We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Ranked #32 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stunning Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed 5 nights. Satff very freindly. Beatuiful gardens and Pools. Room was spacious with confortable bed. Great views from room to gardens.
Amazing choice for breakfast (but expensive if not included in your rate).
Live piano music every night in piano bar.
Taxi is required too and from centre. Shuttle bus was only 10am to town.
While staying the Barcelona football team arrived for a 2 night stay but bar breakfast being a little buiser than usual you would not of known they were there.

Room Tip: Top floor for views over garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rup_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Rup_UK,

We were all very happy that you enjoyed in all its splendor the Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument. The live piano is an asset that we have and that adds a magic touch in the Palace. We are very glad you liked it.
You stayed in a hectic day and I apologize if any service was slower, however even in these situations we try not to interfere with the overall service.
Thank you very much for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    322
    91
    29
    19
See reviews for
339
751
50
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had couple weeks holiday in Portugal. First we went south to Albufeira and after beach holiday we came to Lisbon. We are more than pleased that we chose absolutely best hotel in the city. This beatiful hotel had great offer durin summertime, that when you stay you got free dinner and free massage for two! Hotel is bit outside of centre but it has best services and quality in Lisbon. Hotel has nice pool which is inside of small forest and has a nice bar as well. Main building has restaurant, breakfast room, bar and reception. This hotel has also "hall of fame" where they have letters from guest f.ex. madonna who stayed at the hotel.

Room Tip: If money is not a problem pay extra and live in a main building suites! They have 4 different suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikko_J_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Mikko_J_H,

It is so nice to hear about your stay! We are very happy you enjoyed and we couldn’t agree more about the hotel choice. Thank you so much for your words.
The hall of fame that saw is just a small sample of people who stay at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, but all guests in general are a priority for us.
We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

An amazing hotel !! Immaculate ,well appointed rooms,beautiful gardens and pool areas,extremely efficient and professional staff,gorgeous breakfasts...my sister and I spent a wonderful weekend in balmy 30 degrees September..I have numerous anecdotes to enthuse about the hotel but the best was when we ordered a car to take us to a restaurant for dinner,the doorman asked us where we were eating that evening when we told him ,we also asked hi. If we should have booked ahead... He looked a little dubious .... When we arrived at the restaurant our cab driver told us not to stand in the queue as our hotel had rung ahead and put us on some kind of VIP list !!! No waiting around for us it seemed they treated us like princesses ... So when you stay here .. And you must ask for the amazing seafood restaurant ,and that they ring ahead for you :).....

Room Tip: Make sure you upgrade to a garden view balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s_hunter309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear S_hunter309,

What a nice review! Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor. We will also share your kind comments with our staff.
It is so nice to hear that you and your sister felt like Princesses.
Lisbon is your kingdom and will always welcome to your Palace.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

The Pestana Palace Hotel is a refurbished palace located in the Belem district of Lisbon. I stayed at a junior suite for 3 days and it was superb. It was like staying in a palace and bring served and waited upon like royalty. The breakfast buffet was sumptous. It certainly lives up to its reputation of being among the leading hotels of the world.

The only drawback is that the hotel is located 6 km from the old town and is a 10 minute taxi tide or 30 minute bus ride away. To get to the number 15 tram, it is a 15 minute downhill walk.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aukahkay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear aukahkay62,

Thank you very much for your honesty feedback and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted with your words and with the fact that we have caused good impression to you and the fact that has taken advantage of the breakfast and all the palatial environment.
We agree about our location. The hotel is near to Belém, historic district of the Portuguese Discoveries where there are several monuments, museums, gardens, Belém Palace (which is the official residence of the President of the Republic) and the famous Pastéis de Belém (just for you: they have a secret ingredient, since 1837, that makes the Pastel more delicious), but yes, we are not in the old town. However on the way to the downtown has the opportunity to see other parts of the city.
We really hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
146 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed one night in this marvellous hotel and although I knew it because I had been there in several events, I had never tried its hospitality. The hotel is an old entirely renovated palace and the suite we stayed in was regal: a large living room, a gracious sleeping room well decorated with a large comfortable bed with perfect pillows and linen, a bathroom divided ih 3 compartments full of l'Ocitane toiletries, a closet and a veranda. What more can you ask to celebrate? But the best thing was the kindmess of all the staff, the little gestures that added magic to this special celebration: flowers, champagne, chocolates and even a treatment at the spa were offered to congratulate us on this special date.
Dinner and breakfast were gourmet style, I would recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsabelTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear IsabelTM,

We are extremely pleased to read your comment and with the fact you have adored your stay.
We have the privilege of working in a place with 109 years life and we want experiences like yours included in our history. We see that you stayed on a special date and we want to thank you for choosing us, Memorable Moments is what we want offer to our guests. The entire staff are grateful for your kind comments.
You will always be welcome to Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, even for a lunch or the afternoon tea… and Yes, recommend us to your friends, we appreciate.

Até breve,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I can only highly recommend this hotel. The interieur and the gardens are marvellous, the rooms spacy and beautifully decorated. The service is really excellent, the entire staff is doing everything to make the stay most enjoyable.
unfortunately I didn't have time to try the Spa.
Would choose this hotel again when going to Lisbon another time.
JO

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUO19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear JUO19,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We will surely share with our staff.
We couldn’t agree more about our gardens, rooms and especially the service of our staff. We enjoy and we offer you the tranquility, comfort, cordiality and the beauty of life.
When you visiting again Lisbon, please come to Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I've been fortunate enough to stay in some superb hotels, but this was by far the best. First of all, it is staggeringly gorgeous - every room in the main palace is jaw-dropping. The bedrooms are mostly in the new wing, but they are large, gracious, and well-decorated. The service is superb - every staff member was genuinely friendly and competent without being uncomfortably obsequious. The food was excellent, the spa superb, the grounds lovely - the only hard part was leaving.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirah11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Shirah11,

Wow!! You are the best! Thank you very much for the five star rating. All the staff adore your review.
Thank you again for sharing your candid feedback on Trip Advisor.
You will always be welcome to Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#23 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Property: Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#27 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing