We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picnic in the garden!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cantina da Estrela

Cantina da Estrela
Reserve with
Cantina da Estrela is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,343 of 4,058 Restaurants in Lisbon
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
168 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Picnic in the garden!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I went with friends to have lunch in teh garden. The restaurant has this new: picnics onthe grass with colourful towels and trays with lots of food. Sandwiches, chips, cheese, hams, toasts and bread, salad, fresh fruit and a delicious chocolate mousse!
We loved having this break in a working day!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ameliapcoutinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    35
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“something different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

A bit of something different, which may not work for everyone. Still if you're open minded, like good food, and don't care that this place is off the touristic path, then it can be a good option, albeit a little expensive (they actually let you decide ho much you want to pay...).

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Axe_Bav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
299 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Going Back to School”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Being and eating in this restaurante is like going back to school (around 1968). The decoration is unique. The staff is very nice but not bothering.
The have a very nice list of wines, and the food is very good. You can not miss the dessert Pão-de-Ló (amazing).
When it cames the time to pay you can choose between a minimum and a maxium price. It up to you.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MariaBarbosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

This was the second time I wen't to Cantina da Estrela.
And the main reason for a comeback wasn't the food but the overall design and ambiance of the restaurant. Nice for a small (up to 6 or 8) group or just two people.

The system at Cantina da Estrela is quite different of what you get on other restaurants. Each dish has a minimum and maximum price (the maximum is the double of the minimum price) and it will be your responsibility to choose how much you would like to pay for each course. This works like this because the restaurant is staffed by the Cooking School next to it. The couvert is fixed price as well as the drinks.

Overall it is a nice experience with good, but not amazing, food. A very negative not goes to the fact that between my first visit, 9 months ago, and now the menu only changed in one or two dishes. I like to see restaurants rotate their menu, if not monthly at least each season, taking advantage of the best products and ingredients.

Staff also because is executed by students it is not amazing, and it removes some of the magic of the space and food.

It's a place to revisit however I won't go back until they change the menu.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DConceicao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
136 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great food in a nice environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

The restaurant is quite nice and modern. The service was good and efficient. Since it was cold I did not try the outside seats.
The soup (spinach) was excellent. Next, the crusty cod fish was good, but with more potatos than cod. The meat was very good, with a great flavour and taste.
For desert I had the "melhor pão de ló do universo", and it is, actually, fantastic !!
Overall a nice place to come back and to try other meals however, for desert, I will keep the same one :)

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina da Estrela also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon District, Central Portugal
 

Been to Cantina da Estrela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing