We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly owners, great rooms and great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
Ranked #10 of 265 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and were delighted with Casa do Patio. We were upgraded to a larger room than requested, with two double beds, and found it tastefully furnished. The bathroom was large and had a narrow but modern shower. The central courtyard that the rooms come off is also lovely, and makes a great setting for breakfast - which itself deserves a mention for the range of food provided, freshly squeezed orange juice, and espresso coffee.

The owners were charming and extremely friendly, providing maps and advice regarding the area. Although the B&B is in a somewhat run down area, it is only a 10 - 15 minute walk to the heart of Lisbon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bitesizedthoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 726 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

A charming B&B with well maintained rooms/apartments set around a central courtyard. What makes this place exceptional is the individual attention given to ALL clients throughout their stay. Staff have a fantastic knowledge of local interests, attractions, restaurants and transport options and daily help with planning your day, all done in the friendliest of manners.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank JohnHutcheson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Casa do Patio was the best cost vs. benefit of my whole 3 weeks tour through Europe. I definetevaly stayed in better located and more comfortable one, but this one gives you everything you need to spend the night (comfortable bad and shower, clean and quiet room) in a very charming place, with a beatiful court (patio) with the room surrounding it.

In addition, the owner and the manager (Madga) as extremely nice and helpful (as all Portugueses, by the way) and they will do whatever they can to make your stay and our visit to Lisbon great.

Room tip: I stayed in a 2 floors apartment for 5 people, but in fact it is a one floor apartment with a mezzanine very close to the roof. I wasn't able to stand and my wife hit her head several times...no comfortable at all (although the bad was wonderful). There is no shower in the “upstairs" bathroom so all 5 people need to use the same shower in the ground floor

Location: the location is nice if you want to be close enough to the "buzz" and far enough from the noise (15 minutes walking to Chiado, where everything happens).

I do recommend Casa do Patio, I would stay there again, but not in the same room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriabreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

wonderful place to stay tucked away in an alley, close to the Santa Catarina Miradouro and Bar Nobu, for great sunsets. Charming staff and really enjoyed breakfast, (bring your own gluten free bread if needed) in the patio.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank 011anki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We couldn't have found a nicer place to stay. It was handy for the sights – a 3 or 4 minute walk to the tram stop and the Miradouro de Santa Catarina and less than 10 minutes to the top of the Elevador da Bica, which came in very handy a couple of times. Lisbon is hilly but we found we didn't have to do much trekking up hills thanks to Lisbon's public transport system. The restaurants and nightlife of the Bairro Alto were also close (and roughly on the same level).

Our room was tastefully decorated and very clean. And so quiet! The B&B is in a very quiet neighbourhood; as the roads are very narrow there's very little traffic going past. The only improvement I could suggest would be for an extra drawer, a few more coathangers and a hook for coats and one in the bathroom.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. On arrival we were welcomed with a glass of fresh orange juice which is most welcome when you've been travelling for several hours. They provided maps and plenty of suggestions for sights and restaurants/bars to visit, explained where to buy travel passes and catch trams from, booked a taxi and a restaurant for us and phoned a museum for its opening times on our behalf. The B&B has a central courtyard around which the rooms lead off. Guests were welcome to relax in the courtyard with a drink (there's an honesty fridge if you don't have your own).

We also had breakfast in the courtyard unless it was raining (and it did one morning!). I have to say the Casa do Patio put on one of the largest breakfast spreads I've ever seen in a B&B.

We would happily stay here again if we ever return to Lisbon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TuscanHoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

As the title implies this boutique style guesthouse is difficult to initially find (even for local taxis with directions in Portugese!) However, upon arrival you are given the warmest greeting and detailed information as to sights and sounds that would directly appeal to you during your stay. This is real customer focus, treating you more as a family member than as a concierge duty in a stuffy hotel.
The atmosphere is relaxed, verging on boho chic as befite the surroundings.
Rooms are within converted bungalows. The style is modern ecclecticism with whitewashed walls, modern/minimalist furnishing and garret style with beams (if upstairs) Nice decorative touches include old radios juxtaposed against angle poise lighting.
Breakfast is through to 10.30 am in the courtyard and is continental in style with a choice of different breads.
It's easy to walk to the Bairro Alto or Baixa from here or catch a tram to the castle and/or Alfama.
Part of the charm is thata the courtyard is shared with locals - so be prepared for baies crying and the boom of reggae music when outside. The rooms seem well soundproofed though and have air-con.
Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roccosdad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a great guesthouse. Set in a lovely private patio with all rooms leading off it. Enjoyed the peaceful patio at night with cold drinks to buy from the fridge for only 1-2 euros. Very friendly staff. Great room with English tv channels and the free wifi is very helpful for planning what to do or sending emails home.

It is a bit of a steep climb with bags up the cobbled streets but it is not far.

I would definitely stay again!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alison4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
#28 of 255 in Lisbon
504 reviews
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Tesouro da Baixa by Shiadu
Casa Amora Guesthouse
#2 of 265 in Lisbon
858 reviews
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
#14 of 265 in Lisbon
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Patio by Shiadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Patio by Shiadu

Address: Travessa do Caldeira 19 | Patio Das Parreiras Porta 20, Lisbon 1200-084, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $60 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa do Patio by Shiadu 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiadu Boutique Guesthouses started in 2007 and is a trademark for "refined" guesthouses, combining the provision of comfort and elegance with a customer service completely dedicated to each of its customers. In Spring 2011, Casa do Patio by Shiadu, the third Shiadu guesthouse, welcomed its first guests. "Wow!" Is the first thing you'll say when you come into the patio for the very first time! This is a wonder that you will not easily find because it is hidden and protected right in the heart of the Santa Catarina neighbourhood, 5 minutes walking distance from Chiado, Bairro Alto and the No. 28 Tram to Alfama. It is on this patio, called Patio das Parreiras, that you can every morning enjoy our delicious home-made breakfast, get all the tips and advice on how to uncover Lisbon and relax at the end of the day by savouring some typical Portuguese snacks... For your stay you have the choice of several options that range from a double suite to a family room or even an apartment with kitchen (lodging 2 to 4 people) with direct access to the patio or via one of the nearby buildings located next to the patio. You may be lost for choice when looking at the various options but with regards to customer service at Casa do Patio, there is only one possible option: a total commitment which will offer you a most memorable stay in Lisbon! Follow your instinct and we will be waiting.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa do Patio by Shiadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing