We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Czar Lisbon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Czar Lisbon Hotel
Ranked #182 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel was very clean. Staff were friendly. The only down side was the traffic noise at night. We were woken up a few times by sirens as it is close to the hospital. Close to the centre of lisbon about a 15 min walk .

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank val9199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    180
    129
    38
    50
See reviews for
82
213
19
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night, just overnight, wish it was longer. Great shower & bathroom, clean, good water pressure and amenities. Good selection in mini bar, lots of TV channels (English also), Free wi-fi with great signal. Stayed on the 7th (top) floor so great views out front on the deck and out the window at the back. Good selection at breakfast and helpful, friendly staff. Not sure about the location but we just needed somewhere to stay between the airport and Entrecampos train station so it was perfect for that.

Room Tip: Nice deck on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BNETravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed last summer in this hotel and I have only good thoughts to share about this location. Very close to city center and well connected by tram, bus or metro, the rooms very spacious, clean and very beautiful decorated. The staff was great and also the food from the restaurant. I strongly recommend this hotel for your trip in Lisbon. A great value for the money paid.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adinaionescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We just came back from our trip to Lisbon and the hotel was really nice. I was worried after reading some bad comments about the hotel in general. However, I was very happy with the service and comfort they provide us. The room wasn't the big but very clean and modern. The shower was quite impressive. Its only 5 min to the centre by metro. The location of the hotel is not bad even if you see a lot of homeless people in the night but its not a dangerous area. The breakfast was good and had lot of choices. We really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GaLiLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I am just back after staying here for a night, it is very nice but not in the best of areas. We could not turn off the fan in the bathroom and it kept waking us up. We had dinner in the hotel as we did
not want to venture out later, we did not feel 100 percent safe in the area, you could get a metro to the lively areas but then would walk for another approximately five minutes from there to the hotel. The dinner menu was very limited, not many choices. However the staff were excellent, very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was very nice. I would not stay there again, only because
of it's location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

1. Poor customer service- I was told I would given a room with view of sea and was given view of scaffolding. Asked to change room and view was of the front of the building which was a bit better.
The staff would not answer the phone and when I asked for an iron I was advised to go to the mall to buy one. When outraged a maid informed me that the staff was new and didn't understand and she kindly got me one.
2. Website pictures
The hotel photo of the castle is no where near and is misleading. If you want z view like that stay in Rossio area, Tsar hotel is in Anjos.
3. The gym facility was out of order
4. The breakfast options are good for those who like cold meats - as a vegetarian you have very little choice. The food had a high amount of salt. For dinner the steak was lovely but cod was awful.
5. The room is modern looking but small and the bed is extremely uncomfortable, I had a sore neck and had to buy medicine to help with the pain.
6. Lastly the local area is quite run down, many homeless people and not much to see. You have to get a metro to see the real Lisbon.

Overall I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RD1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno T, Front Office Manager at Czar Lisbon Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam

Thank you in advance for your preference, I will respond to your comments by points to be as direct as possible.

1.The hotel don´t have a sea view because Lisbon lies on the bank of the Tagus river. The hotel never advertised that the window view is the Tagus river.
There was a scaffolding for 4 days on the back of the hotel for cleaning e maintenance at the time of your stay. Please note that we changed the room to the front of the hotel.
The hotel have 2 receptionists plus a phone operator, if the your call wasn’t answered immediately was because all lines were busy.
I think that were a lack of communication between the staff member and you, because the hotel provides several irons to our guests. But I’m happy that another staff member solved the situation immediately.

2. In the Hotel official web site and in other online operators you can find pictures of the hotel facilities and from the city highlights, that doesn’t mean and is not written anywhere that the hotel has a view to the São Jorge Castle, 25th of April Bridge our Praça do Comércio per example.
We are very proud of our location, 7 minutes by metro from downtown and 15 to 20 m. walk. The closest metro Station is 50 meters from the Hotel.

3. Yes at this point the Fitness center is out of order because is been reallocated to the last floor, it will have in a close future a panoramic view of the city. All operators are informed.

4. If you have an specific alimentation should inform us because we could arrange a meal specific for you, normally we do that to people with celiac disease. No extra charge.
Cod fish is a dish that we serve habitually in several ways with very good reviews, we are very sorry about discontentment. At that point you should ask to speak with the duty manager.

5. The hotel cushions have 2 sizes and orthopedic mattress from Pikolin. We are sorry that you didn't had a good night of sleep.

6. The location was mentioned on the 2nd point, there is nothing unfortunately that we can do about this social problem, but our avenue is as safe as any other in Lisbon.

Our purpose is to provide the best stay possible to our guests, make them feel at home. I sorry that you stayed with a different opinion.
If we could help please contact us at reservas@tsarhotels.com.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

newly opened hotel, nicely decorated, stylish rooms and with a friendly staff. Breakfast buffet is varied and served in a beautiful and spacious room. Undoubtedly I recommend to business and leasure trips.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epifânio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.3 mi away
Neya Lisboa Hotel
Neya Lisboa Hotel
#94 of 251 in Lisbon
1,318 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 3K Madrid
Hotel 3K Madrid
#163 of 251 in Lisbon
506 reviews
1.3 mi away
Skyna Hotel Lisboa
Skyna Hotel Lisboa
#115 of 251 in Lisbon
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
3k Barcelona Hotel
3k Barcelona Hotel
#154 of 251 in Lisbon
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Travel Park
Hotel Travel Park
#105 of 251 in Lisbon
740 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zenit Lisboa
Zenit Lisboa
#109 of 251 in Lisbon
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Czar Lisbon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Czar Lisbon Hotel

Property: Czar Lisbon Hotel
Address: Avenida Almirante Reis 103, Lisbon 1150-013, Portugal (Formerly Tzar)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Czar Lisbon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Fitness Center is out of order, it will open soon with a panoramic view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Czar Lisbon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing