We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brown's Downtown Hotel
Ranked #64 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed at Browns Hotel in Lisbon for 5 Nights and it was good value for money. It is well situated in the walking district of Lisbon with access to all areas. The rooms were quite small but had use of an Apple Ipad and also a 26inch Apple computer which was very useful.. Property a little noisy as you can hear the walking on the floor upstairs but would stay here again if I visited Lisbon in the future.

Room Tip: No breakfast is available so you are only paying for the room. Ensure you get one of the larger ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Falcon-360dtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (914)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 914 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

We got a very good out-of-season deal on a double room. The hotel is stylishly decorated, very clean and in a great central location, and the reception staff are friendly. Each room has a computer, ipad and (rather patchy) wifi access.

There are a few design niggles:- the rooms are pretty small and there's very little space to store luggage (space is used instead for a kitchenette which I doubt many tourists make use of with so many cafes and restaurants nearby), the walls are very thin, and the shallow shower tray means you'll almost certainly flood your bathroom.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taistealai77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Firstly, the hotel is in an excellent location. Near to the centre and safe area. Secondly, the staff was very helpful and friendly. Thirdly, the designs of the lobby and the room are wonderful. Lobby is like a cafe, and they serve free coffe and tea and there are computers. And lastly, there are free Apple computer and Ipad in the rooms. What else do you need in a hotel. I think this hotel deserves 5 stars, not 3. And the mirror design in the toilet of my room is really funny :)

The negative sides of the hotel is, the air con was working a bit loud, and if you take a shower, not only the bathtub, but also the bathroom gets wet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Brown's is a very good hotel and this review will contain mostly positives but it wasn't an excellent stay.

Positives:
- Excellent location situated in the trendy and touristy Chiado area. We took the train from the airport and the walk with heavy luggage was just over 5mins. Surrounding the hotel were many restaurant options, souvenir shops and a mini supermarket.
- Staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke very good English.
- Pricing was good as we paid 100 euros per night for a small room.
- Excellent WI-FI connection in room. Also located in room was a Mac computer AND Ipad which was a little excessive.

Suggested improvements:
- We booked a small room as I couldn't justify paying more for only a quick stop over but geez it was a tight squeeze. To be honest the room was made smaller because of all the stuff crammed into there. What I mean by that is in a small room you've got: a double bed, bathroom, two side tables, a computer desk, suite case rack, a kitchenette AND a round coffee table and 2 chairs. Plus a low hanging plasma TV meant that my 6ft fiancé banged his head twice on it while trying to avoid hitting all the other stuff. The decor was great but there was too much 'stuff'.
- The shower floods if you're in there for longer than 5 mins. Despite having a large heavy door, the water managed to go everywhere if you're taking a bit longer to say; wash your hair.
- Lastly, on our 2nd night from around 1pm - 4pm there was a pungent sewage smell which seemed to be coming from the kitchenette sink. We didn't use it for anything and no food was in the room so I can't explain it but downstairs in the lobby; there was no smell so I'm not sure where it was coming from but for those 3 hrs; it was bad!

Overall should I return to Lisbon again I would stay longer and stay at Browns again. Depending on pricing though I would book a medium to large room. In saying that I would look around too as there seems to be a few options in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a medium to large room for stays over 2 nights or you'll risk walking into the furniture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AnhNguyen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

I arrived early and checking in was a breeze and I was given a very lovely room on the 4th floor that faced the back; however, I wanted to face the charming street and within 5 minutes I was given a beautiful street facing room on the same floor with a lovely long balcony and two sets large French doors. The room was more than comfortable for one or two: the room almost had everything that I would want in a boutique hotel small dining area for two, free Mac and IPad, excellent free Wifi, a small kitchen area with mini fridge, 2 induction burners, dish and glass ware, pots and pans, iron and ironing board, and for us non coffee drinkers an electric kettle ( perfect), but no microwave. The room also had a Mac computer and IPad with a nice work area and great free WiFi. The bed was very comfortable and linen was changed daily. The bathroom was tight but luxurious with marble floors and wall with a shower build for two; the shower was great except after each shower the floor would be flooded.

The hotel vibe was like a cool NYC boutique without all the attitude. The lobby was very comfortable and sedate but if you need to use a computer they were present.

The location was prefect on a small street that had limited car access; so it was very quiet yet you were minutes away from Rossio Square and metro with plenty of shopping, or Barrio/Chiado with another metro and great eating and shopping. Your close to the bustle of the Chiado, the restaurants and nightlife of Bairro Alto ( without the late night drinkers and noise), the upscale shopping of Restauradores, 20 minute walk to Alfama, the express airport bus stop is 5 minute walk, and the central bus and tram/trolley cars that will take you anyway including Belem ( which is a must).

If you want breakfast buffet or food in the hotel then this isn't the place for you; but you have so many options for breakfast seconds away for almost nothing and even a McDonalds minutes away, Brown Cafe, and Starbucks. Also, a supermarket was nearby to stock your refrigerator.

The service was wonderful: the entire staff was very English friendly, warm, and was highly professional. Also, the cleaning team was quick to provide extra towels and supplies.

The value is amazing and its truly a deal for the quality and location.

Pedro was so professional and charming he became my go to guy and made my stay incredible: he gave me tips on places to go that only a local would know, took seconds to provide wine opener when he was very busy, and more importantly he pre arrange for my 6:00am check out with printing my boarding pass, arranging for a 15 euro taxi pickup ( when the going rate is over 25), wakeup call, and itemize check out bill that's the kind of service expected a five star hotel. I traveled to over 49 countries and his attentiveness is rare in the hospitality industry.

At checkout it was very bittersweet, because, I wanted to stay at least another week. Brown's Downtown is my favorite hotel on my two month European tour, hands down, almost five star but six stars for value!

4  Thank OnefiveNine O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Superb location in central down town tourist area near to public transport, shops, restaurants and tourist sites. Staff extremely friendly and helpful when we asked about transport etc. Room was advertised as small and it was, only one person at a time could pass by at the bottom of the bed; but wonderful shower and clean bathroom, big comfy bed and useful things like kitchenette with all the things you could ask for such as cups, cutlery etc. Window had small balcony and nice French style doors as the air con seemed to be set on warm. Overall pretty near excellent, coffee in free machine downstairs is awful and that is the only fault we could find.

I emailed a request for some flowers for my wife's birthday, which were beautiful and were left on the bed with some towels made to look like a love heart on her birthday, which made her smile and that makes me happy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manxboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a small room, one night, for a 55 € deal, which was a bargain in the heart of Lisbon! The room looks very good, is comfortable and clean, high quality of the bed. Feels cosy. The hi tech issue, a mac computer and ipad, makes an impression, however they are not very useful, people who need a computer always bring their own. The bathroom is rather small, but spacious enough, and the shower in marble blocks is stunning, also very functional. Few small improvements can be made: A small selection of teabags next to the water boiler would be nice. Some of the artsy bits could be replaced with more functional stuff. (For ex. the mirror is somehow hidden, yet a few paintings occupy front stage space). Overall highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monica_i0ana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#35 of 255 in Lisbon
909 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#30 of 255 in Lisbon
970 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#51 of 255 in Lisbon
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#45 of 255 in Lisbon
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Downtown Hotel

Address: Rua dos Sapateiros 73, Lisbon 1100-576, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#60 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $82 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown's Downtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brown's Downtown Hotel is the coolest hotel in Lisbon downtown. Staying in our hotel means to undergo singular sensations. The building dates from the XVIII century, but is completely rebuilt with contemporary lines and materials. The lobby combines pieces of well-known designers, good music and an informal reception. Trendy rooms, equipped with up-to-date technology. Brown's Downtown is design. Brown's Downtown is hi-tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Brown's Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Downtown Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing