We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Independente Hostel & Suites
Ranked #31 of 468 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely the Best”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is the best hostel I've stayed with in Europe. It's clean, comfortable, and elegant. Almost more a hotel than a hostel. They've clearly spent a lot of time thinking about the details for their guests. The restaurant downstairs is excellent - unlike most hostel restaurants it draws a huge amount of locals.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BassMcConners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    130
    29
    18
    12
See reviews for
24
115
124
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We've spent our honeymoon in this hotel and will ever consider it as a valuable souvenir from Lisbon. The atmosphere was very cosy and friendly, the people in the reception very helpful, the suite and all the establishment very stylish. Rustique without being posh. The construction of the suites was completed a few days before our staying and a few details were missing but I'm sure that the young, traveller, very gentle owner with whom we had a great discussion heard all our complaints and will have fixed everything. Kind of him to buy us drinks in the bar of the hotel which regularly attends well selected live performances. The restaurant is awesome and popular amongst young locals. The majority of the attractions or the public transport to reach them are in walking distance. Just next to Barrio Alto, I could not spot a better location to stay in Lisbon after the 4 days we've spent there. The review reffers absolutely to the suites of the hotel and not the dorms. Suites are not cheap but they often have offers. Ask a suite with the river view. Breakfast was decent. Choose it mostly for the location, the atmosphere, the indoor bar and the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great place. We stayed in a suite for EUR 110 per night and it was worth it. Staff were very professional, attentive and kind. Great atmosphere, great location. Only complaint was the breakfast was very repetitive. It was the same thing every day!

Room Tip: Suite 3 has great views and is less noisy than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Independente is where the cool cats hang out. Set in a beautifully restored old building, tastefully decorated and offering all the conveniences you need in a hostel. The common areas are spacious, clean and well equipped (there's a washing machine!)

I stayed in a female dorm on the 3rd bunk. The room has high ceilings so it wasn't an issue. Perhaps a little intimidating at first, but I really enjoyed the experience. My room had a balcony with a glorious view and morning sunshine, a great way to wake up.

The breakfast was generous and better than what you get at some mid-range hotels.

The staff was super friendly and helpful. The cocktail bar and restaurant on premises are top rate. It's worth a visit just for dinner. Of course it will cost as much as a nights stay, but 20EUR is a bargain in either case.

The location is unbeatable and the place draws a fun, eclectic crowd of people. There are also suites on the top floor and along with the restaurant clientele it's a great place to mingle and meet like-minded people.

If you've ever stayed at the ACE anywhere in North America, The Independente has a similar vibe and pulls it off effortlessly. Well Done!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juli Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great Location, friendly staff and nice design. We stayed at the suites and for the value and views it's really worth it. The Decadente Restaurant is really good, fantastic food with interesting price

Room Tip: Suites are a good bet, impressive views over Lisbon and being on the 3rd floor there are no problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Picao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This hostel is very impressive - it's located in the old Swiss embassy building. Beautiful architecture and interior design. Great amenities and friendly, helpful service. Everything is very clean and spacious. The beds are one of the most comfiest we've had in hostels. And they're also pretty cool in the dorms - triple bunks!

Initially, we were totally in awe of this hostel: it seemed like a hotel. However, a huge downside of this place is that noise pollution is so bad that you can't sleep. We're used to noisy areas to sleep in and can sleep pretty much anywhere, but this place takes the cake for making it actually impossible to get some shut-eye. The hostel is located on top of a restaurant/bar, which is great to eat in and hang out. It also has great music, but this music is played so loudly that it literally vibrates through to your bed. The hostel has incredibly poor (noise) insulation in the floors and walls, which means that it feels like you've got the party downstairs and your neighbours in the other room right beside your bed. The noise only goes down to an acceptable level after about 3AM. This didn't bother us when we went out, but when you have to catch a flight at 7AM and actually need to go to bed a little earlier, it's impossible to sleep.

We'd only recommend this hostel if you also intend to party yourself, as you won't be bothered by the noise by the time you get home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank coconut_hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Independente. We were looking for a stylish, boutique hotel, in the centre of Lisbon on a relatively small budget. We therefore could not stay in a hotel of equivalent quality as it would cost around £150 per night. Staying in a hostel 'suite' meant that we could bring the cost down whilst still staying in a quality, stylish place. By staying in a suite we still had the benefit of an en suite which was important to us as a couple in our mid 20s.

The hostel itself was so cool!!! Beautifully decorated and adorned with vintage furniture and accessories. At night the bar and restaurant on the ground floor attracted the local bohemians which is always a good sign. There was a real buzz in the place, especially in the evenings.

I cannot speak highly enough of most of the staff. In particular Manuel (customer relations manager) was fantastic. He gave us a real local guide of where to eat and where to go out. Every one of his recommendations was spot on. He also went out of his way to go and buy a fan for us which we appreciated. The only member of staff that let them down was a young girl (can't remember her name), who was not very smily or friendly on numerous occasions.

Our room was beautiful too. With exposed wooden beams, a large bathroom and the highlight being the veranda/roof terrace. The room did get pretty hot however. We were informed that there was air con being put in soon (worth checking).

The location was awesome! At the top of the Barrio Alto area it is close to all the best restaurants, shops etc. Still in walking distance of the castle and waterfront. There was a beautiful viewpoint of the city right on the doorstep of the hostel which they don't even mention on the website. It is a perfect place to relax and admire an amazing view of the city after a day of walking.

I would certainly have no hesitation to advise any sort of traveller to the Independente. Do not be put off by the term 'hostel'! We have stayed in hotels in Lisbon for more money which were nowhere near as good in any way!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HCTM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 468 in Lisbon
268 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Destination Hostel
Lisbon Destination Hostel
#11 of 468 in Lisbon
761 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisb'on Hostel
Lisb'on Hostel
#41 of 468 in Lisbon
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 468 in Lisbon
566 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#8 of 468 in Lisbon
530 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 468 in Lisbon
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independente Hostel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independente Hostel & Suites

Property: The Independente Hostel & Suites
Address: Rua Sao Pedro de Alcantara 81, Lisbon 1250-238, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre , Encarnação
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 468 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Independente Hostel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built to become the Swiss ambassador’s official residence at the start of the previous century, this fantastically located palace – right in the centre of the Bairro Alto and Principe Real districts - is now assuming a new life as it marks its centenarium. 90 beds spread across 11 dorms with its impressive floor to ceiling heights as well as the abundant size that all rooms boast offer guests the opportunity to enjoy a private lounge within every room where they can relax and share stories and experiences with fellow travellers in unique and inviting comfort. Four very special suites, with private balconies which overlook the Tagus River, where guests can enjoy their breakfast free of charge, compliment the accommodation options offered and will surely embellish your stay with us in one of the world’s oldest cities. The Independente Hostel & Suites also offers a fully licensed bar and restaurant as well as a secluded beer garden for hot summer days. The typically Portuguese cusine well as a secluded beer garden for hot summer days. The typically Portuguese cusine with a modern twist set amongst an art-déco environment open to both the international traveller and the Lisboeta – the Portuguese word for a Lisboner – will surely create a melting pot of different cultures and lifestyles worth every minute of your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Independente Hostel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing