We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-fashioned grandeur (in a good way)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon
Ranked #19 of 246 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned grandeur (in a good way)”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

A bit of Soviet brutalist architecture on the outside (parts in need of a renovation), but my, my, my, on the inside it is a dream. Beautiful flowers, exceptionally friendly staff, a cozy but lively bar, excellent breakfast, luxurious rooms, AND events staff that are efficient and friendly. The only slight criticism: if you are having a meeting with lunch one hour for lunch is not enough time. Either you run over, or the service is rushed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Berlineric1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Bom dia!

We take great pride in our decoration and it is nice you appreciated it as much as we do. We try to give our guests a luxurious experience and it's good to know we succeeded.

We hope to see you again soon,

Obrigado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    242
    71
    18
    8
See reviews for
291
600
70
325
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Having just been on a tranatlantic cruise for 10 days, our arrival at The Four Season's Ritz was like stepping into an oasis of calm and tranquility! Everyone from the front desk to the concierge to the bellmen...where so friendly and accomodating. Our stay of just 3 nights was met beyond our expectations! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly2724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Wonderful hotel, lovely atmosphere and evident that staff are happy, which flowed onto the guests.
The hotel is excellently maintained and is quite impressive once inside, don't let the outside fool you. We were given a surprise upgrade to a room that overlooked the Eduardo VII park. The bed was very comfortable so much so that it was difficult to leave it. I liked the fact that once you entered your room there is a small passage where the mini bar is and then another door to the room, which when closed would shut out any noise that may come from the corridor The staff are professional and attentive, always willing to help. Did not have breakfast at the hotel but heard the food in the dining room was good. Enjoyed the bar area and snacks on a few occasions. Unfortunately, also didn't get to the spa or pool but heard good things. It's a very pleasant walk into old Lisbon along a boulevard with all the major brands. The tourist buses including the hop on,hop off, are a short walk from the hotel. We would highly recommend this hotel, thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and it certainly added to our first time experience in Lisbon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Ola,

We sincerely appreciate your review and recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that we contributed to a memorable "1st time experience in Lisbon".
It makes us very proud to read that service was great and that staff was "happy, professional and attentive", they are our prized possession, we will share your comments with them.

We hope next time you will have the chance to try our restaurant and our Spa.

We hope to be your choice next time you visit Lisboa!

Obrigado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton on Thames
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Lovely weekend at the Four Seasons. The staff was so friendly and attentive. The wait staff in the dining room made breakfast a pleasure. Though not as centrally located as you might like, it is so easy to get a taxi. We had adjoining rooms that had a beautiful view of the city. The concierge arranged a fantastc trip for us to Sintra with Mario which should not be missed! A great hotel = a perfect weekend in a most beautiful city.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McFamily2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Ola,

We sincerely appreciate your review and recent stay.

we enjoyed reading that our staff was friendly and very attentive. It is unfortunate that you found the location a little off , but we were happy to know that your rooms had a nice view over the city.

We are grateful for your feedback and wish to welcome you back to Lisboa very soon!

Obrigado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is one ugly "modernist" building (could be a Spanish post office from the 30's), but the rooms are large and comfortable, the service is professional and understated. We arrived early from a cruise (10:30 am), but our room was ready (a large suite upgrade from Amex Platinum Travel--bravo). Concierge recs were dynamite. Food/wine in bar excellent, dining room a no go. Only gripe is the outrageous prices for food and booze, but what-the-hell.

Room Tip: Try for a suite upgrade. Huge and ultra-luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samolocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Olá

We appreciate your preference and your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel. Your experience is what we wish to offer all our guests.

Just out of curiosity, Did you know that the Hotel building was considered as Modernist design back in 1950's? Amazing.

It was a privilege to have you as our guest and we hope you visit us in the near future.

Obrigado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Four Seasons is just as you might expect: Helpful friendly service (concierge was a walking encyclopedia), slightly than average rooms, comfortable beds, spacious marble bathrooms with heated towel racks and bidets, and a breakfast buffet that will set you back $50.00 a person. Just want a cup of tea? No problem, it's over $10.00 a cup. Just want water? If you fail to specify that you want tap water, they'll pour you a bottle and charge you for that too. Just want a bowl of soup? $20.00

One benefit is it's location near a subway station. It's a several block walk downhill there, and if you can handle walking several blocks uphill, this is a great location.

Another benefit: very good blackout curtains in the room that block the light without letting in a single line of it. Re. quietness: Other than some loud screaming drunken guests at midnight, our room was very quiet.

Cleanliness: Not a single visible hair from other guests, but entirely too much dust on the lamp.

IMO, this is a great place if you have gobs of money and don't mind being parted from it. However, if you want value, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank groovyvegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

A wonderful hotel with outstanding service, great breakfast, lovely spa, spacious room with good amenities and a balcony.

The only negatives would be the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room and the absence of free wifi in the room but free internet access was available in the business centre.

All in all we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Olá from Lisboa!

Thank you for your recent stay with us and comments.

We were sorry to hear that you found negative, the lack of tea and coffee making facilities and the absence of free internet access in the rooms, we will share your comments with our management.

However on a positive note we were very pleased to know that you found the hotel "with outstanding service, great breakfast, lovely spa, spacious room with good amenities and a balcony".

We hope to be your choice, next time you visit Lisbon.

Obrigada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 246 in Lisbon
551 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 246 in Lisbon
1,015 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 246 in Lisbon
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 246 in Lisbon
2,649 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 246 in Lisbon
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon
Address: Rua Rodrigo da Fonseca, 88, Lisbon 1099-039, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon Rises from one of Lisbon’s seven hills and is one of the most prominent modern landmarks of the city. Located in the heart of the city within walking distance from the historic "old town." Its restaurant "Varanda" overlooking the park is acclaimed as the city’s most sophisticated restaurant for business lunches or more intimate diners. The Ritz Spa is located on the garden level of the Hotel and offers relaxing views over the garden and the Eduardo VII Park. It features an indoor lap pool, pool lounge area and multi-functional treatment rooms. With a unique setting on the rooftop of the Hotel and offering breathtaking views over the city, the Fitness Centre provides its guests with exclusive facilities and state of the art equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa
Four Seasons Lisbon
Ritz Lisbon
Lisbon Four Seasons
Lisbon Ritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing