We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zaafran

Zaafran
Reserve with
Zaafran is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #394 of 4,058 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

In this restaurant you will surelly have a fantastic eating experience!
And wether one is familiar or not with Indian cuisine, I strongly recommend the 'Tasting Menu', a savoury trip to the far away lands of Diu.
The staff and the owner are very pleasant and most helpful in "guiding" us through the meal, so that we fully enjoy the experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sonia_carneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    94
    22
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food Pushy owner!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

very easy to find and on the main street.
place is very ambient, but the people in there are a bit disoriented, maybe the football game on the TV while I was there!
we started off well, with starters in which the steward (some old guy) pushed us to take something we did not want, lucky for him it went fine, we selected our own main course and that food was really really tasty, could not remember when was the last time i ate such good food in a restaurant.

Then followed our experience spoiler when we asked for the desert menu, he refused to give it to and said i will get the best and you don't have to pay if we did not like it, and to my disappointment he brought a scoop of gajar ka halwa with a half scoop of ginger ice cream, i refused to eat it rite away as i hate carrot, my wife tasted a spoon and said it was not edible, she returned it with out eating, he then pushed some other ordinary sweet (suji ka halwa) which was also not very great, i did not want to make any fuss out of it, as he said i did not have to pay for stuff i did not eat or like, but when the bill came, all the stuff i refused to eat and did not eat was also charged, i looked for this old guy but could not find him.
I did have a good experience with the main meal, but this guy spoiled my entire experience with his bad selection of desserts and pushy attitude, i will definitely never go back to this restaurant ever.
If you wish to go, please make your own selection from the menu, don't let this guy pick for you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Parvez S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Warm atmosphere and great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a pleasent stay at this unique restaurant. The food was fantastic, and the service unbelieveable. They treated us like family, and shared with us the indian food culture. All the food was homemade and tasted just great. Even though Lisbon have houndreds of restaurants to choose from we had to go back a couple of days later. We will highly recommend a visit to Zaafran.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LMK1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Superb food and great service. It was a great surprise to see the restaurant full of foreigners and hotel owner personally guiding each and every guest about the cuisine. Great experience

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronak8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

They have very nice Indian food. they should pay a little bit more attention regarding the service. If they have the restaurant full it will take hours to start eating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaafran also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Zaafran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing