We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarians Avoid!!!”
Review of Hotel Eduardo VII

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Eduardo VII
Ranked #234 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vegetarians Avoid!!!”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Only good thing about this place is the location, bus nos 44, 745, 83 bring you staright from the airport to within 100 yards of the hotel. The decor, staff, rooms, breakfast and restaurants, are to be fair, OK for what you pay for. What is not OK is the choice of menu in the restaurant, the only vegetarian options were a 4 cheese pizza (which was not available on the day) and a plate of boiled broccoli, half a boiled potato, boiled carrots, a couple of white asparagus for 10.5 Euros. What made me really mad was that they served bread rolls with butter, which I thought was part of the package, but charged me 2.50 Euro separately for that!!

Apart from that, no tea/coffee making facilities in room, you have to ask for it and then they give you a tray with a kettle, two cups and packets of camomile tea and a sachet of Nescafe, which I thaought it common sense to be replenished daily by the person making up the room, sadly not. When I returned at the end of the day, there was still that squeezed out tea bag in my cup and no fresh supplies.

Breakfast was plentiful, the letdown was squash in place of proper juice.

Unhelpful managerial staff, the mignons were polite and helpful though.

Avoid this place, pay a bit more to stay in the Sana Lisboa right opposite, if that is the location you want.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the main roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sadoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JParedesAlves, Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for having the time to evaluate your stay with us, and for having chosen Hotel Eduardo VII for your stay in Lisbon.

We are pleased your assesment of our rooms and location were positive, and respect your opinion regarding the lack of vegetarian choices in our restaurant.

However, we must note that we have at the moment about six to seven vegetarian dishes in our menu, in order to have a balanced and healthy menu.

We apologise for the tea/coffee making facilities and will talk with our housekeeper to ensure next time a better service is given.

We hope we have the chance to receive you again, so we can make your stay more pleasant next time.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    235
    406
    184
    161
See reviews for
231
389
68
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sintra, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

If you want to feel at home but stay away of it, try this awesome home.
Nice service and excellent zone to be in a sweet weekend.
You must try it!

Room Tip: Just near a primiere avenue at Lisbon city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koidinhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JParedesAlves, Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear sir / Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay with us.

We are very pleased that you had a joyful stay, and hope that we can count with your visit more times in the future, so we can better serve you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

The Hotel Eduardo VII has some drawbacks, but is still a reasonable budget choice.

On the plus side, the No. 91 Aerobus from the airport stops around 150 yards away, they allowed us to check in at 10am, the room was adequately equipped, the bathroom spotless and the bedding/towels changed every day. There was a wall-mounted flat screen TV, wardrobe space was sufficient, and the products in the mini-bar were reasonably priced (2 Euros for a beer). With bus stops for a number of lines close by, getting around was never a problem, though I would have preferred to be closer to Rossio off Avenue Liberdade.

Not so good were the thin walls/poor sound-proofing which meant conversations/TV in the next room could be intrusive, and the so-called panoramic restaurant in which breakfast is taken, from which the view was mainly of the air-conditioning equipment on the neighbouring buildings rather than the delights of Lisbon. Breakfast was a repetitive array of scrambled eggs, small frankfurter-type sausages, cheese, spam-type cold meats, oranges, bread, jam and croissants…it sounds OK, but the products were low-grade (margarine rather than butter, squash rather than orange juice, dry croissants, tasteless bread and DIY tea and coffee), such that we gave it a miss after the second morning.

On the whole, we can’t complain for what we paid (around 80 Euros a night), and wouldn’t be averse to staying there again…but I’m sure with a little more effort we could do better.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourmalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JParedesAlves, Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for having chosen Hotel Eduardo VII for your stay in Lisbon and for taking the time to evaluate us. We encourage our guests to evaluate us, so we can better serve them next time.

We are extremely pleased you enjoyed our location, as well as our rooms and some of its facilities.

As well, we respect your opinion in our walls, even though we rarely receive complaints about them and of our restaurant, which as has been said here before, is widely praised for its views on the 10th floor, and the quality of its breakfast for a standard three star hotel.

We hope we can count with your visit once more, so we can provide you a more pleasant stay next time.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Come on, what do you expect from a well placed budget hotel. My wife and I have just spent 4 great days and nights in this wonderful city and stayed at the Eduardo VII.
Yes, the rooms are small, the décor is tired, but the beds were comfortable, the staff were smart and polite, and always helpful. This started when the porter first greeted us when he saw us approaching the hotel with our suitcases, until the time we left and paid our bill.
Don't listen to fat Americans who expect the Ritz whilst only wanting to pay Travelodge prices.
These are the good points-:
VERY reasonable price, I booked through Expedia but all the web prices were the same.
Rooms cleaned each day, including towel changes.
Prices include breakfast, which contrary to other contributors was plentiful, hot, and set in very pleasant surroundings, it was self service, and included hot scrambled eggs, small sausages, or bacon, cereal, toast with any topping (Honey, butter, jam etc.), fruit juices, yoghurt’s, croissants, coffee/tea/chocolate with hot milk, and plenty of fresh fruit, there was no limit as to how many visits you made to the serving area.
The restaurant was also of a high quality as far as the evening meal was concerned, it was inexpensive and well presented in nice surroundings.
The only bad points as mentioned were that the place could do with a lick of paint, and the rooms are quite small.
There is a fridge, with a mini-bar, but buy your own wine/beer and keep it in the fridge to chill.
There are flat screen TV's in each room with 40 channels, many of them in English.
The buses stop just about outside the door and the if you fancy a walk you can walk to the restaurant area in about 15-20mins, if not just hop onto a 44.745 or 36 which are very frequent, and cost a flat fare of 1.50 Euro.
Oh yes, you can get the 44 or 745 bus from right outside the airport arrivals to right outside the hotel for 1.50 Euros, how cool is that. Don't get ripped off by cabbies, there is no need with such a great public transport system.
Lisbon is a well kept secret, it is cheaper than any of the other European cities which I've visited. As an example the coffees are about 2 Euros, and the wonderful pastries were about 1 – 2 Euros.
Most of the restaurants showed their prices outside, and we did not find that we were ripped off, but shop around, there's plenty of choice.
The main squares are vibrant and cosmopolitan, but expect to be harassed by some aggressive beggars, sunglasses salesman and drug dealers, but they will always go away when you ignore them,
There is a high presence of Africans and Indians, probably due to the countries once visited and taken over by the Portuguese. I did not see any violence or crime, and in general the city streets were very safe and clean.
Do what we did and purchase a 2 day yellow bus tour, the tickets can be used on all the public buses, lifts and trams, which as stated would normally cost you 1.50 Euro flat fare., so you see it's easy to get your money worth and get 2 great (hop on/hop off) tours of the city thrown in, you can then use the tickets for your return journey to the airport.

Get a bus map from the tourist office and simply get on and off using the 2 day yellow bus pass, we found that every town we visited was clean and friendly.
Use the old trams numbers 12 or 28, it's a great experience. Go to the docks, sit by the harbour, have a wine, look at the great statue of JC on the opposite hillside. Stop off at one of the many parks and have a coffee.
Why go to a zoo or museum, when there are so many free beauty spots.
As previously stated there is a high proportion of Africans and Indians which seems to lead to some aggressive begging and drug dealing, but just ignore them and they soon go away.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stevesenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelEduardoVII, General Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you so much for staying with us here at Hotel Eduardo VII, and after reading your review, i was delighted that you found your stay welcoming.

We hope to welcome you once more in the near futura.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Spent four days at this hotel last week; it was easy to get to via the airport shuttle bus, easy to find and very central for the metro and buses. It is a bit tired looking but it depends what you are looking for and what you expect to pay for that! Because of it's location, you can expect quite a bit of street noise, day and night. We don't go on holiday to spend much time in our room, so the fact that it was a bit 'worn' is of no consequence but it was exceptionally clean, the bathroom was modern and bed linen and towels were replaced daily, whether we asked or not. Tea making equipment is available, at no extra charge, just ask at reception. The staff were always very courteous, breakfast was very good, and to sit on the veranda, overlooking this wonderful city, was a delight. The restaurant experience in the evening was not so great, we waited a very long time for our meal, which was 'average' and the menu, which was uninspiring, remained the same for the duration of our stay. It was our first night and, as we arrived late, that was our reason for eating there, from then on we ate elsewhere and would recommend 'Confitiere Marques de Pombal' ( apologies for the spelling!) Where the dish of the day was always very good value for money.
Lisbon is a great place for a City break, public transport is excellent and very cheap- Transport for London take note. and I recommend buying a day ticket to avoid faffing about. It is fairly small so quite walkable, although there are some big inclines. We were fortunate to enjoy warm sunshine throughout our stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Europhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelEduardoVII, General Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam ,

The management of Hotel Eduardo VII are thrilled that you chose to stay with us here in Lisbon, and that you have found the experience satisfatory.

We hope to have the oportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

This hotel was a bit old. The biulding itself was old, ok! But the inside needs some refurbishment. The elevator was still the old type, where I felt a bit scared; the heater system was also too old; the bath on the toilet, and all the things in the hotel could be replaced, or at least repaired. Even being clean daily, the aspect of the room was a bit dirty if looked at the first glance. Although, the staff was very respectful, kind and helpful. The bar on the last floor has a great view of the city and it is very charming. A bit cold, though.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mila_mr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelEduardoVII, General Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Eduardo VII for your stay in lovely Lisbon.

Although constant updating and refurbishing of our establishment has always been a main concern of the management, we are a hotel with 56 years of operations in Lisbon, and we are aware that some parts of the hotel may seem out dated.

However, we always have and will continue to update the hotel without losing its classical identity.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2011

I've been in Lisbon many times and stayed at many hotels and think that this hotel has the best location and is the best value for money. Its location is perfect because it's really in the heart of the city and all transports, shops, malls, etc are very close.
The rooms are not big but very cozy and tidy, staff is very pleasant and they speak perfect italian at the front desk (although I speak English it made me feel at home) and the restaurant is very good with a magnificent view from the 10th floor.
I seriously don't understand why some people gave it such hard reviews...I've travelled all over the world and for this price and this location i can say it is just excellent!!!
Strongly recommend it!!! Either for business or leisure!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ale34187849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelEduardoVII, General Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Eduardo VII for your stay in Lisbon and we are delighted to hear that your experience has been a welcoming one.

We hope to see you again in the future, in order to better serve you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Residencial Horizonte
Residencial Horizonte
#194 of 248 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
#230 of 248 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jorge V
Hotel Jorge V
#182 of 248 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Avenida Park Hotel
Avenida Park Hotel
#189 of 248 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.0 mi away
VIP Inn Berna Hotel
VIP Inn Berna Hotel
#231 of 248 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
#215 of 248 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eduardo VII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eduardo VII

Property: Hotel Eduardo VII
Address: Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo 5, Lisbon 1069-114, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eduardo VII 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Eduardo VII reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eduardo Vii Hotel
Eduardo Vii Lisbon
Best Western Lisbon
Lisbon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing