We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brown's Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The 7 Hotel(Lisbon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Behotelisboa(Lisbon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveler rating
432
381
103
15
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
381
103
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdocking stationfree coffee machineapple computersimac computershower doorexcellent locationceiling fansmall kitchenettepillow menubreakfast is servedsuperior roombaixa chiado metro stationkitchen areamini fridgecity breakenjoyed my staydouble bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 943 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Recently stayed in this hotel on 2 separate occasion, perfect location right in the centre of everything, perfect for someone wanting a city break, rooms were spacious enough for my needs and had a small kitchenette perfect for quick breakfast in the morning, small supermarket only 3 or 4 mins away, very modern design and real funky vibe to the place

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irelandemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed in this hotel with friends. Stylish, in a fab location and great rooms with ipads, macs etc. We got a fantastic deal on this hotel on booking.com - absolutely recommend to all. Free tea and coffee in the morning even if you didnt take breakfast too!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrownsDowntown, Gerente de relações com clientes at Brown's Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your nice words and scores about Brown’s Downtown Hotel.
The next time you come to Lisbon do contact us directly and have a special deal.
We hope to have you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This little jewel right in the heart of old Lisbon is a great value. For $100/night, we had a beautiful room with narrow balcony. The bed was very comfortable with a "pillow menu," which suitable this pillow princess perfectly. There's a little cooking niche with a little fridge, induction burners and a full complement of dishes for two which we used for coffee making and snacks and drinks. There's a complimentary Mac desktop and iPad as well as fast WiFi! What I did not expect in Portugal was the bounteous, healthy and delicious breakfast at the very nearby Brown's Café with yogurt, fruit, muffins and a good coffee selection - all fine quality.
The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Nothing was too much to ask.
The only tiny negative was a shower door that didn't close tightly, making a small pond with every shower.
We enjoyed every bit of Lisbon and 4 nights in this lovely gem was definitely a big factor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen582013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrownsDowntown, Gerente de relações com clientes at Brown's Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for such compliments about our hotel, our service and our staff.
We feel proud when our guests recognize our effort to offer them a memorable stay.
We hope to have you back in Brown’s Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

we stayed here for a 3 night city break, the location was brilliant, close to shops, restaurants and bars. We arrived early but were able to check in immediately, room was beautiful, clean stylish and modern. Staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly, they gave advice and called to book a restaurant for us. Free coffee machine was a welcome touch, there is a nice cafe to get breakfast nearby (Vittoras or similar name).
would recommend highly to all, would not hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 679bonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went to Lisbon for Optimus Alive and we chose the hotel for the location, to explore a bit of the old part of the city. The hotel was very nice, clean, the staff was amazing, it was very very close to Metro and tram stations, near Rossio and Santa Justa elevator (which is a must). It is about 500m away from Cais do Sodre train station which will get you straight to Optimus or, farther away, to the beaches (green line).
We arrived by plane at 8 a.m. and check-in is normally at 2:30 PM, but the staff was very kind an let us in the room at about 10:30 a.m., as soon as the room was ready, at no extra charge.
We chose the medium double room. The room was well equipped (it has even a kitchenette), no drainage problems in the shower, as I've read, and no funky smells. The bathroom was very small, but we didn't mind. We loved the furnishings, the devices (docking station, the iMac, but I found the iPad a bit useless since it's stuck to the desk, but I can imagine why :-) ), and even a working ceiling fan. Bed was extra comfortable.
There were no outdoor noises, the only downside was the room door is not properly soundproofed, and you could hear very well what was going on in the hallway (since we were right across the elevator entrance, room 215).
We booked the room with breakfast, for which they gave us some coupons. The breakfast is served right around the corner, at Brown's Downtown Coffee Shop, you can get it at any time of the day (which is excellent) and it was very very good.
The rooms are non-smoking, but most of them have tiny balconies, or you can smoke in the lobby.
Free wifi all throughout the hotel, free coffee and tea in the lobby, which also has a vending machine.
If you have any questions regarding Lisbon, you should definitely ask the staff, they were most helpful and kind.
We would stay here again, for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaBuraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews