We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury Lifestyle with a wonderful view from the room riverfront balcony!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Ranked #31 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
131 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Luxury Lifestyle with a wonderful view from the room riverfront balcony!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hotel is a full block in on of the quietest neighborhood of Lisbon, Ajuda.
From a 19th Century palace with lots of story, which is the main building amazingly furnished and has a old style décor with a stunning view over the Tagus River.
The room I stayed was one of the best ever I had sleep, with all modern comforts while with “old” century look and with a breathless balcony over the city, with the river just in front. Rooms are large and comfortable and the suite has lots of space. The bathroom is huge.

From the entrance you start to feel that this is a top hotel, the staff always looking forward to make your stay the most memorable possible, and

The gardens are a must for relaxing and read a book, I have not used the pool as it was February but it has a wonderful surrounding set of flowers and trees.
It also has a summer bar nearby the pool that I imagine would make the perfect place for a meal in the hot season.

Did not use the spa facilities but visited and looks very well and above average, and are available several options highly recommend after a long trip or a working week.
Breakfast is served in one of the nicest palace ballrooms, has plenty of choice and everything you would expect from a 5 star facility.

I would consider this hotel, a great option for couples.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PepeRamix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear PepeRamix,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to hear from our Guests, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your most recent visit with us.

We would also like to thank you for your very positive comments regarding the palace and its decoration, the rooms, the garden, the pool, the service and the breakfast of the Hotel. All the above have established the Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument as one of the best hotels in Portugal with a huge number of repeat clients and awards.

All your information was very useful because it gives a complete idea of the Hotel for future travellers.

It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and we look forward to your next visit at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, offering you more Memorable Moments.

Best regards,

Andreia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,210
    319
    91
    28
    19
See reviews for
334
741
49
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
177 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have seen some hotels, and then this one.
What a stunning property:
One could argue it's a bit far off from centre, but that woud be the only thing I could say
The room was deliciously antique, with all modern comforts.
The details are what makes it a true 5 star and the staff are out of this world. Very nice, very attentive but equally discrete
we checked out very early but they had thought of a small coffe stand for us not to leave on empty stomach

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deflumine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Deflumine,

Thank you for having visited Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument and for taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor, which was highly appreciated.

We are glad that you found the room nice and comfortable and that you spent a nice time with us. We have also appreciated your kind words concerning out team attitude.

I will be sure to share your review with our team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andreia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had a lovely 7 days honeymoon at this lovely hotel situated. Great location for sight-seeing all around the vicinity. Yet the peaceful surrounding made it the perfect stay. The hotel is amazingly furnished and has a lovely sitting area. The hotel staff took extra care to make our Honeymoon trip very memorable. They had arranged for the best room at the cheapest rates possible. The owner even offered us a free goodie bag upon check-in. The bag consisted of scented candles, flowers and lots of chocolates. The hotel supposedly offered special Honeymoon packages though our travel agent hadn’t informed us of the same. Though the staff at the hotel made it a point to provide us with all the exclusive services meant for the Honeymoon package. Wonderful facilities and great folks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaliKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear KaliKate,

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us on such an important occasion as your honeymoon. We work every day with the same passion to provide memorable moments to our guests.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel decoration, as well as our facilities and staff, we will make sure that is shared with all our team.

We truly hope that you will soon have a chance to return to Lisbon and would be glad to welcome you back to the Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Thank you again for your motivating review.

Warm regards,

Andreia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Really nice hotel, good food, perfect location, friendly employee's and excellent service. Rooms are large and comfortable, I Recommend for sure to everyone go thereand enjoy the nice service they provide me. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ze S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Ze S,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for posting that on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you for recognizing the excellence of our service, we will share your comments with our team and for sure they will be very happy to know.

We really hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Andreia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst on our honeymoon. The setting is out of this world and is so elegant and tranquil. The service is some of the best I have encountered in any of the cities in the world I've stayed in. We made full use of the spa facilities and can highly recommend the couples massage. Breakfast was without a doubt unbeatable with so much choice. Can not wait to stay here again - thank you for a wonderful experience.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Foodie1976heaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Laura J,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your stay with us in details and delighted to hear that you choose the Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument for such an important occasion as your honeymoon!

I would like also to thank you for your nice observations about our spa and breakfast, and specially about our service - some of the best you have found in any of the cities in the world you've stayed in- we couldn’t agree more with your words!!

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the service of our staff.

Looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Andreia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Such a fabulous place. Stayed in suite w terrace. magnicent dining rooms. lavish breakfast. lovely afternoon tea. walking distance to Belem. pool and spa area well maintained but not really designed for laying about all day, but why would you want to when the cloisters and gardens are so close.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank tracey668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear "Tracey668",

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument on TripAdvisor.

It is always a pleasure to hear from our Guests and we are so glad that you found our hotel such a fabulous place!

We are very happy that the hotel and its services were up to your expectations.

We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andreia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot Berkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We arrived at 1.00am on Christmas Day (14 Hour delay in London due to weather) and were greeted by a very helpful concierge who gave us a quick tour of the main area's before showing us (my wife and two daughters) to our rooms. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable with the bathrooms being good but a little dated. Later on Christmas day we toured the beautiful grounds and used the pool and spa before having a fantastic Christmas lunch in the impressive dining room, the menu and wines were first class and the staff were very attentive. The grand and beautifully decorated public rooms were a great setting for the exchange of our Christmas gifts. The desk staff were helpful in giving us area's to visit in Lisbon and arranged taxi's at short notice. On Boxing day we decided we wanted to eat less formally and they recommended a good local restaurant which we enjoyed. Maybe we got lucky with the team who worked over the holiday period but we certainly will be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALBERT10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreia C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Albert10,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your stay with us in details and delighted to hear that you and your family choose the Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument for such an important occasion, as Christmas time!

We are glad you enjoyed our staff, we will share your kind comments with them, specially with our concierge and restaurant team.

Your words are a motivation for our staff to keep up the personal and professional attention to our guests, and when combined, adds up to a comfortable feeling of luxury and well-being for you and all of our Guests.

Glad you had a great Christmas time, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Andreia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#20 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Property: Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#26 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing