We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stressful not restful”
Review of SANA Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SANA Rex Hotel
Ranked #161 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“stressful not restful”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I went to stay at the Sana Rex hotel in Lisbon in Portugal, on the 28th August 2012, for ten days, as a solo traveller for relaxation. Instead I was given a room, which can only be described as the size of my kitchen, which had the bathroom and bedroom attched to the hotel room given to me. The room had two twin single beds, and a bath that can only be described as fit for a ten year old, as it was that small, and it was inconcievable for me to get into the bath as i am 5ft 10ins tall. When looking out of the window, the view was that of the back of delapatated buildings, despite the beauty of the country, whcih had been overshadowed,, by this vulgar view. When i went to breakfast the next morning, there was an ora of misery and sadness with the other guests, which by this stage was becoming clear as to why this was the case. The breakfast was that of a second rate bed and breakfast you would get on the Blackpool peir, with stale quoissants, very liitle fruit and limited fresh meat avaliable, and not of that of a hotel in the capital of beautiful country of a major tourist destination. When i came back into the space i was given as a room,, the cleaners had not dusted nor hoovered, I then pointed this out to the receptionist, who stated that this would be rectified, but by the third day, it became apparent that the reception staff were not interested in resolving this matter. On the point of the reception staff, it would be fair to say that their customer care skills, and politeness had been so poor, that I did not acknowledge the reception staff, as they disgusted me; it would be fair to say, the reception staff would be best suited working within the prison front desk, which funnigly enough there is a prison not ten minutes from the hotel. Overall the experience of the Sana Rex Hotel in Lisbon had been most disappointing, and far from being realxed, within the hotel. I realise when you go to a beautiful city like Lisbon, you would be out sightseeing for most of the day, but that does not exuse exceedingly small rooms, disgraceful hotel staff, poor cleaning, and below average food. Bearing in mind that there are lovely three star hotels in the central area of Lisbon, that are more than satisfactory. Unforturtnatley Sana Rex Hotel, is below a three star rating, and I would thoroughly recommend that you do not stay at this hotel,unless you prefer not to have good food, good staff, below average cleaning, and extremenly poor workmanship to the furniture,( cracked wardrobe, drawers not opening, cracked tiles in bathroom) and no relaxation within the hotel. I do hope that this hotel will be inspected again very soon, as this is in no way to treat customers that pay good money.

Room Tip: Since there is no guantee that you willl get the room you want, there is no point in stating what yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chips36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    188
    110
    34
    14
See reviews for
103
168
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Exellent location, clean room with nice view of the park. Quiet street. Breakfast was really good, considering the price. Nice, friendly staff. All over a great hotel experice, and we will definitely stay there again next time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed at this property for a single night, on a 3 - 4 adults suite. The going summer rate was actually quite good - many hostels had rooms which were shared and more expensive than ours!

Positive aspects:
- Clean and airy room
- Terrific views of the park and the city!
- Two nice balconies (one for each room), though could have at least a couple of chairs...
- Main room is quite big (per european standards)
- Minibar (useful to keep your beverages cold, not to consume theirs)
- Good (included) breakfast with fresh scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon (usually missing on hotels in this price range)
- Good location, close to the bustling center yet really quiet, with many affordable bars/restaurants around and extensive public transport options

Not so positive aspects:
- Second room has a convertible sofa with a pull-out bed. Good for one adult (or two kids), somewhat cramped for a couple
- Bathroom is tiny (they should definitely remove the bathtub)
- Wireless internet not included and ridiculously expensive (10EUR/day!!!)
- Beverages are expensive
- Somewhat dated decor (which they call 'classic')
- Not far from metro (less than 10 minutes), but not recommended for anyone with reduced mobility or elderly people since it is uphill

Overall recommended for the suite, but for single/double rooms there are better options around.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuilhermeOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel on the nights of 26/27 Jun , 01Jul and 06/ 07 Jul 2012. When I received my Credit Card statement I noticed a charge of Euros 7.00 dated the 14July 2012 which I requested explanation and reversal of the amount on my Credit Card for which I received a reply of "two beers consumed in the room from the Mini-bar". Up to now I can't remember seeing a Mini-bar in the room. Not a very clever reply.
I have stayed at this Hotel several times in the past, going back to the first time in November of 1993. I don't think I will go back to any Hotels of the Sana group.

Room Tip: Check the Mini-bar when you arrive and when you check out on the presence of a Hotel representative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armando42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Wakefield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Room with balcony overlooking park with views across the city, superb! Room was clean although not large but again we didn't come to spend the holiday in the room! Breakfast was excellent, can't understand other complaints unless of course you are looking for a fry up! 10 minute walk to metro, although not ideal for the elderly. All round excellent value for money (under £60 per night).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DimitriWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Hotel was within reach of the Aerobus stop, but walking through the park at night on arrival was a little spooky. It was completely safe, but you don't know that when you arrive in a new place.
Staff didn't fall over themselves to be friendly, it was just basic courtesy. The friendliest person was the door man when we left who got us a taxi without hesitation, shame it was the first time we'd seen him in 4 days!
Room was functional but hardly any room to move, we didn't even unpack our cases for a 4 night stay as there was no where to put anything, just a tiny wardrobe with 3 hangers. Main issue with the room on the first floor was the lack of light or view, the window opened onto a small patio, which you couldn't access and which was overhung by a concrete overhang, so could just see a building opposite if you crouched down, definitely no view of the park on first floor, maybe if you're higher up. Breakfast was plentiful and good choice, with fresh fruits and breads, cold meats and cheese etc, but avoid the hot items. For four days the scrambled egg was completely cold, even when just put out. The sausages had the sort of texture that dissolves in your mouth and bacon was strips of watery fat held together with strings of meat, yuck! Location wise we felt the hotel was in a great spot for taking the opentop tourist bus, but a 45 min walk back uphill from the main restaurant and bar area. Sunday night was really hard to find somewhere to eat locally to the hotel, many places were closed. We did find a fabulous Nepalese restaurant 10mins away behind the Four Seasons, open on a sunday and great food and service, very reasonably priced.
Overall, Sana Rex was ok but I'm sure there's better in the city for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for one second floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wizzymail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Friendly staff and a pleasant lobby and bar. Also offers a good buffet breakfast. Most rooms have a balcony with view on Parque Eduardo VII, a huge park downtown Lisbon. The Sana Rex hotel is conveniently located in downtown Lisbon only 5 minutes away from a main subway station (Marquês de Pombal) and the main city avenue (Avenida da Liberdade) which leads to the old part of town. The rooms are small with typical European small beds and the hotel is located on a small hill which can be annoying if you are walking.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtl-wasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.4 mi away
SANA Capitol Hotel
SANA Capitol Hotel
#61 of 247 in Lisbon
574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
#137 of 247 in Lisbon
456 reviews
0.6 mi away
SANA Reno Hotel
SANA Reno Hotel
#93 of 247 in Lisbon
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SANA Executive Hotel
SANA Executive Hotel
#98 of 247 in Lisbon
508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa
Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa
#130 of 247 in Lisbon
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Suites Lisbon
Clarion Suites Lisbon
#88 of 247 in Lisbon
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Rex Hotel

Property: SANA Rex Hotel
Address: Rua Castilho 169, Lisbon 1070-050, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SANA Rex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of Lisboa, near the renowned Parque Eduardo VII, SANA Rex Hotel takes its inspiration from the typically Portuguese spirit, offering a welcoming and traditional environment in each of its spaces: 59 rooms and 9 suites, reception, bar and restaurant for breakfast and groups. SANA Rex Hotel offers a fantastic view over the extensive green area of Parque Eduardo VII, the entire historic area of Lisbon and the River Tejo, which can be appreciated from one of the rooms with veranda or the panoramic meeting and events room. Near Marquês de Pombal, SANA Rex Hotel is just a short walk from the famous Avenida da Liberdade, the historic centre of Lisbon and the well-known shopping centres El Corte Inglés. The hotel’s privileged location allows quick access to access routes and public transport, with excellent connections to all points of the city of Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SANA Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Sana Rex
Classic Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing