We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting food so so service”
Review of Pharmacia

Pharmacia
Ranked #343 of 4,183 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Ross Ca.
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Interesting food so so service”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

There is nothing wrong with the food at this restaurant. It's fine and very well thought out. The problem is the service ( or lack of it) at times. We had a long wait to get a menu. A long wait to order. A really long wait to get our wine ect. Ect. Ect..overall our dining experience was OK, but if the service was better it would have been a five star ,
Meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JdogRossCa.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    612
    208
    91
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place lives up to the other reviews, the styling is unique, I have never seen a restaurant like that, with old pieces from hospitals in the 1920's-1950's era.

The food was very good, the portions were adequate, and the selection was quite nice.

Serivice was fine, and even though it was slightly expensive for Portugese standards, it is still cheap for what you get, and in analogy for the rest of Europe.

I must try in my opinion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kleisthenis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor service, cold food”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Went to Pharmacia due to proximity of hotel and view. View over the river is amazing. Ordered 3 tapas items. Each supposed to be hot, each came out cold. Kinda gross. Waitstaff not really helpful when asked for a recommendation. Essentially just ommmm for about 10 seconds and threw a dart at the menu. 3 stars solely for the view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was the best food we had in Lisbon! We went to Pharmacia twice. The first time we had the surprise menu, which we loved and was not really expensive (28euros for 5 plates and dessert) and the second time we tried the tapas. The only thing we didn't like was that we did not have time to go for a third time! The decor was very interesting and we had absolutely no problem with the stuff and the service. It was one of the best food experiences we ever had!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdwinaM0nS00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely evening out”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

what a single restaurant can do for the neighborhood in a small -palacete- on a hidden lisbon square overlooking the tagus river
this worn out area is now visited by many foreign tourists recently and was recently all repaved and cleaned
the restaurant is located at the headquarters of the portuguese pharmacists association
decoration, utensils , water bottles all last century pharmacy inspired
the menu is traditional portuguese plates served in tapa type portions
what about chick peas with cod, duck croquettes with marmalade, breadsoup from the alentejo region waiters fun and explain well how many tapas to share , sequence of the serving of the plates in the chef's discretion so you may get your meat before the fish but that's part of the deal prices are moderate for both food and wine and the public trendy making it part of the fun
lisbon can be windy in summer also and the evenings cool off so if you prefer to be seated in the garden bring a sweater

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cees0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pharmacia also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Pharmacia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing