We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible place to stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Real Parque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Real Parque
Ranked #105 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible place to stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here for four nights overall very poor experience rooms where old and dated did not get one good nights sleeps as bed was of poor quality and pillows were like rocks .there was also a smell in the bathroom that we could not get rid of . Location was no were near the centre as they advertise. Staff in bar had no knowledge of how to make any of the drinks they were selling when I raised this and the fact I was waiting twenty minutes for a drink whilst there was nobody else in the bar the night manager just shrugged his shoulders as if to say I don't care so overall very poor experience and a lack of genuine hospitality never again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abscouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    500
    190
    47
    18
See reviews for
222
426
67
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the Real Parque for 5 days this June.
While it isn't a Hilton, it was nice and very nicely located in the heart of Lisbon.
The hotel staff were very helpful, and it was located within easy walking distance to several restaurants and shops. There is a metro stop just a couple blocks away that will take you to far flung locations, or you can utilize one of the always present taxis at fairly reasonable rates.
We lacked nothing from the hotel itself, the breakfast area is large and the food was ok, though not stellar. We never spent any time at the bar or restaurant, so can not comment on it.

Room Tip: I would recommend the upper floors so you get a view of the city and are away from the traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel is located in a residential area however, I had a second floor room and it could get quite noisy from the street. If you're a light sleeper, request a room on a higher floor. Although it isn't really centrally located, it is about 30 minute walk to the main attractions. If you don't feel like walking, the Metro is less than five minutes away. There is a convenient store attached to the hotel for incidentals and a big department store (Il Cortez Ingles) which has a grocery store about five minutes away.

I wouldn't say the hotel is four stars, perhaps a three, which would warrant a higher score. The staff weren't unfriendly but they didn't seem to smile very often. They did there jobs but didn't seem hospitable. The room was of basic decor and the bed was somewhat uncomfortable. I could feel the springs. I do have to say, though, that there was plenty of hot water everyday and the shower pressure was excellent. Seems like a small thing but many hotels I've stayed at had no water pressure and I had to wait awhile for the hot water. The hotel has a restaurant which offers a set menu. This is where I have to take away a point. On two occasions when I ordered the set menu, the wait staff would forget to offer either a dessert or coffee or both. These came with the combination dinner. They had to be prompted and after a while I just gave up and didn't bother with it.

Overall, it wasn't a bad stay but I expected more from a four star hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel was perfectly good - clean rooms and helpful staff. We were on the 10th floor and had an excellent view of Lisbon. The hotel has no frills though. The breakfast was not great and the serving staff and breakfast seem overwhelmed. The location is not ideal for touring Lisbon as it is far from all tourist destinations but it is do-able by metro or taxi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mle900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

good hotel, well priced, with excellent personnel that were most friendly and made sure that we were happy. well situated to reach most of the points of interest, being business or pleasure. comfortable rooms, very good breakfast and above all for the price has WIFI allover and for free. this I do not find in most of the real 5 star hotel I have stayed. this facility it is very important to my needs in business and to be able to communicate with family.

Room Tip: all views are of the old city and if you like the history is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuiFragoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
342 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Real Parque is an older business class hotel located north of central Lisbon about 5 minutes walk from the San Sebastiao metro station, which is at the intersection of the red and blue subway lines. That means you can go out to the Park of Nations and airport on the red line, or downtown to the Baixa or uptown to the zoo/Sete Rios bus station on the blue line without having to change trains. Quick and easy.

Room rates are a good value if one gets an internet special -- I paid about 65 USD for my single room, including tax but not breakfast. Rooms vary greatly in size, based on the posted floor plan. My single was the smallest, but adequate for one person and nicely furnished, with a full sized bathroom.

Windows open for fresh air, and the area is quiet with little traffic. The staff varies, some friendly, others less so. I did not try the breakfast since it was not included in my room rate.

Although not central, the Real Parque is a good choice if you have a transit pass for sightseeing and are able to get a good discount on the internet.

Room Tip: Rooms vary greatly in size. Check the posted floor plan if yours is too small for two, and request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is not central, but easy enough to get around the city with the metro system, which is easy to use. There is a nearby train station with a direct line to the airport, which makes it very convenient, but the walk to the hotel can be a bit strenuous with luggage (say, a few bottles of wine and tiles for gifts...). The area it's situated in is very quiet, which I personally don't mind. There is a sports bar in the lobby, which does get packed during big games. The breakfast offerings were plentiful with a good mix of hot and cold foods, if not particularly great tasting.

There is no safe in the room and no toiletries either, besides a soap pump by the sink and in the shower, but the room was clean and comfortable.

I would have given the hotel a 3 rating, but that I found the service to be perfunctory at best. When we went to check in, with no one else on line, the man at the desk had this attitude like we were being a bother. Upon checkout, I asked them to send out some postcards, which is a service they offer, paid for them, and yet a month later, no one has received them, which either means the Portuguese mail service is horrible or they were never sent out. These service problems were also exacerbated by the room itself, which was full of bad smells. The pillows smelled like a locker room and the bathroom smelled like... a bathroom. I put up with it because I didn't want to deal with the staff again.

The hotel could be a good one for the price, but with the experience I had makes me unable to recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jwpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real Palacio
Hotel Real Palacio
#85 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#110 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alif Avenidas
Hotel Alif Avenidas
#64 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Acores Lisboa
Hotel Acores Lisboa
#69 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Lisboa Parque
Eurostars Lisboa Parque
#75 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zenit Lisboa
Zenit Lisboa
#100 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real Parque

Property: Hotel Real Parque
Address: Avenida Luis Bivar 67, Lisbon 1069-146, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#82 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#82 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Real Parque 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Parque Hotel, the first hotel of the Real Hotels Group, invites you to start your trip in the Portuguese capital. Acquaint yourself better with your location and where to go in Lisbon.Real Parque combines the charm of classic environment with other modern and sophisticated.Whether with family, friends or at work, the Hotel Real Parque in Lisbon will guarantee an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Real Parque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Parque Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing