We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel downtown in Lisbon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of HF Fenix Lisboa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
HF Fenix Lisboa
Ranked #74 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Galicia, Spain
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“The best hotel downtown in Lisbon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel, centrally located at Marques de Pombal roundabout-it would be the equivalent of Picadilly Circus. We were extremely pleased with the quality of the bedroom and the general value for money. We practically had a suite, we thought that the same room in New York would cost ca. 500 dollars a night! Apart from being huge it was also silent, in spite of the location downtown. Buffet breakfast was included in the 75 euro rate. The only inconvenience was you had to queue up for almost 5 minutes before being seated (it was a Bank Holiday, so it was crowded). Breakfast was very good, with a choice of bacon, eggs, sausage and the like, as well as different breads, cakes and fruit. The machine coffee was acceptable and you could order real Portuguese espresso (at an extra cost). Having been to a number of hotels nearby (Vip Suites do Marques, Tiara Park and Ritz), I do think this is the best choice taking everything into account.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayapetai2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    1,002
    223
    53
    38
See reviews for
518
911
61
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

Visited Lisbon for the Benfica - Everton match. Had booked into the Fenix Garden round the corner but went to the wrong reception! They suggsted we stayed with them at the same rate which had already been paid. Had room on second floor facing the big roundabout outside - noise no problem at all. Room very comfy and clean. Breakfast was amazing - all we could eat. Only minor problem the hotel bar was not geared up to serving twenty thirsty Evertonians!! Hotel is right by the metro station but not too far to walk into the main tourst areas.
Only downside of the trip was the footy result.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Speedydotc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the hotel and would say okay for what it was. It has more than one elevator (only one was big enough for 3 people). We stayed on the 2nd floor facing the garden. Not much of a view but it was quiet. The room was large but the ensuite was tiny.

The staff were okay and would assist if you need their help. We arrived after 8pm and not knowing where to go for dinner we headed to the restaurant in the basement floor (breakfast is also held there). The price was expensive and the quality of the food was poor for a 4 star hotel.

The breakfast was impressive once you see it. They have a selection of 'pau' or baps, fresh fruit, cold ham, salami, cheese (to make your own sandwich), juices and hot drinks. They have what I would expect to be HOT breakfast comprised of scrambled eggs (one morning is was like slop), bacon (thinly sliced), mushrooms with bacon pieces and baked beans. But we were disappointed every morning as it was luke warm to cold NOT hot.

Plus points is the aerobus from the airport stop at Marque De Pombal or bus no. 22 and 44 which is within walking distance. The Metro station is directly opposite the hotel so vey convenient. Walking to the city takes about 15mins (down hill). There is also a tourist information kiosk but it was closed everyday since we were there.

Becareful on the day of you check out because the guy we went to at the reception desk (I think) tried it on with us on the mini bar saying we used the mini bar every day we were there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetw888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marta_martins, Quality & Custumer Relationship at HF Fenix Lisboa, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
Dear guest,
Thanks for your opinion, however i would like to clarify that is normal procedure, at check-out, asking every customer about mini-bar.
With this procedure we avoid unpleasent charges for customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morocco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

Good hotel, the staff is very helpful they speak english, french and spanish as foreign languages. The rooms are spacious and clean ! breakfast is excellent and there is everything you need to eat to start a good day !
Besides this hotel is located just in front of the metro and a bus station.
i would recomment this hotel for a long and short stay !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CutegirlMorocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

It's next to park eduardo. There's bus to airport right outside the hotel (no 22 I think)
It's not really right in the centre but it's OK!
Metro station right outside with lots of bus links to the city centre (just need to know which one to hop onto!)

The room is average. It's clean but our bathrm door is broken.
Breakfast was ok - not bad not brilliant. There are quite a lot to choose from (scrumble egg, bacon, cold meat, cheese, bread, cereal, yogurt, cakes)
I wish there were more fresh fruit. They only have tinned fruit and very little fresh fruit options.

The receptionists were helpful.

In general I enjoyed my stay there and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xdorax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

Well I had planned on wrting a review for Fenix Gardens as I had booked this hotel. On arriving there please note the Fenix Garden is around the corner from the Fenix...taxi drivers dont seem to know this and I was glad I read a review on here before we got there.

So we got to check in at Fenix Garden to be told there was no hot water and we were now booked into Fenix. Excellent!!!

The room was fine, 2 single beds which was weird sinced I booked a double room (confusion in Europe over double room and double bed). The location is not far from the main city and restaurants, tourist attractions, subway, etc.

The front staff were very helpful I found.

Breakfast was moutains and mountains of food, something for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susieswooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

Reception staff could look smarter and some of them are not that polite or helpful. It took a long time to check in. The room (on the 8th floor) was standard, with no kettle and no safe. Bathroom was ok. Fridge reasonably well stocked with a range of drinks.

Location is alright, with a tube station right in front of the hotel and a lot of financial services firms in the area. Didn't see that many restaurants. Free internet in the room is a plus.

Breakfast was quite good with fruits, cereals, meats etc in the continental style. Room service meal was also pretty good, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lordy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.0 mi away
HF Fenix Garden
HF Fenix Garden
#64 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
0.0 mi away
HF Fenix Music
HF Fenix Music
#29 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.3 mi away
HF Fenix Urban
HF Fenix Urban
#88 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
#112 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#28 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marques De Pombal Hotel
Marques De Pombal Hotel
#41 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HF Fenix Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HF Fenix Lisboa

Property: HF Fenix Lisboa
Address: Praca Pombal 8, Lisbon 1269-133, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#57 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#58 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#60 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — HF Fenix Lisboa 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city with so much to offer that there is no time to lose.Stay in the centre, facing Marquês de Pombal, with Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon's downtown and Bairro Alto very closed.With access provided by the entire public transportation network at its front step, in this hotel you do not need a personal vehicle, an advantage in leisure as well as work trips.And if it is easy to arrive and leave, the good part is staying. The HF Fénix Lisboa is a space of great comfort, where you will want to spend your time. Besides the room offer adequate for different tastes and needs, this hotel has excellent social and leisure areas, such as the City Garden Lounge. You can enjoy free Internet access in all areas of the hotel, as well as several other services thought out especially for you to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Orbitz so you can book your HF Fenix Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hf Fenix Lisboa Lisbon
Hf Fenix Lisboa Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing