We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brown's Downtown Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$309
$289
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$179
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras(Lisbon)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$254
$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$318
$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$406
$394
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Principe Lisboa(Lisbon)(Great Value!)
$150
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$138
$122
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$167
$142
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveler rating
432
381
103
15
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
381
103
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdocking stationfree coffee machineapple computersimac computershower doorexcellent locationceiling fansmall kitchenettepillow menubreakfast is servedsuperior roombaixa chiado metro stationkitchen areamini fridgecity breakenjoyed my staydouble bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
406 - 411 of 943 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Good location near Baixa-Chiado metro stop. Rooms come with kitchenette, Mac computer and iPad docking station. The only thing that they could fix is the hand held shower. It is hard to use and not soak everything in the bathroom for lack of a shower curtian. It is a short walk to Barrio Alto (hint) use the escalators inside the metro station, reaching the Chiado district saving walking up hill.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twobyte2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao G, Gerente de relações públicas at Brown's Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for being our guest and for your comments.
We hope to see you again in Browns Downtown Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in Brown's DownTown Hotel for 3 nights back in September. We booked last minute and were not disappointed in the slightest. The hotel is beautifully decorated with a really great vibe.

We chose the 'small' room but there was still plenty of space. The bathroom was compact but functional with an amazing power shower. The room included air-con and a small kitchenette with fridge which came in handy. The added extras of the Mac computer and iPad with dock were really useful (with free wifi), especially for booking our hotels for the next part of our holiday. Coffee was available from the free vending machine in the lobby.

The location is excellent - literally 2 minutes walk from the Baixa-Chiado metro stop, within walking distance to the Barrio Alto area and Rossio train station. There are loads of restaurants close by for lunch and dinner.

Because of the hard wood floors we could hear people walking around in the room above so this might be a bit annoying if you're a light sleeper but I wouldn't let this put you off though. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xena82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao G, Gerente de relações públicas at Brown's Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for your comments.
We are glad to hear that our hotel has met your expectations and that you would stay with us again.
We hope you come back to Lisbon and book again with Brown’s Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed in browns last weekend in October, perfect location for exploring Lisbon, in the area where shops are, near trams etc and in-between castle area and the spot for nightlife barrio alto.

Has a very hip lobby area with loads of magazines which is lovely to relax in, vending unit offers free tea and coffee. Other vending unit has others bits including beer, which is handy if you get back late, but isn't complenmentary.

The only drawback with the place is that the room and bathroom are slightly on the small side.

The restaurants near hotel were a bit ordinary, best go somewhere else.

Beware taxis from the airport all rip you off, it should be no more that 15, we got hit for 25, he span us a line about it being a fixed fare which is bs.

Overall Lisbon is well worth a spin, I did two nights you could do with three.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xtrahotvindaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao G, Gerente de relações públicas at Brown's Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank your for choosing Brown’s Downtown Hotel for your stay.
We are glad to hear that you have appreciated our lobby athmosphere and the central location of our hotel.
Let us suggest you to come back to us for another short stay in Lisbon, and get to know a little bit more of this charming city. E.g. June is the month of Lisbon festivities (13th June - local holiday), with fully exciting events.
Hope to have you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great location, ideal for sightseeing and restaurants, but funky design means some practical issues. Air con - is not. Switched to heat by staff even though room was stifling! Shower leaked in all rooms, musty smell in bathroom. Fix the quirky designer issues and a great hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao G, Gerente de relações públicas at Brown's Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your comments.
We try our best to offer different experiences to our guests. We regret that some issues did not work properly during your stay, so we will try harder. Let us just explain that, as to the air condicioning system, due to a sudden drop of the Lisbon’s temperature a few days before, we adapted the temperature to give more comfort to the hotel. Unexpectedly, the temperature in Lisbon changed again a couple of days after. Now, climatization is accurate.
We hope you come back again in Browns’s Downtown Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Located right in the centre of downtown Lisbon within easy walking distance of most attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel from lobby to room had a lovely comfortable and relaxed feeling to it. I dont really understand from other reviewers about the size of the room as ours was plenty big enough and we have had smaller rooms on previous trips and paid a lot more? Our room came with a Mac computer (which we didnt use) and a Ipad on a great docking station (which we used a lot!). Free coffee from the machine in the lobby was a nice touch as we spent most mornings of our stay waiting for our friends to appear! Two minor negatives which didnt really bother us were bottle collections at 1.00 AM and a leaky shower but look around at other hotels in the area and your euro goes a lot further here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harv52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao G, Gerente de relações públicas at Brown's Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your comments.
We are glad to hear that you have felt relaxed in the athmosphere of our hotel. We believe that besides design and decoration, our music also contributes to that feeling of comfort.
Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again in Browns Downtown Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews