are carrying luggage, as it is NOT uphill which Almeda station is.
The Metro station is excellent in Lisbon. Clean, cool (air) and plenty of space although the stations lack soem kind of ambience. It is also cheap on the Metro, EURO 1.40 for a single trip, or around EURO 5.60 for a 24 hour travel pass, which lasts exactly 24 hours from purchase.

Room Tip: If you would like a balcony, ask for a room on the 3rd floor I believe.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1909Flemming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear 1909Flemming,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Lisbon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn, Lisbon for a long weekend 8th-11th August as a couple and thought it was a great base to explore Lisbon. As a platinum Priority Club member I was automatically upgraded to a really nice room on the corner with a balcony, it was very spacious and had a mini bar (albeit the shelf in the mini bar was broken).

The pool on the roof is as it is depicted in the photo - quite small so dont expect anything else. Sun loungers are few and we found it best to retreat from the Lisbon sun around 3pm and at that time you could get a lounger, by 4/5pm it was really busy and no loungers or seats were available. The view from the roof is pretty good too.

The hotel is situation near the Campo Piqueno which is the Bull Fighting Arena and when we were there there was a fight night which appeared very popular. there are quite a few bars/restuarants around this area although they are sometimes hard to find on the map you get from Tourist Info at the Airport. There is a Metro stop 5 mins walk away which is air conditioned, clean and quick and costs just 1.40 euro per trip - it even goes to the airport which we used upon our return. We got a taxi from the airport and it cost 10 euro, taxis around Lisbon are very reasonable but the metro gets you to where you need.

Only sour point was the price of drinks which are set at typical UK Holiday Inn prices which are not cheap. If you walk across the road or to the right outside and round the corner there are bars serving a 330ml bottle of Sagres (local beer) for 1 euro - in the hotel it is 3/4 euro.

One other point if staying here with kids of any age, if you arrive back by Metro at night and walk back to the hotel - expect to see prostitutes plying their trade along the street back to the hotel. Whilst they do not approach you it is a bit unsightly, although we found it quite amusing after a few beers/wines in the City Centre.

Would I use this hotel again - yes. Good location, near the airport, plenty places around to eat/grocery shop etc. Clean and tidy but then again i used Rewards Nights so i got three nights free, if I was paying for this it would depend on the price as to whether this represents good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear JIM E,

Thank you for all descriptions made regarding our property.

There are plenty descriptions that certainly will help other clients

Waiting to receive in a near future

Kind regards

Pedro Encarnação
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I don't usually write negative reviews. When I read them from other contributors, I always get the sense they are being too emotional. Enter the Holiday Inn in Lisbon. The hotel is very average. There is no security in the lobby. Anybody can just walk in and have access to elevators. The one place where you need your room key is the gym. (?)

The windows are very thin. You can hear the traffic from the street (and the construction across the street) even in the higher floors. If you like to sleep past 8 am on your vacation, that won't work here.

The rooms (even the Junior suite) are very average. What you would expect in an older Holiday Inn off an Interstate in the middle of nowhere in the USA. The bathrooms are newer and are functional and very nice.

We requested extra towels, and they charged us for it. We requested utensils from the cafeteria and they wrote down our room number. (?)

Overall the experience with the hotel and their employees was nothing to brag about.

The location is an interesting one. There are some good restaurants around and they are not tourist traps. The Metro station is close by and the airport is 10 min away (with no traffic)

The pool is nice as it is on the roof. Unfortunately, it's not much bigger than some hot tubs.

Overall, this is a very no frills place. I would only recommend it if you don't like sleeping in while vacationing or if you are on a really tight budget like I was.

We stayed here twice this month thanks to Hotwire!!

Room Tip: definitely ask for a room in the back of the building. There is less street noise over there.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pablo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Mr. Pablo P

Thank you for your feedback

Is that a fact that we are having constructions outside the Hotel until the end of next week (aproxim.). During your stay if you would like to stay in a quitter room you could have request a room to other part of the Hotel (that have streets more quiet).

We never charge for extra towels unless that is for extra-persons (that wasn't on the reservations).


We regret that your experience wasn't according your expectations and we apologize for that.

Please accept our compliments

Kind regards

Pedro Encarnação
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Typical HolidayInn.
Superb location, 5 minutes walk from metro station Alameda!
I recommend it for traveling around Lisbon, forget taxis!
Nice restaurants and bars around (better for breakfast and dinner than hotel's restaurant).
Walking distance to shopping centre Campo Pequeno.
I have spent there 5 nights there with my family on vacation. trip.
We liked rooftop swimming pool with a great view!
Restaurant was correct but nothing exceptional.
Rooms ok, HoldayInn standard.

Only one downside - slow and sometimes not functioning elevators.
It was a pain for our 8th floor room:-(

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Pawel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Mr. Pawel W

We are glad that you've enjoy your stay with us ! and thank you for the Hotel tips


Waiting to receive you in a near future

Kind regards

Pedro Encarnação
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here for a night and. The hotel is comfortable and well kept. The check in was ok although there was very little engagement from the receptionist and we were allocated the wrong room, causing us to return to the reception desk to have it corrected. The room was spacious and clean although the TV did not work. We had free wireless Internet which is a big plus !!! We used the pool on the roof which we enjoyed a lot.
The reception recommended some local restaurants which were pretty good and close and check out the next day was quick and friendly.
Overall - the team need to engage more and the hotel would be a different place.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank RichardBSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear RichardBSenior

Thank you for your comments, they are important in order to improve our team :)

Please accept our appologise for the unconvience caused when you had to exchanged the room

Kind regards

Pedro Encarnação
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Myself and my friends had the worst experience of our lives at the holiday inn last night. After flying from Barcelona to Lisbon late at night we arrived at the holiday inn with our confirmation printed (which might I add was already paid for) at which point they told us they never had a reservation for us. The rudeness we received after this was on another level, we were not even offered another room in case we still wanted to stay there (which we did not). Our night resulted in a long 4 hour bus ride at 1am to our next hotel in lagos where they kindly accepted out booking. After speaking with our website we booked the holiday inn through they are now saying the holiday inn have said we never came to check in. Don't ever stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CANONY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Mrs Canony,

We regret the information reported. In fact the ladies arrived at the Hotel around 9 p.m. with a voucher regarding a reservation that we didn't have. The 3 receptionists called to other IHG Hotels in the city asking for this reservation and no one confirmed such reservation.

The Holiday Inn Lisbon Receptionist had only one arrival to come and ask the ladies if would be that one as it was also for 4 persons The ladies said the name was completely different and it wasn't the same reservation. At that time it was the only one that we had for 4 persons.

It was asked if they wanted to make a reservation and it was told to the receptionist that the reservation was already made/paid, they didn't want to pay another reservation and they rather prefer to stay at the Hotel Bar until the time of a bus to Lagos.

The Receptionist helped the ladies with luggage’s and them around 0.30 a.m. helped them again to the Taxi that the Hotel called.

For us is very surprising to receive this comment after those actions and with the treatment made, as all the receptionist confirmed that during all time they were very polite and with caring attitude with the 4 ladies.

At your disposal

Kind regards

Pedro Encarnação
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

You go here because it is near the University or because it is inexpensive and with the metro a few stops to the centre, but you would not go here for the atmosphere, decor, location, etc. It is a boring place to be but it works. The breakfast is fine. The rooms an adequate size and clean. The windows actually open, a miracle ! the staff are quite efficient, so it is ok if, like I was, you are here to work. It could be anywhere but it is in a safe location and ten minutes by taxi to the city centre. Not a memorable experience, but an average stay.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear David M

We hoppe that you had a pleasent trip back home.

Thank you for your comments

Kind regards

Pedro Encarnação
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
1.1 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#114 of 253 in Lisbon
2,740 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#152 of 253 in Lisbon
458 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Lisbon
Clarion Suites Lisbon
#98 of 253 in Lisbon
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lisbon

Address: Avenida Antonio Jose de Almeida 28A, Lisbon 1000-044, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $82 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Lisbon 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is situated in the heart of the citycenter between Av da República and Pr. de Londres by the Instituto Superior Técnico .With several underground stations around and 10 minutes away from the International airport, the Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is the ideal place for your stay should you travel in business or leisure. The Hotel is famous by its spacious standard and executive rooms as well as its suites with direct access to high speed and wireless internet. Each of its 169 spacious rooms, including 17 Executive bedrooms, 13 Family rooms, 2 disabled rooms, 8 junior suites and 1 Presidential Suite, are equipped with cable TV, direct-dial telephone, desk, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities, Pay Tv, hairdryer, gives you a good value for money. Business center in the lobby. Rooms with High speed internet on request. The modern meeting space is ideal for business meetings and social events and can accommodate up to 400 delegates Appreciate the Portuguese and Mediterranic gastronomy at our restaurant 'Vasco da Gama'. The 'Almirante' bar is the ideal place to relax after a busy dayTogether with a parking, fitness center and a gift shop, the Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is the right choice for the right stay. Our rooftop terrace and outsidepool (from May to September) is the perfect place for sunbathing and to enjoy the beautiful view to all Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing