We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and quiet stay”
Review of SANA Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SANA Capitol Hotel
Ranked #64 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice room and quiet stay”
Reviewed July 24, 2010

I stayed at Sana Capitol 1 night, I found the room very nice and clean. It is quite central, in a quite street. I liked the black&green theme in the room, the different kind of lights and the fact that they put green apples on the bedtables! Good shower, but not possible to close it completely so you cannot avoid splashing almost everywhere in the bathroom! Bed very comfortable, there were no prices for the articles in the room (some cookies, peanuts and bottles of water/wine) and in the minibar even if the receptionist said so (or maybe we could not see them!) I found the breakfast with very few variety, but it was probably because we arrived little before closure. Friendly and available staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AninhaCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    304
    53
    3
    7
See reviews for
68
295
32
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Stayed here the week before Easter 2010. Having choosen this hotel on the basis of so many positive reviews, I can confirm it doesn't disappoint. One of the main reasons for booking the Sana Classic was that it seemed one of the more quiet hotels.

The hotel is in a new building, has five floors and is right at the corner of Rua Eça de Queirós and Rua Actor Tasso, just around the corner from the Marques de Pombal underground station. Our rooms went out onto Rua Actor Tasso and were really quiet. We had big windows, but the view wasn't great - first of all, there's some sort of concrete wall blocking the view, and then you "only" see the Sana Hotel opposite - but since we didn't plan on spending our time at the hotel, this didn't bother us. We had a chance to take a look at room 504 in passing, which also has big windows. Other rooms may go out towards the parking lot on the other side of the hotel, and therefore may not be as quiet as our rooms.

The rooms are fantastic - they are new and spick-and-span clean, and it's all there: hairdryer, safe, minibar, telephone, flatscreen TV. Some rooms have shower cabins only, others have a bathtub - enquire beforehand if you prefer either.

As has been pointed out by other reviewers, the staff are wonderful - helpful, friendly, and multilingual. As has also been pointed out, breakfast isn't overly exciting (a choice of two types of sausage cuts, cheese, diverse jams, rolls & toast, cereals, scrambled egg and hot sausages), but it's all fresh and nicely presented, and the coffee is just right. Plus, if you need excitement in the food department, well, Lisbon has tempting "Pastelarias" at every corner if you fancy a second breakfast!

There's a desk, PC and printer (and probably a fax machine, though I didn't enquire) available for those who need them, but at EUR3 for half an hour's worth of Internet access the Internet Cafes around Rossio station are better value. There's also a hotel bar on the ground floor, should you want a night cap.

All in all, a great hotel experience, and I'd return anytime. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulinaSmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2009

This hotel is really geared toward the business traveler, rather than the tourist. It's a decent hike from the old Lisbon attractions, and on the weekends, the hotel felt a bit dead (we were the only people in the bar during happy hour). That said, the rooms are well-appointed, and we got a good package for 100 euros that included free welcome cocktails, free breakfast, and free internet.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank baringlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

The hotel is located perfectly for getting to know Lisbon, on a quiet side street, but still central. The underground and the buses, including the airport bus, are round the corner. But in Lisbon, you can actually walk a lot, it´s not far to the most sights. The breakfast with fresh fruit was great. The hotel is almost new, it is clean and the furniture is modern and nice. It is great value for the price."

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arcticbramble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Best hotel i ever stayed in Lisbon. Despite beeing a 3 stars hotel, the rooms are better than many 4 or 5 stars, at least the one i got 603. Very clean and confortable. The staff are very friendly speccially the two girls on the bar, that also were in breakfast.
If you look for a good place, do choose this hotel or one from the SANA Hotels.
Locations is just 2 minutes from the Marques do Pombal Square. By the hotel there is the subway station, and also you can get the aerobus close to the hotel, when going to the airport. Trust me, it really worths it.
And now i will try Sana Malhoa.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadeiraIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

We stayed for three nights and were given a twin room. The room was fresh and clean but was very small. Location isn't too good if you're in Lisbon for a short holiday. However, it's close to a metro station if you don't mind doing a bit of travelling into the main attration areas.
There is no room service or car park in the hotel. Wi Fi is not free - cost EUR5 per hour.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randomtraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

This hotel has been renovated, but there are problems getting started. The phones do not yet work directly from all rooms, the air-conditioning is insufficient. Some hallways are like a sauna. The the biggest problem may not be solvable, in that some of the rooms are as small as those in Japan, not even close to Western European standards. However, the staff tries hard to solve problems, and after our complaints we were upgraded. Breakfast is in the sister Sana Lisboa hotel across a small street and is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gothicist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.0 mi away
SANA Lisboa Hotel
SANA Lisboa Hotel
#35 of 248 in Lisbon
1,717 reviews
0.5 mi away
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
#33 of 248 in Lisbon
655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Lisboa Parque
Eurostars Lisboa Parque
#79 of 248 in Lisbon
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
HF Fenix Garden
HF Fenix Garden
#60 of 248 in Lisbon
1,609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
#137 of 248 in Lisbon
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa
Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa
#131 of 248 in Lisbon
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Capitol Hotel

Property: SANA Capitol Hotel
Address: Rua Eca de Queiros 24, Lisbon 1050-096, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#50 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SANA Capitol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANA Capitol Hotel is a new hotel, built in 2008, located in the centre of Lisbon. With an irreverent and urban design, SANA Capitol Hotel offers a unique atmosphere, allied to extreme comfort and peace. Near Marquês de Pombal, an area with excellent accessibility whether by car, or public transport, and a few minutes’ walk both from the historic centre and business areas, SANA Capitol Hotel is the ideal hotel for pleasure or business trips to Lisbon. Every area of the hotel was conceived to be unique and appealing, from the "clean-look" and relaxed rooms, to the modern and bright bar or the sophisticated, cosmopolitan restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SANA Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sana Classic Capitol Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing