We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Decor, Movie Star-Themed Rooms”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #112 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Northeast
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun Decor, Movie Star-Themed Rooms”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

A fun place to stay for a night and to start our vacation. Bed and room were comfortable; lobby very attractive in black and white motif. Movie star-themed rooms

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

We'd like to take this opportunitty to, once again, thank you for your stay.

We are glad that you liked your stay.

Please come back.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Hotel Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    533
    222
    47
    22
See reviews for
298
462
62
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We just got back from Lisbon and stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Location is great and is very close the old town and across from the bus tourist depot. Hotel staff is very friendly, breakfast was good (continental). The building next door is under renovation so there was hammering and drilling during the 5-working days. The bathroom had a funny smell. Will rate this hotel a three start not four.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear Mr/Mrs Lacatus,

Thank you so much for your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel, breakfast and staff.

We're sorry about the constructions on a nearby building, but they are almost finished (finally !!).

We truly look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Hotel Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Booked three room at the Florida for four nights at a very reasonable rate. The hotel was very clean and comfortable with a very relaxed atmosphere. the breakfast seemed expensive at 10 euros, but was well worth it - huge choice, very fresh, and the view from the breakfast room was wonderful, overlooking the Marquis de Pombal square. The reception staff were fantastic, particularly the dark-haired lady with glasses - she really went out of her way to find out train times etc. for us, and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.
The only disadvantage is that there is a limited number of restaurants within walking distance, but as we enjoy a walk after our evening meal this was not a problem for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliD9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your review.

You made the day for our team and specially Sónia, the "dark-haired lady with glasses".

We truly look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Hotel Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Found a deal for this hotel and from the previous reviews, I thought this hotel would be okay as I wanted a hotel in a good location. It was definitely central enough but the bathroom smelled like sewage from the drains. Same complaint from a previous review. The stench was so bad that i couldn't even take a shower as I couldn't stand being in the room. Stayed only one night and had to change to another to enjoy Lisbon. Despite the negative, the room was clean and the sleep was restful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natslam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for your review.

We apologise for not providing a perfect stay at our Hotel.

Our team is working to improve our conditions and give all guest the best stay in the city center.

We hope that, in the future, you can give us another chance to welcome you at Hotel Florida.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We stayed 3 days at this hotel. And the price was great for a 4 star.

The location was good because it is in the most famous square of Lisbon. However this is not the most popular square in terms of tourist attractions and restaurants etc. From that point if you like bing in the thick of things then the location is not the greatest. The metro is of course only a minute or two away.

The staff were very nice and helpful. We were checked in early despite the hotel being full. The breakfast at 11 euro was pricy and was not that great.

The rooms were large and beds comfortable. The toilet / bath was clean.

No free wifi which was a huge negative coming from a Madrid hotel which gave not only the wifi but free lap top as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shardha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Dear Sharda,

Thank you so much for your review and comments. We are truly grateful that you did enjoy our hotel service and staff.

Regarding the breakfast and wi-fi comments, we'll work harder to improve them and to serve you better the next time.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Hotel Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home Counties
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We split our stay, 2 days at Florida, one night away, then a third night at the hotel. The second room (622 be aware!) was smelly, had a noisy aircon and the builders started throwing rubble down a plastic chute at "goodness o'clock" the next morning. We arrived at the room.. it smelled of drains, complained & was offered an alternative. By which time (after opening the window) the smell had dissipated & we thought it would be OK. OOOPS big mistake. When we arrived back after a night out in Lisbon the smell was terrible & the aircon started made a banging noise every 30 mins -- we spent a lot of time waiting for it to go bang. Bad night. A shame as it is the 2nd visit to Florida (we were there last year) generally good, friendly & clean with a fab position. Book it but ask for room other side of building site & NOT 622!

Room Tip: Ask for room otherside of building site
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank CityBreaker57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Dear Guest (CityBreaker57),

Thank you for your review.

If, on one hand we are glad that you had a very nice first stay, on the other hand we feel sad that the second part didn't work so well.

We are now working on improving everything you mentioned on that room. Regarding the construction noise, it was coming from another building (not ours) and, fortunatelly they are almost finishing the noisy works. Your review was very helpful as we got these constructors to start working later in order not to disturb our clients.

Please accept our apologies for not having a perfect stay at this Hotel.

We hope that you can give us another chance to welcome you at Hotel Florida.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Hotel Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

fantastic fully equipped spacious big room with coffe maker. Very helpful staff, extremely close to metro & restaurants. Superb value for money. The interiors are done up in the most fascinating antique yet contemporary style Black & White. The rooms & interiors are themed after Old hollywood movies & actors.

Room Tip: Close to the metro & Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monalisa777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Dear Guest (Monalisa777),

We are delighted with our review and specially with the feeling that your stay at Hotel Florida was perfect. That's our goal.

Thank you for supporting us.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Hotel Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Lisbon
Clarion Suites Lisbon
#96 of 251 in Lisbon
652 reviews
0.0 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#24 of 251 in Lisbon
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
#114 of 251 in Lisbon
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marques De Pombal Hotel
Marques De Pombal Hotel
#45 of 251 in Lisbon
1,656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
#138 of 251 in Lisbon
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa
Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa
#135 of 251 in Lisbon
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Property: Hotel Florida
Address: Rua Duque De Palmela, 34, Lisbon 1250-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#72 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#82 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#87 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Florida 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm and Intimacy at this Stylish Lisbon Hotel With a convenient location near many attractions, Hotel Florida is a premier Lisbon boutique hotel choice. The hotel offers easy access to all parts of the city as it sits steps away from an underground station. Delightful and welcoming, guests will enjoy a true sense of retro style and design. Explore the historic city and return to delicious dining, comfortable and spacious guestrooms, and great service. Hotel Florida is a top Lisbon hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Lisbon
Best Western Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing