We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Palace Lisboa
Ranked #34 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Be careful. I visited the hotel in July. The ambience, reception and concierge services are certainly 5star. The bedrooms are average with very poor shower arrangements run off the bathroom taps with a cheap and inefficient plastic curtain leading to flooded bathroom floor. Quite frankly the service in the restaurant was dreadful. Given the isolated position, I think I have been generous with 4 stars but the gardens, pool and most staff are 5 star.

Room Tip: You need to go towards the top of the range
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,893)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Palace Lisboa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 1,893 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

I think this was one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in. Both the inside and outside was magnificent. Antonio at the reception was very welcoming and helpful with dinner reservations and directions. I would love to go back.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is very lovely.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JillWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed in July 2014 as a couple… From the moment we pulled up in the taxi to when we departed it was 5* all the way. A beautiful hotel (we had a lovely room overlooking the gardens) which was spotlessly clean. Lovely gardens and 2 pools. The breakfast was great and we were able to sit outside. The staff bend over backwards for you. Very happy and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank theroyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Feel like royalty and get a true taste of old Lisbon in all its glory by staying at this exquisite hotel. Luxurious rooms and lush surroundings are truly glamorous, and the restaurant is a 5 star experience from start to finish. Despite the museum quality furnishings and well groomed gardens, the friendly and attentive staff and atmosphere somehow feel cozy and not stuffy. The Pestana gives everyone the opportunity to feel regal and is well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harradexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

After a great stay at this hotel in 2013 my daughter and I decided to come back again this year. We stayed for a week in July and again we had a great time!
Pestana Palace is such a nice place! It's an old palace with a beautiful garden and a nice pool where you can relax after or before visiting the city. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast is absolutely perfect!! We had breakfast outside on the nice terrace a few times, a lovely start of the day. The service of Carlos and the other staff at breakfast was excellent.
We enjoyed the hospitality of the whole staff but especially the warm welcome of Rui at the front door every day really gave a personal touch to our stay.
The hotel is not very close to the city center, but that is no problem. The shuttlebus of the hotel drives to the center a few times a day and also taxis are quickly available and not expensive at all.
Thank you all at the Pestana Palace for our lovely and relaxed stay!!!
We will definitively come back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchfamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The Pestana palace is lovely. The pool was refreshing and lovely. the service was exceptional. I would love to stay at this hotel again in the future. There is a lovely bar with nightly piano music and a delicious breakfast featuring wonderful fresh pastries and fruit as well as the usual European breakfast fare.

Room Tip: the hotel is not in the center of the city but it is easy to get to the center by tram, bus or taxi.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NCRBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stunning converted palace in quiet area of Lisbon. Loved the relaxed feel, gardens and pool. It caters for various interests - if want to chill and relax or explore the city. I stayed a week with friends and we had a truly beautiful time. The spa is excellent - am used to Asia spas but the quality here was on par (but more expensive) - fantastic healing massages.

Only gripes are no irons or kettles in the room and hotel food is very very expensive compared to what is available locally. The lovely bar is sort of ruined by a large tv - suggest it be removed. Breakfast is lovely.

Would definitley go back. THe food in Lisbon is fantastic - try the updated food market for sentational food options.

Room Tip: I had a garden room - lovely terrace
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fionayoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa, Praca do Comercio
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#11 of 253 in Lisbon
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#8 of 253 in Lisbon
939 reviews
Belem
Palacio do Governador
Palacio do Governador
#74 of 253 in Lisbon
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palace Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa

Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#29 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $247 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing