We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury, quieter location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon
Ranked #19 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luxury, quieter location”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a typical four seasons with perfect professional staff nice rooms etc.

Location - for us it was a plus that it is not right in the center. We like walking, and taxis in Lisbon are very cheap. (I feel like no matter where we went it was about 5 euro)

I didn't like that it was so modern but if you like modern you will like this place. I prefer older hotels with history an character. But definitely pretty and clean.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alexia3647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,190
    242
    72
    18
    8
See reviews for
294
602
70
325
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The hotel staff were fantastic as was the restaurant, Veranda. The spa could do with some improvement and the rooms could be updated but aside from that everything was great. The concierge was so helpful and arranged for most if not all our sightseeing. All recommendations were great. Fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Mostly excellent experience - but annoying negatives like very slow internet (unless you pay 24 Euros per day to have higher speed) and extremely high prices for just decent food They are proud of their heritage - and it shows in their haughty attitudes. The room we had ($400+ range) was not the quality of a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarapalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Boa tarde!

Thank you for your feedback. We're very happy to know that your overall experience with us was mostly an excellent one.
We absolutely understand the importance of internet access for all our guests - in fact, we made access complimentary as of the beginning of this year, and we can assure you we’re making every effort to resolve any difficulties encountered by our guests as quickly as possible.
We're sorry you did not enjoy the food or your room , we do hope we can welcome you again in our Hotel so that we may provide a more memorable experience.

We hope to see you soon,

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We specifically booked the Four Seasons to kick-off our two week vacation in Portugal - big mistake. We've stayed at Four Seasons throughout the world and never had such indifferent service. Add that to a room in need of an update, frayed linens and 8oz bottles of water for 5euro each, and our stay did not come close to what we have come to expect from the Four Seasons (or that anyone would expect from a hotel at this price point). Like other reviewers, we had trouble with the wifi, could not get the shower to stay at a consistent temperature and felt the location was less than ideal. At one point, we were trying to work with the concierge to find a restaurant we had happened upon the night before and his comment was "can't you remember where you were?" The high points of our stay were that the two car services we arranged through the hotel were on-time and friendly. Other than that, this was a disappointing experience and certainly not a Four Seasons experience. We would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Whitney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Bom dia!

Thank you for your feedback. We're incredibly sorry we did not meet your Four Seasons expectations. We do however hope that you will visit us again so that we can provide you with a full Four Seasons experience in Lisbon.

We’re sorry to hear that you had trouble with wi-fi connection, we know how important this is for our guests, and this is why we made access complimentary as of the beginning of this year. We are however actively trying to resolve any difficulties encountered by our guests as quickly as possible.

We hope you had lovely time exploring the rest pf Portugal,

Obrigado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

we were upgraded in a beautiful room with a view on the park
the hotel is well designed despite an architecture complety 50
the staff is perfect, polite, fast, very nice
the only problem is the location which is not top: too far from the center
we had a nice dinner at the bar, and some cocktails
the piano was not too loud and the music ok
the salons are beautifully furnished
we did not try the spa or the swimming pool

Room Tip: we had the 741 which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Everything is great in that hotel. Excellent service (mainly the laundry!!! I had a silk blouse that was stained and they cleaned it perfectly), the courtesy of the staff, the food, the great breakfast full of Portuguese treats. The concierge was also very helpful. I had a party to attend, so I went to the hairdresser and had a make-up. They were very good professionals! The only flaw: it is not a walking distance from the main area (Av. Liberdade, Chiado, etc) although 10 minutes by taxi. Great view as well!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sissiy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights - 1 in a king room, the other 2 in a 1-bedroom suite.
We found the service to be generally as you would expect from Four Seasons with a couple of exceptions. We thought the decor in the rooms to be very nice and certainly comfortable. Beds and linens excellent, furnishings comfortable and in good repair. The king room has a balcony and the suite had 3 balconies. All had chairs and tables as well as chair cushions in the closets and all were very comfortable. Views for each room were in different directions and all had excellent views of Lisbon (9th and 10th floors). Both had excellent closet space. The only complaint I would have about the rooms would be the bathrooms - while both were lovely (identical), they had 2 pedestal sinks (a pet peeve of mine) which means limited or inconvenient space for toiletries. The provided toiletries are l'occitane, which was nice. Robes were the small, short variety. I expect more from Four Seasons. Suite had a Nespresso machine while the king room did not. I really appreciate being able to make a coffee before having to deal with other people.

We ate in the bar one night and had breakfast in our room one morning and both meals were excellent.

Wifi free in public areas but had to pay for it in your room. For the cost of the rooms, shame on you Four Seasons!!

As I mentioned earlier, service was excellent in almost all circumstances except for the following: on the morning we were leaving, I was standing in the bathroom (right next to the door of the suite) putting on my make-up, when a gentleman walks into the room. Thank goodness I was wearing a robe!! He just said "oh, I have to check the minibar". I just closed the bathroom door and let my husband deal with it. When leaving, the concierge apologized saying that this person got the room number wrong. The other thing was when we arrived back, after 5 days away, we arrived very late as our flight back to Lisbon was delayed by 3 hours. This was almost midnight and we had to be back at the airport for 4:30. Over and over again we explained our situation to the young lady checking us in. Although she was lovely and well intentioned, she wasn't listening. It was like she had a script she had to follow and was more interested in checking off her talking points than understanding the situation in which her clients found themselves.

The location is excellent, away from the busy core but within walking distance. The facilities are wonderful - gym and rooftop running track excellent, bar and terrace beautiful, views of Lisbon and the park couldn't be better.

In spite of the few small issues, would probably recommend to friends and would consider staying there on future trips to Lisbon. I would however check out other hotels before booking.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Excaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Boa tarde!

We're so very happy to know your overall experience with us was a fantastic one. From the rooms and the famous Four Seasons bed to the bathrooms and of course the great views not only from the rooms but also the rooftop fitness center, as well as the wonderful food at breakfast and at the Ritz Bar, and finally our service! We're glad everything was to your liking.

WiFi is complimentary since the begining of 2014, in public areas and in rooms - you only have to pay if you want premium WiFi, basic WiFi is free.
Nespresso machines are standard in suites but you do have to ask for them in standard rooms. We'll make sure to take note so that in your next visit you'll have a Nespresso machine available no matter what room type you choose, we know how much coffee helps first thing in the morning!
Finally we would like to take this opportunity to apologize again for someone entering your room, unfortunately the

We're also glad you enjoyed our location and the wonderful fitness facilities and our rooftop running track.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends to our Hotel,,

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
551 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 247 in Lisbon
1,015 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 247 in Lisbon
2,651 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon
Address: Rua Rodrigo da Fonseca, 88, Lisbon 1099-039, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon Rises from one of Lisbon’s seven hills and is one of the most prominent modern landmarks of the city. Located in the heart of the city within walking distance from the historic "old town." Its restaurant "Varanda" overlooking the park is acclaimed as the city’s most sophisticated restaurant for business lunches or more intimate diners. The Ritz Spa is located on the garden level of the Hotel and offers relaxing views over the garden and the Eduardo VII Park. It features an indoor lap pool, pool lounge area and multi-functional treatment rooms. With a unique setting on the rooftop of the Hotel and offering breathtaking views over the city, the Fitness Centre provides its guests with exclusive facilities and state of the art equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa
Four Seasons Lisbon
Ritz Lisbon
Lisbon Four Seasons
Lisbon Ritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing