We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brown's Downtown Hotel
Ranked #58 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Overall recommended, rooms a little small but isn't that always the way in old European cities? Fantastic reception staff.

A lot of high tech in the rooms; iPads, iPod docks, led tv but the shower leaks terribly. Seems silly!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jontysafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (866)
There are newer reviews for Brown's Downtown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 866 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

Set in a lovely building, in the heart of Lisbon, you could not ask for a better location. Our room had no view as it faced inward, but that was a positive as there was the Festival of Sant Antonio taking place outside and we wanted some sleep (as did baby!). The room was very comfortable and packed with gadgets, as described by others. The shower was amazing but it did dump water all over the bathroom floor. That should be easily fixable by Brown's. Our room was described as an 'apartment', as they had packed in a tiny kitchen area. Whilst the room was quite small, the kitchen area would be useful if you were staying longer. Overall the room felt quite cluttered.

The staff were extremely helpful, and the lobby is a very attractive area. No breakfast is included but they have a deal with their sister cafe around the corner. No parking included, we used a public one at "Mondiz". Flawed, but recommended and reasonable value. Would use again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TK1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

we stayed on the sixth floor suite and we enjoyed ourselves very much.
it is true, the bathroom is a mess after the shower, you can hear everything that happens nextdoor and the wifi was
not what they call "highspeed" .
but the vibe and location of the hotel along with the very nice staff made our stay very pleasant.
i can definitely recommed the hotel and i would book it again without hesitation.
the suite (602) was beautiful and stylish and if it were'nt for the internet and noise issue , it would have gotten
the full 5 stars. my 4 year old woke up at 7.30 am and he's not very aware of the appropriate daytime/noise ratio...
i hope the neighbours were deep sleepers...

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank erixxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

went there with my bf, we're 28. We had a small room on the 5th floor and it really wasn't small! The lobby is beautifully decorated with modern furniture and accessories and the staff were really nice and helpful. Our room was actually ready around 1pm, which is rare. The hotel was very clean. The room was also very well decorated, it had a tv, a computer, wifi, rain shower, a small table, radio, ipod dock, sink, small cook top, fridge - i don't know what more you could possibly need.
My only small small complaint would be that the mattress was in fact 2 small mattresses stuck together, but i wouldn't hesitate to return.
They also have a free coffee machine for guests in the Lobby.
Location - It's so close to the Baixa station and the lady at the front desk gave me the most helpful tip! If you walk through the metro station and go up all the escalators, you find yourself in Bairro Alto without having to make the climb by foot ;)
I loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Overall I enjoyed my stay at hotel browns Downtown. There were many positives, but a few important negatives that prevent me from giving this hotel five stars.

Positives:
Great location
Clean
Large bathroom
Awesome shower
iPads, TV, and apple computer in each room
Free espresso, hot chocolate, and tea in the lobby
Modern, comfortable lobby
Cute kitchenette with stove top, fridge, and mini safe

Of course there are so many more positives, like the cool lighting, pretty decor, and ample amount of mirrors in the room.

Cons:
There were really only two cons. First and most important was the bed. Myself and my friend both agreed that the bed was extremely uncomfortable. Neither of us slept well. There seems to be two twin beds pushed together that causes a hard ridge in the middle of the bed. It's so uncomfortable and prevents anyone from getting close. The bed was also really hard! I felt like I needed to sleep on top of the covers just to have a little cushion between my back and the bed.
The last con is that the doors do not prevent noise from entering. You can hear the person down the hall unlocking their door, and I had the misfortune of being woken up by the cleaning ladies talking loudly in the hall early in the morning. Every noise sounds like its in your room.

Overall my stay was great. The staff was extremely friendly, and helpful. The mood of the hotel is relaxing, and the location is excellent. I loved this hotel, but not sure I would come back due to the awful beds. If you don't mind sleeping on a hard bed, I would definitely recommend this hotel. It's more than worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

After a recent stay at Browns (our 2nd), 2 pieces of luggage needed to be forwarded to Gibraltar on our behalf. The UPS shipment tag we had arranged did not work. The staff at Browns has diligently worked with us via email to locate another shipper and handle all the details! Thanks again for a great stay and going above and beyond to help us with this issue.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Browns Downtown is a great little city centre hotel. The location is great being just off the main square, perfectly situated right between the two main tourist spots and a very short walk from the seafront where you can hop on the train/tram to local towns.

The hotel itself is very cool. The atmosphere in the reception area is lovely, just very relaxed to have a coffee and read a book. The rooms are excellent. A handy little kitchen area to keep food and drinks in to help make the time in the room more enjoyable. They have also provided iPads, iMacs and iHome audio systems in the room as well as TV screens so there's loads to keep you occupied. The 4 poster bed was excellent-very comfortable. The only negative is the bathroom and the lack of privacy. The bathroom is very small with only a sliding door to separate you from the bed. It's not a place to stay if you're a new couple.

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful though and cannot do enough to make the stay all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#32 of 254 in Lisbon
823 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#28 of 254 in Lisbon
912 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#49 of 254 in Lisbon
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Behotelisboa
Behotelisboa
#40 of 254 in Lisbon
336 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Vincci Baixa
Vincci Baixa
#54 of 254 in Lisbon
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Downtown Hotel

Address: Rua dos Sapateiros 69-79, Lisbon 1100-576, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#42 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#60 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $90 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown's Downtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brown's Downtown Hotel is the coolest hotel in Lisbon downtown. Staying in our hotel means to undergo singular sensations. The building dates from the XVIII century, but is completely rebuilt with contemporary lines and materials. The lobby combines pieces of well-known designers, good music and an informal reception. Trendy rooms, equipped with up-to-date technology. Brown's Downtown is design. Brown's Downtown is hi-tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brown's Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Downtown Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing