We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument to your Saves list
Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Jau, 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 234 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Different than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

As we travel a lot, our expectations for this hotel were very high. Unfortunately we were a little bit disappointed when we arrived, because only upon arrival we realised that the majority of the rooms were in a seperate building next to the Palace building. Only suites are in the main building!

We had booked a superior category as we know that most of the time the standard rooms of a hotel can be disappointing. Unfortunately even in the superior category the room felt more like a 4 star than a 5 star hotel. No modern amenities, no coffee making facilities, very weak wifi (free), everything was just very standard. In addition the mattress was extremely hard and uncomfortable. Very unusual for a hotel of this category.

The main building and the garden are beautiful. And the breakfast was also very good. If you are ok with a standard room (with no wow factor), you will like the hotel. The location is away from the city centre, but taxis are very cheap, so it doesn't really matter so much.

The staff at this hotel is amazing. Starting with the trainee (Nicholas), the doorman (Sergio), the 2 female reception manager (sorry...didn't take a note of the names) and the Duty Manager Nuno. Incredible! We stay in 5 star hotels all over the world and even though staff in most places are nice and professional, the staff at Pestana Palace really stood out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKLON72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed four days at Pestana Palace last April. The hotel is gorgeous, elegant, wonderful swimming pool an Spa. But what really called my attention was the extraordinary team that work there, It was really a pleasure to stay there

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galton V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Galton V,

Thank you very much for your review. We take your opinions in high consideration. It is wonderful to know that you found the hotel gorgeous and elegant, and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the swimming pool and the spa. We highly appreciate the fact that you mention the team work and that you consider it extraordinary – know that it is our priority to provide outstanding service to our guests, and it is always good to know we do it well!
It will be a pleasure to have you back soon!

All the best,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you want to visit this old building, have a drink in the bar but I would suggest a stay somewhere else. It was a major disappointment. My urgent request at checkin had to be followed up on 3 times, no currency change to break a 20 euro was available at checkout, other than a bath phone, the room was 3 stars and in need of a major upgrade—with a bed that felt like sleeping on plywood, the robes were very cheap, transition to the rooms from the heritage protected common area felt like the jetway from airport terminal to plane, dinner was nothing special, and if you want transportation for almost half the price of the car they provide, taxis are waiting just outside the driveway entrance. Employees in the restaurant were pleasant. The best moment of my stay- checking out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank butravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

the room was ok, though there is no heating in the floor. The beds are too hard for my liking. But the staff is faboulous, and the food was very good. The bartender is in a class of his own, and makes some fantastic drinks (though at a fantastic price one might add). Tried the drycleaning and my jacket came back in pristine condition. I also liked the fact, travelling as we were- two women, that the security at the gate was very good! All in all - recommend this place to anyone

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Synnove123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Galton V,

Thank you very much for your review. We take your opinions in high consideration. It is wonderful to know that you found the hotel gorgeous and elegant, and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the swimming pool and the spa. We highly appreciate the fact that you mention the team work and that you consider it extraordinary – know that it is our priority to provide outstanding service to our guests, and it is always good to know we do it well!
It will be a pleasure to have you back soon!

All the best,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Excelent hotel, excelent staff, very quiet and peaceful hotel,
parking should be free to people staying at hotel
beverages should be served near the spa and the swimming pool even before summer time
marvellous and relaxing gardens
a building with an history - great attitude from Pestana to mantain alive the history of this family and this house

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anahenlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great Hotel with a long history. The main old building is in great shape and the newly built extensions perfectly blend in into the "royal garden". The outside pool area is a master piece and the indoor pool is what you expect as a business traveller to do your laps. The service from Check In, Porter, Breakfast, Gym, Concierge staff - all 5 Star and very well groomed and trained.
The little Park within the property is a lovely place to relax and take a walk. As I was on a conference I could not enjoy too much the Hotel but I will definitely come back on a leisure trip. What a Hotel in such a lovely city as Lisbon. This was my first experience with the Pestana brand and I will watch out for them more often.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good - I stayed in second floor facing the Garden of the Palace. The LG rooms m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello Mr. Kraft,

How are you?
Thank you for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor and for your email.
It’s true, this building has a long history since the time of the Monarchy, passing the location of Council of Ministers (1977), until the times of Hotel, there are many stories surrounding the Palace. Inclusive, there are two small palaces near the Hotel which also belonged to the property and now one of them is a private house and the other belongs to an Embassy.
Thank you for recognizing the good performance of our service and to give five star rating in all categories. I will share your opinion with all Team.
We wait for you in a more lengthy stay, so you can enjoy all the space of the Hotel.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
222 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I am still here at the palce and words can not tell you how fantastic this palace hotel is. Everything is five stars to the staff, service , gardens, rooms and breakfast buffet. Its in a nice area. Special thanks to Marie at check in and to Rui the shuttle driver to different sites and the best porter. Thank you both again Rui & Maria. First you are given a tour of the grounds, gardens and services, then you are escortted back to your room where your bags are waiting for you. If you want a great price then hit trip advisor, or hotels.com we got a rate of $233 for a double with an upgrade plus free buffet, not even in New York City can you get a five star hotel for that price including taxes. The art work is fantastic too and the dinningrooms are a picture out of an art book. The food served at breakfast is just great. Thank you once again Pestana Palace staff for a great time in a beautiful city, Lisbo. Now if I can only find out where I put my crown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Jim D,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for your high esteem of our hotel and staff.
We will share your comments with Maria João and Rui and for sure they will be encouraged by your remarks.
Glad you had a great time. Please come back soon…your throne is waiting for you.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#3 of 234 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#4 of 234 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,849 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 234 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#10 of 234 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
Porto Bay Liberdade
#16 of 234 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Address: Rua Jau, 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#25 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing