We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Lisboa Hotel & Spa
Ranked #62 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
West Kingston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel itself is nice, although I found the decorations getting a little tired, but still were holding their own for now. I felt the same thing about the rooms, good but not great. I was on a higher floor, and my room did have a nice view. I guess my problem was with the extras. I'm a platinum with Marriott, and only a gold with Sheraton, so maybe my view is a little skewed. I find it ridiculous, like some of the other reviewers said, that you have to pay €12.50 to sit by the pool. Why is there any extra charge to sit by a pool, include it in the rate. They say it's part of using the spa, but when is the pool part of a spa, just Sheraton being greedy, which they do at other hotels of theirs I've stayed at. It's kind of like the ridiculous resort fee they charge at some places. Second, and I guess most of the hotels do this, is the €26 they charge for breakfast. I don't think I've ever eaten €26 worth of food for breakfast, so they probably made about €20 off me for this. You'd be better off going across the street and getting it, and if I had stayed more than one night I probably would have.

I'll go into the positives. The cabs to get around town from the hotel are reasonable, the staff at the hotel was friendly and seemed eager to please, and the pool area was nice once I got in there. I found the gym above average compared to other hotels I've stayed at, and the beds weren't too bad. Also, go to the top floor, there is a fantastic place to get drinks with a great view.

Again, not a bad hotel, but please include stuff in the rate, because otherwise it seems greedy and takes away from an otherwise alright stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACPereira, General Manager at Sheraton Lisboa Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for having stayed with us during your recent visit to Lisbon. The comments you have posted with your detailed views on the hotel and on your stay in general have been duly analysed and discussed with the Executive Team who thank you for sharing your thoughts. We look forward to hosting you again sometime in the future. Kind regards, Antonio Pereira, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    747
    206
    53
    29
See reviews for
332
746
131
482
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
214 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Its looks nothing from the outside but inside is luxurious and spacious. The rooms are large with modern bathrooms and comfortable beds. It's was very busy all the time. Lots of the airline crew seem to stay here, plus business people and leisure visitors so reception was always busy and the lobby bar was too. A great top floor bar with a view. The surrounding area doesn't have a lot going for it but a 20 minute walk gets you into the old town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACPereira, General Manager at Sheraton Lisboa Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for having selected our hotel for your recent stay in Lisbon. The comments you have posted regarding your stay and the hotel in general have been duly appreciated. Thank you! Kind regards, Antonio Pereira, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Down as a 5* and compared to the 4* hotels we also stayed at on this holiday , you did get that bit extra. - you pay for it though.

Taxi cost 12 eur from airport, but has a metro right out side (100m away) . For me Lisbon looks much better on foot, and if not too hot it was about a 2 mile walk down to the river.

I disagree with the comment posted immediately before this one,: - Hotel decor was different, but modern and nice, as were the rooms on 17th floor which we also stayed in. My wife has more taste than me and she was impressed. The gym was large and split into 3 areas, but good, i don't skip so maybe the ceilings were a bit low for skipping.

Re comment about charging per person, that is not what we found, we took 2 rooms each with 2 staying and we were not charged on a per head basis

The 12.5 Eur per person charge isnt a secret - for pool and spa , not the gym, but the changing facilities and spa was excellent. It includes a robe!

The pool was in shade due to an adjacent building until noon, but from noon on it was melting. A few plants in pool area would have taken away the concrete impression of the pool.

The top floor is definitely a place to visit and have either a meal , or just some drinks whether a cup of tea or something stronger. View is superb.

staff all excellent

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricc099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACPereira, General Manager at Sheraton Lisboa Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the really nice and positive comments you have posted following your visit to our hotel. We are delighted to hear that both you and your wife have enjoyed your stay, as well as the hotel facilities, services and decor. Your comment about the pool area have been duly noted and will certainly be analyzed and discussed with the Executive Team. Again, thank you so much for your constructive comments. Kind regards, Antonio Pereira, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I selected the Sheraton in Lisbon to avoid all the unpleasant surprises that are typically associated with unknown boutique /local chain hotels. However, the hotel had a few surprises for us nevertheless (which I don't know if they were derived from Portugal's deteriorating economy or other reasons - which I'll mention below).
First, I would like to reassure that the hotel is what you would except from a 5 star hotel (no complains there). Staff was friendly and concierge was also most appreciated in providing directions across the city.
As for other aspects:
- We stayed on the 17th floor. The hotel corridors were dark, gloomy, and looked like the interior of a villain spaceship.. creepy to say the least
- We were not impressed by the lack of "proper" closets. Those were replaced by curtains. Saving on the cost of wood maybe?
- There were no slippers, no shoe care kits, or bathrobes. Extremely weird as far as I'm concerned.
- In a city filled with free public beaches, I wondered why the hotel charged €12.5 per person to access the pool. This should be provided by default to hotel residents.
- Oh, and they charge room rates by the number of persons which I found ridiculous. I booked a standard room with a queen sized bed (no breakfast or internet) online. The rate changed from €140 to €170 the moment my wife handed in her passport during check in. Yup, they charge by the head. Never did I encounter this throughout my trips.
- The gym is a joke. More of a fitness room. They should at least check out the gyms of rival hotels and try to imitate. And the ceiling was super low. Cant skip rope if you wanted to.
- The metro station was a 1 minute walk which was very convenient.
- The hotel itself is not located in a touristic area. Walking to Marquise de Pombal is a 20 minute walk (closest thing to a touristic area).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACPereira, General Manager at Sheraton Lisboa Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Client, Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Lisbon and also for the comments you have posted regarding your experience. We are sorry to hear that the decor and design of our rooms and corridors were not to your liking as this quite modern and trendy design is usually quite appreciated by all our visitors and guests. Having said that, tastes differ... Again, many thanks for sharing your thoughts. Kind regards, Antonio Pereira, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
249 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Exceptional hotel - one of the best of they very many Sheratons I've stayed in worldwide.

Upgraded (as a Platinum guest using suite night awards) to a gorgeous suite on the 24th floor, with a panoramic view over the city. Friendly staff. Good club lounge. Nice drinks lounge on the top floor with great views, and the hotel restaurant is very good too. Nice spa (although the service here needs some work to match the quality of the rest of the hotel).

Location OK - but taxis in Lisbon are so cheap it's easy to get around in comfort.

Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACPereira, General Manager at Sheraton Lisboa Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for having selected our hotel for your recent stay in Lisbon. We are delighted to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, plus the hotel facilities, the service provided and the magnificent views from our top floors. Thank you so much for your positive feedback. Kind regards, Antonio Pereira, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was recently traveling with my sisters for several weeks and our first stop was this hotel. The rooms were very nice, the SPG members amenities were great, including the club room with views and free Internet. We had dinner at the hotel dinning room and the food was very good. My only complaint is that compared to other hotels in the area, this one was pricey. The food, room and services were more expensive than other hotels in the area. Also this is very much an American type hotel and more authentic Portuguese style hotels can be found in the city.. You have to pay to use the pool which I was a bit surprised to find out. Staff treated us quite well and all in all it was a good hotel to start our trip with.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GramgramDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

With easy access from the airport and well located in central Lisbon, this was a good choice. Staff was welcoming, knowledgable and friendly as is expected for a five-star hotel. Our room, and especially our bathtub, were large by European standards. Views of the city were very nice from our location on the 24th floor, which was also home to the very well-stocked club. The upscale restaurant on the top floor provided a very pleasant dining experience with a great city view. We did not use the spa, although we toured it and were impressed. Clearly an American hotel and somewhat sterile feeling, this is not the place to stay if you want a charming Lisbon hotel experience. However, it is otherwise a very good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the west side of the hotel for a view of the river and old city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACPereira, General Manager at Sheraton Lisboa Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for having stayed with us during your recent visit to Lisbon. We have read the comments you were kin enough to share and are indeed grateful for such positive feedback. Hope to have your visit again soon. Kind regards, Antonio Pereira, General Mangerd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Lisbon
InterContinental Lisbon
#52 of 247 in Lisbon
2,570 reviews
0.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
1,933 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
#39 of 247 in Lisbon
5,560 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
#117 of 247 in Lisbon
2,169 reviews
0.7 mi away
PortoBay Liberdade
PortoBay Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Lisboa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Lisboa Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Lisboa Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua Latino Coelho 1, Lisbon 1069, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#34 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#45 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#52 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Lisboa Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished combining modern elegance and simple relaxing design, the hotel is located in one of the city's most prestigious business districts. Only 15 minutes from Lisbon's International Airport, the Sheraton is easily accessible by train, bus, subway or car, with fabulous shopping, theatres, art museums, and nightlife just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood EMEA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Lisboa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Lisboa Hotel Lisbon
Sheraton Lisboa Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Lisbon
Lisbon Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing