We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problem at first”
Review of Holiday Inn Lisbon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Ranked #136 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I was originally due to stay at this hotel on January 18th for two nights, but due to heavy snow in London, the flights were cancelled. I had booked a non-refundable and non-changeable rate at the hotel, so when I discovered at lunchtime that day, that my flight had been cancelled, I contacted the hotel to advise that I was unable to arrive and the reason why. I explained that whilst I was aware of the rate conditions, I asked if there was anything that could be done due to the circumstances beyond my control. I was rudely told that if I wasn’t going to arrive, then I had lost my money. I repeated that flights had been cancelled due to the weather and again it was met with a brick wall of none cooperation. When I asked to speak to the manager I was rudely told that the manager wasn’t there which was followed by a heavy sigh as though I was disturbing whatever she had been doing. I asked for an email contact and was given a very confusing email address. I sent an email and got no response (as it turned out I had one letter wrong), so as a priority club member I decided to pursue the matter through them. To cut a long story short, the priority club sorted it out and I stayed two weeks later.

The hotel itself is OK; nothing special, a typical Holiday Inn and it ticked all the boxes. The big surprise was the cost, it was very reasonably priced which for Europe comes as a very pleasant surprise. My room was large, with a large bed; the bathroom was also large and had the usual situation of having a large window to the outside world in the shower/bath. Internet access comes at a cost, so I didn’t bother with that.

The hotel is just out of the city centre of Lisbon, but is between two metro stations, Alameda and Saldanha, both of which are on the Metro line to the Airport. I used the station at Saldanha which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel and very close to the station is a McDonalds, if you need that hamburger fix. The Metro station only has automatic ticket machines and will only take coins and smaller Euro bank notes, the daily ticket, that you can use on the Metro, trains, buses and trams is good value and is valid for 24 hours from the time it is validated.

The buffet breakfast at the hotel was OK and not too bad if you go early, but it was nothing special. However, there seemed to be plenty of wait staff, but they really didn’t seem interested in collecting used crockery from the tables, so if you had a couple of different courses, the plates soon built up.

Sadly my first experience with the hotel let the place down, but if went to Lisbon again, I would stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewxGate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Mr. NextxGate

Thank you for stay at Holiday Inn Lisbon

First we hope that you've arrived well at home, that time without flight ptoblems!.

We regrett the problem with the cancelations and the way that we talked with you and for that please accept our appologize

Thank you for your comments.

Waiting to receive you in a near future
Kind regards
Pedro Encarnação

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had to go visit my husbands family in Lisbon but we did not want to stay with them so this was close enough to qualify as a vacation. The hotel is not in the downtown area of Lisbon it is actually about a 10 minute taxi ride to central shopping and eateries. Upon check in we asked for an upgrade and we got a 2 bedroom suite which was very large. I would not say that it was fancy but it was comfortable. The furniture was a little out dated but it was clean and it served the purpose. The beds were a little bit hard and we did not get the best nights sleep but it was not the ritz and we did not expect to it be. The restaurant was quite expensive for what it offered and we wandered in to get a peak and it did not look that great. There are very few restaurants around the area and they are mostly tourist traps. There is a great little cafe on the side of the hotel that is very reasonable and the food was great. It usually cost us 6 or 7 euros for breakfast there each morning. Well worth it. We did use the pool a few times and it is very small and has a small sun deck with just a few chairs to sit around the pool. Overall it was a decent 3 star hotel it was not plush or modern but it was reasonably priced and just a long walk or a taxi away from most of the good stuff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MandyParle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Mrs. MandyParle

Thank you for stay at Holiday Inn Lisbon and for sharing your experience with us!


Waiting to receive you in a near future

Kind regards
Pedro Encarnação

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The room was huge with two king size beds. The bathroom was also big and had nice Dove soap for your hands. The breakfast was a normal one for a 4 stars hotel (with good fresh fruit). The service was also great and the people were helpful. The only cons is that Wifi is not free.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simplesmente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Mr. Simplesmente

Thank you for stay with us during your your stay in Lisbon and for sharing your experience with us.

Waiting to receive you in a near future

Kind regards
Pedro Encarnação

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel is an average 3 star hotel and is fine for a short stay. We thought the location is ok since, a couple of metro stations near by. It's not in a posh area for sure. The rooms are comfortable enough, it's an old building. El Corte Ingles is about a 20ish min walk. There is a McDonald's about 2 blocks away for free wifi. Surprising that the hotel doesn't offer free wifi to their guests, especially to Platinum members. But It's nice that they offer coffee/tea in the rooms.

Be aware - this hotel forces Dynamic Currency Conversion. Meaning, they charge your say US credit card in US dollars(or whatever your local currency is). Not Euros. They do NOT give you an option to select Euros like so many merchants. But of course on the receipt they write that they have "given" you the currency option and you selected US dollars. What a scam! It always come out more expensive to the consumer when Dynamic Currency Conversion is used. You are charged a much less favorable exchange rate for the service. Your bank will do it at a much better exchange rate and for free especially if you have one of many no foreign transaction fee credit cards. The people who benefit are the local bank, the merchant - more cash for them. Terrible business practice! They have the option to actually give the customer a choice, yet they clearly choose not to. What a poor reflection on the General Manager and the owners of the hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marbellaparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Mrs Marbellaparis

Thank you for the comments made and for the information regarding the Hotel Area

About the experience and the payment it must be a missunderstanding. Regulary we ask the clients what he wants and usually is better for the guest unless the day currancy is changing and could be the exchange day rate that caused that difrence.

Thank you for bring that to our attention

Waiting to receive you in the future

Kind regards
Pedro Encarnação

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I think 4 stars is pushing it for this Holiday Inn, it's a good 3 star. This is not a criticism, just a fair reflection upon a place with little glitz but solid standards. Eight of us stayed there for the New Years Eve period, we certainly did most of our celebrating elsewhere. The hotel bar is small and clearly not considered a priority. Breakfast was too basic to stay in for. In fact there is an outstanding healthy option breakfast cafe within an easy ten minute walk in the Ave Republica opposite side of the road to MacDonalds. It's two doors from Santander but I can't remember the name! So considering the hotel rooms, the beds were very comfortable, the bedroom area big enough, but the bizarre placement of the toilets against the bathroom walls necessitates a sideways seating position - may be of small concern, but we all found it uncomfortable. Other than that, the staff were polite, friendly and helpful, the hotel is away from main tourist area (but close to night time street prostitutes) easy 10 minute walk to Metros, in short worth considering at the right price. The rack rate is absurd but plenty of deals available. The reservation staff were exceptionally helpful in arranging our stay. Parking is 14 Euros a day, free on the streets weekends and bank holidays. Lisbon of course is wonderful.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Dellaph_Kite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Mrs Dellaph_kite,

Let me wish you a Happy New Year.

Thank you for your comments that you shared with us.

Waiting to receive you in the future

Kind regards
Pedro Encarnação

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I regularly stay here and its well placed being close to the city centre and the airport. Within 3 minutes you have some excellent restaurants and I find it hard to fault them. Friendly, welcoming, rooms are spacious and the Reception staff efficient, polite and not patronising which is great!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Mr. David D

Thank you for stay at Holiday Inn Lisbon. Hoping that you've arrived well at home.

Thank you for your comments.

Waiting to receive you in a near future

Kind regards
Pedro Encarnação

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

As holiday inns tend to go this one was excellent value. The room rates were a third of other holiday inns. The location was not great, the hotel is across the road from a lapdancing and the closest metro station, Alameda, is at the bottom of a large hill and right in the middle of the red light district. There are also prostitutes across the road in the bus stop at night. We started to use Saldanha metro to avoid them, its slightly further away but no hills. The hotel is also on a busy road with buses going past all night. The pool and roof terrace in the hotel was closed in November, it was over 20oC outside so I would have happily sat out on the terrace to admire the views if possible. A bit disappointed about that one.
Lisbon is one of the most affordable cities I have been to, €1.50 beer, can get a good meal for €7 but the hotel itself was very expensive, €4.50 beer, €15 meal. There is not much near the hotel in the way of bars, restaurants etc but there is a supermarket. I went down to Barrio Alto a lot while there, great atmosphere and value.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away facing away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Mr. Paul0107

Thank you for chosing us for your stay at Holiday Inn Lisbon.

Thank you for your comments and your feedback.

Waiting to receive you in a near future

Kind regards
Pedro Encarnação

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
1.1 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#115 of 255 in Lisbon
2,771 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#154 of 255 in Lisbon
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#75 of 255 in Lisbon
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lisbon

Address: Avenida Antonio Jose de Almeida 28A, Lisbon 1000-044, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $56 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Lisbon 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is situated in the heart of the citycenter between Av da República and Pr. de Londres by the Instituto Superior Técnico .With several underground stations around and 10 minutes away from the International airport, the Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is the ideal place for your stay should you travel in business or leisure. The Hotel is famous by its spacious standard and executive rooms as well as its suites with direct access to high speed and wireless internet. Each of its 169 spacious rooms, including 17 Executive bedrooms, 13 Family rooms, 2 disabled rooms, 8 junior suites and 1 Presidential Suite, are equipped with cable TV, direct-dial telephone, desk, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities, Pay Tv, hairdryer, gives you a good value for money. Business center in the lobby. Rooms with High speed internet on request. The modern meeting space is ideal for business meetings and social events and can accommodate up to 400 delegates Appreciate the Portuguese and Mediterranic gastronomy at our restaurant 'Vasco da Gama'. The 'Almirante' bar is the ideal place to relax after a busy dayTogether with a parking, fitness center and a gift shop, the Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is the right choice for the right stay. Our rooftop terrace and outsidepool (from May to September) is the perfect place for sunbathing and to enjoy the beautiful view to all Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing