We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leisure and business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brown's Downtown Hotel
Ranked #61 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Leisure and business”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

A place to be.

Very cozy, modern, great location, wonderful for leisure as well as a business trip. Fully equipped mini-kitchenette, iMac and iPad (fixed to the table though lol), comfortable beds and shower.

All the hotel is made in soft colors, mainly chocolate. Very wooden as well, the room door reminded me of my closet door lol

It was so good that I've decided to stay one extra night! I will definitely stay in this hotel when I'm back to Lisbon!

Just a few steps from the hotel - the Brown's Coffee Shop, a great place to have breakfast and work on your laptop if you need to.

The only thing I didnt like were the lights on the floor - they turn on automatically when you enter it, sometimes you have to walk in a dark a bit before they are on.

Room Tip: the small DBL room is REALLY small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daria-nutella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao G, Gerente de relações com clientes at Brown's Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments.
We are happy to hear that you intend to return to Brown’s Downtown because you had a great experience with us.
We hope your wish come true and you come back to Lisbon, to our hotel. You will see that we took your opinion into account and made some adjustments to corridors lighting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    360
    89
    14
    8
See reviews for
69
503
72
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yerevan, Armenia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Right in the center of the town, with highly efficient and helpful staff, nice atmosphere, comfy, albeit smallish rooms, great shower, and a very competitive price, it's a perfect place for young single travelers or couples. Really a great place to come back to after a long walk exploring the city, or from a night out in Bairro Alto... just have a free coffee in the lobby, check your email (iMac and iPad included), and rest on a comfy bed.
The only downside, in case you care about that, is the the kitchenette is really tiny, and in my view, almost impossible to use, unless it's just tea that you crave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pataphysicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao G, Gerente de relações com clientes at Brown's Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for being our guest.
Your comments about our hotel let us happy, since you think Brown’s Downtown is the place to return and relax, after the excitement of the city or the night.
Hope to have you again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bourgas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We loved it! We were visiting Portugal last year October. I cannot believe I fount such treasure in the heart of Lisbon. The boutique rooms are great! The beds are amazing (we had two different rooms, we cut short our stay in Algarve to come back to Lisbon), there is a MAC in each room, flat screen TV... really very good! I recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: the rooms on top are bigger - the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portokalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao G, Gerente de relações com clientes at Brown's Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice words about our hotel.
We are pleased to know that you had a great experience with us and that you identify with our concept: a design, boutique hotel
We hope to have you back in Brown’s Downtown hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed 3 nights for a city break and it was perfect. It's in a great location in downtown Lisbon and just a minutes walk from the Metro and easy enough to walk to most places from there.

Reception area is very modern and has a relaxing atmosphere with free tea and coffee available at all hours. Excellent informative staff and free WiFi throughout.

I had the small room and it was plenty big enough, although I travel light and only had a small bag. The room was fantastic - lovely comfortable double bed (could be 2 singles), an iPad AND an iMac, nice decor and very clean. The room also has a small kitchenette which I thought was a bit needless but I guess some people may find it useful (hob, sink, fridge and kitchen utensils).

You could hear what was going on outside the room, but it didn't disrupt or awaken me in the night.

Another excellent choice thanks to TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leemwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao G, Gerente de relações com clientes at Brown's Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for being our guest.
We appreciate your comments on our modern facilities and are glad to hear that our hotel was an excellent choice for your stay in Lisbon.
We hope to see you again in Brown’s Downtown Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Wonderfull place. Stylish rooms, small but comfortable, good AC, great rain shower, decent loungie feel lobby. decent location, not far from retail, some street parking. Close to metro, walking distance to tram 28, bairro alto, chiado.
A couple of very friendly staff at reception who spoke excellent english too, when we didn't speak portuguese.
I recommend, as i'd likely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao G, Gerente de relações com clientes at Brown's Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your nice review.
We appreciate your recommendation and your wish to return to our hotel. Let us suggest the month of June, since the 13th June is the Lisbon’s holiday, with parades, folk festivities, street entertainment, etc.
We hope to have you back in Brown’s Downtown Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at Brown's hotel between 16 Nov and 18 Nov and it was a very pleasant stay. The room was comfortable with fast internet connection. Excellent location - next to Metro, Rossio, shops etc, can't really ask for more for this price. Extremely friendly staff and they were very helpful giving good travel advice.

The downsides were bathroom a little doggy. The bathroom was flooded after showering and the extractor fan wasn't working. Air con was a little noisy.

Really love this boutique and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao G, Gerente de relações públicas at Brown's Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.
It is nice to hear that you had a “very pleasant stay” at Brown’s Downtown Hotel, despite the downsides.
We hope to have you back in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Nice hotel and nice rooms with large bed and Ipad + Imac in every room with internet access.
Stayed there for 5 nights, had a medium size room (from the hotel categories, being small, medium or large). Great location, central for everything, metro, train, bus, restaurants.
Room was not the biggest and bathroom was definitely a tight squeeze and too small. Great shower though. Reception is great, they like the good music too and it is great to go down there with a bottle of wine, sit back and relax. There is a good ambiance and plenty of space to sit in comfy sofas.
Rooms are quiet noisy and you don’t want to talk too loud, you can hear everything and also people walking in the corridor.
We were on the 3rd floor and our room had 1 window/balcony, but the room lacked day light and was quite dark. The window/balcony was unfortunately facing the internal yard between the exit stairs and the restaurant next door and so no light coming trough and no sight to look at. People were smoking in other rooms beside us and it smelt like they were actually smoking beside you. the smell was either coming from underneath the door or the combined air vent. But these were just minor details. Oh yeah, we had no breakfast included in the deal and had breakfast a couple of doors down on Rua Augusta in Pastelaria Casa Brasileira every day, it was great and friendly people there. They have lots of pastries, you can get your breakfast for as little as 4 euros with 2 pastries, a freshly squeezed orange juice and a Bica (expresso).
Overall, I would definitely reuse this hotel and recommend it despite the minor details. For the price they charge, it is a great deal. Lisbon is great and Pastelaria Casa Brasileira definitely a place i would return if in Lisboa again. Try Cascais and Sintra, these are places worth visiting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao G, Gerente de relações com clientes at Brown's Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for being our guest.
We appreciate your comments about the reception of the hotel and regret that there were some details that let you down.
We hope to have you again with us, to give you an experience in a room facing the main street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#30 of 248 in Lisbon
774 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#52 of 248 in Lisbon
306 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Behotelisboa
Behotelisboa
#44 of 248 in Lisbon
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#28 of 248 in Lisbon
871 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#12 of 248 in Lisbon
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Downtown Hotel

Property: Brown's Downtown Hotel
Address: Rua dos Sapateiros 69-79, Lisbon 1100-576, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#42 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#60 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown's Downtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brown's Downtown Hotel is the coolest hotel in Lisbon downtown. Staying in our hotel means to undergo singular sensations. The building dates from the XVIII century, but is completely rebuilt with contemporary lines and materials. The lobby combines pieces of well-known designers, good music and an informal reception. Trendy rooms, equipped with up-to-date technology. Brown's Downtown is design. Brown's Downtown is hi-tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brown's Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Downtown Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing