We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - away from the action”
Review of SANA Reno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SANA Reno Hotel
Ranked #92 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed here for about 4 nights on a solo trip to Lisbon.

The hotel itself was gorgeous, clean and a good size for a European city.
The only thing about this hotel is you have to be prepared to take a cab or the train into the heart of the city. There is however a train station just opposite the hotel under the shopping centre that has cinemas a department store and HUGE super market which has great fresh produce.

The rooftop pool was amazing (does get crowded so you cant be shy) and just what I needed to read amongst the picturesque rooftops.
The buffet breakfast is delicious too if not a little squished, as its VERY popular.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone but I would caution solo travellers that aren’t that confidant as the area is a little dodgy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 716 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Hotel has a 3* rating, but would deserve more if they could improve the basics. The hotel is just off a busy commercial and residential area in a relatively quiet road. It is well presented and internally the decor including the rooms is of 4* quality.
On the downside the heating system is stuck on 25C and cannot be adjusted from within the room and will not be adjused by staff, so you sleep with the windows wide open and hope that not too many mozzies about.
Catering is basic, but will keep you alive and there are plenty of restaurants in the surrounds to choose from.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cimerahou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Long weekend with a Keane concert at Campo Pequeno thrown in.

Room (802) very handy for pool and sauna and not noisy.

The air-conditioning is centrally controlled so not controllable in room so just stuck at 22 degrees so turn it off if you get too hot.

Ignore the hotel wifi and instead choose fon at €3 for 24hrs if you can get signal.

Breakfast as expected - continental but fine.

Strangely we paid for room at checkin and they still photocopy your passport !!!

Very handy from airport as just take red line 20 mins to sao sabastio no changes for €1.25 + €0.50 for the reusable card but machines very easy to use but need small notes less than €20.

Also easy to walk or tube to port area for dinner.

Also try the bicycle bar across from hotel.

So overall definitely recommended

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigerTimUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Conveniently located close to the airport (15€ cab drive) or 5 metro stations (Sao Sebastiao metro entrance just in front of the hotel), Sana Reno was a very good surprise. I stayed there for a conference : staff is very friendly, helpful and efficient. Check in was done in a matter of minutes ans same for check out. Staff made our taxi and restaurant reservation with a smile. Now for the rooms : mine was spacious, clean, and bedding was excellent (saw other reviews stating the contrary). Well equipped bathroom. Was not bothered by airplanes noise, others were. Breakfast is maybe where things could be improved. Fresh bread (good) and pastries were ok, there were fresh fruit salad and juices. Eggs and sausages and beans were really not good. And 3 nights was a maximum as choice is the same everyday. Conference facilities were ok, the acoustics of the room was not suited to our group. Nevertheless we paid on average 72€ including breakfast and conference fees per night. Excellent value for price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LatinPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

When I arrived there were five people at the reception desk - four staff and myself - so how it took over 10 minutes to check me in is a mystery.

Hotel wifi in my room was unreliable - 30 minutes to get a connection first time, 20 on another occasion - forcing me to do a conference call from the lobby which is not good for me or other guests, also slow when connected.

Staff in bar/coffee shop often missing.


Nice room. Other facilities and location good.

Room Tip: 302 is nice unless you want wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Hotel staff were friendly and hotel lobby is very nice.
Location is great for metro as its 10 metres from entrance to both Red and Blue metro line at Sao Sebastiao.

Room reviews here seem be varied so might be luck of the draw.
Our room was small and while we had booked a double we got two singles pushed together with two single quilts. THIS DOES NOT COUNT AS A DOUBLE.

Food is very simple and quite limited choice, with food not always properly cooked (eggs and breads varied each morning), although fruits, cereals and juices selection is good.

Overall hotel is OK, but could have been alot better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed at this hotel wtih a group of friends for a long weekend in August, the hotel is rated a 3 star, but I would rate it a 4 - 5 star, it was a small style boutique hotel. The reception area was comfortable and the reception staff very helpful. The room was MASSIVE!!!! very modern with 2 single beds, satelite TV, a table and 2 comfy chairs, the bathroom was a good size as well. The pool area on the roof was very pleasant and kept immaculately clean, with the added bonus of ordering drinks from the phone and the waiter bringing them up from the bar area on the ground floor.
We booked Bed and Breakfast basis which was extremely good value, breakfast was buffet style with loads to chose from - scrambled eggs, Sausages, cheese, ham, toast, croissants, cereal, yoghurt, fruit salad etc
The hotel was close enough to get to all that you wanted to see in Lisbon
This was an absolute bargain 3 nights for €131
If you want to go to the beach in Estoril a taxi costs between €20 - €30 each way.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bargain_Margie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.9 mi away
Clarion Suites Lisbon
Clarion Suites Lisbon
#105 of 255 in Lisbon
669 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Principe Lisboa
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#56 of 255 in Lisbon
1,477 reviews
0.5 mi away
SANA Capitol Hotel
SANA Capitol Hotel
#67 of 255 in Lisbon
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SANA Executive Hotel
SANA Executive Hotel
#106 of 255 in Lisbon
526 reviews
0.4 mi away
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
#37 of 255 in Lisbon
725 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Reno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Reno Hotel

Address: Avenida Duque de Avila 195 197, Lisbon 1050-082, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#78 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $68 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SANA Reno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Lisbon, SANA Reno Hotel offers a privileged location for those that come to Lisbon for business or pleasure: The underground station opposite the hotel allows you to reach, in just 10 minutes, both the historical centre, and the new area of Lisbon, Parque das Nações. With a classic style that characterises the rooms, the lobby and bar, the SANA Reno Hotel stands out through its unique comfort, spaciousness and infrastructure. At the top of the hotel, the swimming pool allows you to enjoy the sun and heat of Lisbon and the sauna, relaxing after a day of leisure or work. SANA Reno Hotel also offers 4 rooms for organising Meetings and Events in Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SANA Reno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sana Classic Reno Lisbon
Hotel Sana Classic Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing