We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was superb.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon
Ranked #24 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Excellent. My trip was perfect in every way especially regarding the hotel. Service was excellent and the rooms were comfortable and clean. The hotel itself is beautuful inside and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j9pc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Olá!

We are very glad to hear we could be a part of your excellent trip to Lisbon! We are here to serve you in the best way possible and it's good to know we've done just that.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,014 - 1,020 of 1,722 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

We recently stayed five nights at the Four Seasons in Lisbon. We were there for a company sponsored event and the hotel staff was complemented by local event company staff on site for our convenience. Both staffs were outstanding!

From the entry point the hotel makes its statement regarding service; multiple door-men were on site holding doors upon every entry. The lobby is open and airy, a brilliant reception area. Four elevators in the lobby allow for adequate transport to and from floors.

Our room on the seventh floor was quite nice. The balcony overlooked part of the city as well as a park which housed an outdoor book fair. The room was large enough for two people to be comfortable and included a short sofa (love seat) and small desk, as well as a brilliant king bed every bit as comfortable as our bed at home. The bathroom was very large with two sinks, a shower, a soaking tub, and the toilet in a small closet. The bathroom was beautiful but at the same time disappointing. The shower had dark mold growing on the ceiling and red mold growing in the grout; does Portugal know about bleach? In addition, hot water was an issue; one sink was excellent, but in the other the hot water only ran cold. Further, on two days the hot water disappeared all together; in the afternoon we went back to the room to freshen up and there was absolutely no hot water. This was such an issue a colleague asked one evening "Are we staying in the "Two Seasons"?" Fortunately there were no hot water issues in the mornings.

The hotel managed buffet breakfasts each morning and the food and staff were excellent. In addition, the opening night buffet dinner was managed by the hotel and it was well done, very nice.

We visited the hotel bar a couple of times and it was top notch. Prices were as to be expected from a hotel bar which was nice. I felt they were understaffed though as service was quite slow. The servers/staff were every bit as accommodating and personable as I would expect, but the time it took to deliver orders seemed very long. Given the hotel knew they were booked it would seem they would staff up to address this, however in their favor it is likely the have no idea how busy the bar will become with any given "full" night.

The hotel is situated close to shopping, dining, and sites in Lisbon. We were able to walk to two nice shopping malls as well as into beautiful parts of the city. Obviously you cannot walk everywhere from this hotel, but you can walk to many places and feel quite safe.

One of the highlights is the gym on the top floor. Treadmills line full length windows providing a fabulous view of a lot of Lisbon and one person told us the sunrise and sunset is stunning from this vantage.

My only other disappointment was wifi; I will never understand how wifi is not a standard in rooms in this day. 18 euro per day for wifi is unreasonable, in my opinion.

I can't speak to value as this was a work sponsored trip. We tried to extend our stay here but they were completely booked so I don't even know the room rate.

All in all this was a fabulous stay in a beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swim54low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Huge rooms, looks a bit jaded from the outside and in certain areas but the rooms n service totally made up for it.
Was traveling with an infant , the staff did its utmost to make my family feel comfortable.
Slightly quite location from the bustle of downtown lisboa but close enuf to get to most spots

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siddharth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Four Seasons and it was as you would expect from the Four Seasons. Service was fine (although, there's no turndown service??), food was good. Unless the breakfast buffet comes with your room price, don't get the buffet ... it's good, but it's about $50 pp ... for breakfast. The selection is great, though, and for a buffet, the food is pretty good.

Overall, while the Four Seasons is nice, it has a somewhat dated, "old school" feel which some folks may appreciate ... I prefer a more modern luxury (I generally find that the Ritz Carlton has more up-to-date rooms/overall feel and a bit better, more personalized service). The rooms are as you would expect, but the shower is very small and the bidet is placed directly across from the toilet, so anyone without short legs will find it very cramped with your knees up against the bidet. The beds are super comfortable. Additionally, try to get on a non-smoking floor, if they even have one ... the smell of smoke in the halls is a bit overpowering and not appealing at all.

Why, when you pay so much for the rooms, here, is the WiFi not free??? At the end of our Portugal stay, we stayed at the Britannia for much less and had free WiFi for multiple devices!

In the end, while the Britannia is #2 on Trip Advisor ... for my money, it's definitely #1. The service is much, much more personalized and not a generic luxury service and the hotel is a boutique hotel with much more charm and character. It is also more centrally located. The Four Seasons is a bit out of the way, above Eduardo Park. For less money, great accommodations, and excellent service stay at the Britannia!

Oh and the spa ... wasn't impressed at all with the massage for the price and the spa service was bad. Upon checking in for the appt, I was provided a card with no instructions on how to use it. I've been to many spas all over the world and this one has a strange way to use the card to lock the locker. I was simply told to go to the spa and change and wait by the pool ... no tour of the spa or information on using the facilities, etc. Then, they have you wait by the pool where it is loud and wet ... not relaxing at all before my treatment. So, skip the spa.

Room Tip: Get a non-smoking room and non-smoking floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DlNE-N-DASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just returned from a five night stay as part of a corporate incentive 'holiday'. The hotel does not look like much from the outside and the surrounding area has a lot of graffiti, but step inside and you find an opulent oasis. The communal areas have a nice feel, I could not put my finger on the era, maybe fifties, I liked it a lot but it won't suit everyone, especially if you want very modern. We had a large room overlooking the park, complete with a balcony. It was very clean, although there were one or two very minor decorative issues. The shower was very hot and powerful, although one of my colleagues had issues on a higher floor with a cold shower.

The spa area with pool was very nice and I would recommend taking a trip to the Fitness Centre level just to experience the view of Lisbon.

Wifi is free in the lobby but expensive in the room. The bar was also on the pricey side in my opinion.

All in all a very relaxing stay in pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theGEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Olá!

We are happy to know you enjoyed our hotel. Our decoration is done with our guests in mind and we're glad you enjoyed it!
Our rooms are set to meet the highest expectations of our guests. The view from the roof is truly wonderful and one of the best places of the hotel, definitely not to be missed.

We hope to see you again soon!

Obrigado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Expensive compared to other options available in Lisbon, but you get your money's worth. Our room facing the park on the 7th floor was spacious and pleasantly proportioned, with nice bed, bathroom (separate bath & shower and 2 sinks), a furnished balcony, and a great view. Rooms come with 2 rather than just one suitcase racks.The breakfast buffet is impressive, and the service throughout the hotel is good. At no extra cost, we had access to our room upon arrival at 9:30am rather than having to wait until noon, which was most appreciated after our transatlantic trip. Drawbacks: (1) the €18/day extra charge for WiFi is annoying, considering the price of the room. (2) you are not near public transportation and a steep street connects you to the metro, so so convenient transportation in and out is only by car or taxi, and (3) neighborhood is largely residential so there isn´t much in the way of shops or restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: mid to upper floors facing the park have the nicest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debrigard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Well located hotel with an amazing view over lisbon...from some rooms and the gym located on the top floor. Efficient, discrete and friendly staff. The rooms are large, nice and clean, but the design is getting a bit out of fashion. The bar and restaurant are nice, i would recommend fish and sea food from the menu, as they have lobsters fresh in the hotel. Nice breakfast, even though a touch expensive (38€). MInibar also too expensive for Portugal 5.5€ for a soft drink. Finally, getting charged quite expensively for internet is no longer acceptable for this category of hotel...

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
InterContinental Lisbon
#61 of 255 in Lisbon
1,329 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#11 of 255 in Lisbon
1,104 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,899 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#20 of 255 in Lisbon
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon

Address: Rua Rodrigo da Fonseca, 88, Lisbon 1099-039, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#22 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $479 - $763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon Rises from one of Lisbon’s seven hills and is one of the most prominent modern landmarks of the city. Located in the heart of the city within walking distance from the historic "old town." Its restaurant "Varanda" overlooking the park is acclaimed as the city’s most sophisticated restaurant for business lunches or more intimate diners. The Ritz Spa is located on the garden level of the Hotel and offers relaxing views over the garden and the Eduardo VII Park. It features an indoor lap pool, pool lounge area and multi-functional treatment rooms. With a unique setting on the rooftop of the Hotel and offering breathtaking views over the city, the Fitness Centre provides its guests with exclusive facilities and state of the art equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa
Four Seasons Lisbon
Ritz Lisbon
Lisbon Four Seasons
Lisbon Ritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing