We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstandingly beautiful hotel which caters for smokers.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Ranked #31 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Outstandingly beautiful hotel which caters for smokers.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is literally an 18th century palace, with beautiful mature gardens. The best rooms are in the actual palace, but like most visitors I stayed in one of the modern rooms in one of two wings which have been attached to the old palace building. All guests can use the ground floor rooms, which contain furniture appropriate for the setting. The restaurant is there too and it is excellent, with reasonable prices and some interesting wines.
Some of the rooms have a terrace, with table and chairs, where smoking is permitted. There is no cover, but the weather was fine during my visit.
There is an outdoor pool, a chinese-style summer house and a small aviary in the gardens. A spa, indoor pool and gym are also available.
The staff were excellent, though there was a slight hiccup when a pair of trousers that I sent to the laundry disappeared for half a day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear mikemin,

Thank you so much for sharing your detailed feedback on TripAdvisor.
All your information were very useful because it gives a complete idea of the Hotel for future travellers. Your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us.
We are very happy you had a wonderful stay with us and you will always welcome to Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,214
    319
    91
    28
    19
See reviews for
334
742
49
321
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
275 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 1 night; they gave us room 2230 (a very grand suite) on wing 2. The service was excellent, the wonderful person in charge of Reception let us check out at 3:00pm without paying extra. The gardens are beautiful, the facilities including the swimming pool are fantastic. We had a meal in their restaurant and although it is very posh with many glasses and forks and knives on the tables (as I call them) it felt relaxed and informal. The food was brilliant. It was my wife's birthday and they gave us champagne and there was a cake when we returned to our suite. This is the hotel to stay at in Lisbon: it is second to none.
Two things that can be improved: the quality of food at breakfasts and the service (why not put coffee and tea pots on the tables instead of having to ask every time one wants tea or coffee). Second, it would be better to be able to log on to the internet without having to do it every time you use your computer. Our room was noisy due to a water pump but someone came to disconnect it late at night; although it went on again the next day.
Despite these minor things, Do stay here if you are in Lisbon, even if it is for one night only.

Room Tip: I noticed that the rooms in Wing 1 are dark and small. Make sure you get a room in Wing 2, which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FandangoEspanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear FandangoEspanol,

We loved your comment and we want to thank you for sharing your stay on TripAdvisor.
We are very glad that you enjoyed so much the atmosphere of the Palace and the garden. The Chef Pedro Inglês Marques and his Team appreciated a lot your candid feedback about the food.
With the opinion of our Guests we can improve our services and we appreciate your constructive comments.
Yes, we agree with you… even if it’s just for one night, worth staying at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.
We wait for you in the next visit to Lisbon.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Again, we spent a few nights at the Pestana. We like and enjoy the Hotel because of the wide garden, the precious main building, great breakfast buffet and kind and professional service. The bed is very comfortable and the room is decorated in a somehow old fashioned British style. Lisboa is a great city! We will come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Dear "Michael G",

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Palace.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website.
Looking forward to welcome you in Lisbon in a near future,

João Martins
Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
269 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is clearly a 5 star hotel. The service is impeccable, on par with 4 Seasons and Ritz. The main hotel is beautiful, and the grounds are well maintained. Breakfast is perfect.

The room, however, is small and the hotel is situated out of the way, in a quiet neighborhood. There are plenty of local restaurants, and of course you can eat at the hotel. If you don't mind fairly inexpensive cab rides the small negatives should not dissuade you from staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExperiencedTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Palace. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely,

João Martins
Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

This hotel is amazing, starting from the building and finishing with the service from all, without any exception. Being familiar with the Pestana network, we decided to pay a visit for lunch while in port on a Cunard cruise. We took friends and had a a real treat with a tour of the whole facility, including a view of all room categories and the grounds. We had a delightful lunch and enjoyed our visit immensely. The food was special and the service just superb. The taxi's can be a liitle concerning with one from the cruise terminal costing 15 euro's and one from the hotel back costing 5 euro's - beware!!

Room Tip: The category is the important thing. Pay for what you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frankie0_1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your visit at Pestana Palace.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you and yours friends/family at our Restaurant Valle Flor and Pestana Palace Hotel.
I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
I would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

João Martins
Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for four nights last October and for both of us it was a wonderful experience.
We were celebrating our 25TH wedding anniversary and the staff could not have done more to make it more special.
We have both reacommended the hotel to everyone and it will be our first choice for any future visit to Lisbon.

Stayed October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear "Brian K",

Thank you for visiting the Pestana Palace Hotel during the special moment of the celebration of your 25th wedding anniversary.
Lisbon is the best destination for this type of celebrations and Pestana Palace Hotel one of the best choices to stay because of our location, gardens and romance feelings from the Palace.
Your kind comments were shared with all the staff members, who were happy to know of your satisfaction.
We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website.
Kindest regards,

João Martins
Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

If your cruise begins or ends in Lisbon, you simply have to plan to spend an extra two or three days exploring this amazing port city. We extended our April 2012 transatlantic sailing on Silversea Silver Spirit by booking two nights at Pestana Palace hotel. This is the former residence of the Marquis de Valle Flor who was born in the north of Portugal and eventually became one of the biggest producers of cocoa at that time.

Not being familiar with Lisbon, we decided to arrange for Pestana Palace to have their private Mercedes pick us up at the cruise terminal at 9:30am in Lisbon (48 Euro) after disembarking Silver Spirit. Unfortunately, the driver was about 15 minutes late due to an earlier accident. Nevertheless, the drive to the hotel took about 15 minutes.

Tip: Taxis are plentiful in Lisbon at the cruise terminal and they are very reasonably priced. The drivers speak pretty good English, so a taxi might be a more affordable option than hiring a private car.

We arrived at Pestana Palace by 10am and we were pleased to learn that our room was made up and ready for us. The desk clerk who checked us in also escorted us to our room and described the various features of the room.

The main building of Pestana Palace is actually a palace, the construction of which began in 1904 under the guidance of Italian architect, Nicola Bigaglia. Pestana Palace has a wonderful location with a splendid view over the Tagus River. The property has been restored to its original glory and is actually a National Monument. The historic main building houses the lobby, reception, several sitting rooms, a bar and restaurant and four large Royal suites. Across the street from the main building is the conference center which was originally the palace stables! A newer, modern building sits behind the palace (main building) which is where the majority (190) guest rooms are located. The rooms are connected to the main building via a glass-walled, heated/air-conditioned elevated walkway.

Read the entire review on our website http://www.cruisereport.com/crBlogDetail.aspx?id=1792

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. The walls are very thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Your feedback is very important for us and future Guests.
It´s through guest feedback such as yours, that we are able to confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement. Therefore your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us.
I notice you are an enthusiastic for history and if you want please send us your name and e-mail adress for our reception and with that will send you one of our books.
We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website.
It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more ‘Memorable Moments’.

João Martins
Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#20 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Property: Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#26 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing