We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Ranked #31 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just finished a 2 week holidays trough Spain and Portugal, staying at 5 of the top hotels.
The Pestana Palace was my favorite.
Large, well appointed grounds, beautiful room ( asked for a view to the garden).
The interior of the Palace is awesome, they even have a chapel.
The restaurant is exceptional. A big thank you to Nuno, he was genuinely friendly and helpful. Staying at this hotel and not eating would be a mistake.

Reception staff were beyond brilliant, we even made a booking error which they corrected with-in minutes. The welcome was very warm and perfect. ALL contribute to our stay being a wonderfull experience. I have to make however a point of how good is Luiza, Rui, Antonio, Petro and Joaquim.

I will get back to this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LilBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,214
    319
    91
    28
    19
See reviews for
334
742
49
321
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koksijde, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed two nights here with 3 little childeren(4,5 and 8 years).
the place is the best!
The rooms are very nice and clean and are in a seperate wing with all modern comfort(suites are in the palace itself).
Staff is very friendly and most helpful the best!
The gardens are very nice with an outdoor swimmingpool(towels for free and plenty) and an indoor heated(28°C) pool with jacuzzi,hamman,sauna and gym.
There is a very nice restaurant in the garden, you can eat here all day untill 7 pm i believe.
The restaurant in the palace is one of the most beautiful of rooms and is very good, breakfast is here as well and is excellent, ask the chef for any omelet he will make it for you.
Very nice bar with vary friendly and helpful staff, you can eat here as well and i can recommend the pasta, delicious!
Wifi free and works flawless.
Location a bit out of the center but not far from Belém.(shuttle bus provided)

What can i say more, perfection just go there!

Room Tip: families can ask two rooms that interconnect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jobje123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent half of our honeymoon in that beautiful oasis. The room was decorated with flowers and equipped with a bottle of fine sparkling and chocolate pralines upon our arrival.
The room service came so many times a day that I lost count. Every time I went back to fetch something from the room it was all made up and beautiful.

Breakfast was excellent and versatile. Service was very polite but relaxed.

Pool area was absolutely beautiful and the tropical garden in the middle of the premises was magical for a little evening sit or walk.

They make great Port-tonics as well.

A special treat is the Chinese pool house which at the time was unfortunately not catering but opened for everyone to sit and read in the shade and very welcomed cool breeze as it was 42 degrees during the heatwave!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eliiskeidong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is a very elegant mansion. It has beautiful rooms decorated with care and good taste. I will spend my birthday there this year due to its nice restaurant, outstanding rooms and impeccable service.

Room Tip: Try rooms in the end of the ales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at The Pestana Palace Hotel for 7 nights with our 3 teenage children. The Hotel is amazing - so peaceful and with lovely gardens. Our rooms were clean and comfortable.We were a little disappointed as the turkish baths were not open at all during the whole week and the indoor pool was closed on our last day.Having said that it didn't spoil our stay at all as the outdoor pool and the gym gave us plenty to do . Breakfast was very nice and the staff helpful. Would definitely recommend as so nice to be out of the centre of the city but within easy reach. We just walked outside down a few streets and found many local and not touristy cafes, bars and restaurants. Great holiday - thanks

Room Tip: We had a lovely rooms on the ground floor with garden views and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maureen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our first visit to Lisbon and we only stayed 1 night but it was wonderful to stay in such beautiful and calm surroundings yet be in the heart of a capital city. All the staff were helpful and showed a pride in their hotel. Desk staff made recommendations for a walk in the city and booked dinner for us. We also requested to see the suites and they were proudly shown off to us. Great value for money too when you compare it to what you get for the same money in any other European capital.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loneranger56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear loneranger56,

Thank you for choosing Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument on your first visit to our beautiful city and for sharing your experience with us.
We are very happy that you had the opportunity of seeing the Royal Suites, they are magnificent in the details and transports us to the elegance and refinement lived in the late XIX century, as indeed the entire Palace.
Right on the Target! In fact it’s a huge pride working at the Pestana Palace. Thank you very much for your kind words about the Staff.
You will always be welcome to Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to the Pestana Palace. We were up graded to a fabulous room, it was Huge! My memory of our last two visits was that the Staff are delightful, friendly, helpful, never condescending, and eager to please. The Breakfast in the most beautiful of rooms was amazing. Now, there is the addition of a chef who will cook you a delicious Omelette.
The grounds are impeccable, and so well maintained. I used the Gym twice, and the staff were friendly and fun. There were lots of towels, and a water fountain. We requested a three hour late check out, and it was granted without fuss or bother. If you are pondering a stay a the Pestan Palace? GO!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank johnedwardpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear John C,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We were very glad to know Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument was your choice for the third time! Thank you very much for your kind words about the helpfulness of our staff – they will be delighted to know! It is always good to know you also enjoyed the breakfast at Valle-Flor Restaurant and especially, the omelet – the chef will be pleased to know! Our gardens are, indeed, one of our treasures and we always try our best to keep them beautifully maintained, it is great to know you appreciated them.

All in all, thank you very much for your great review and for recommending Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument on Tripadvisor!
We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

All the best,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#20 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Property: Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#26 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing