We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roomy - not so comfortable or clean though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lisbonaire Apartments
Ranked #9 of 484 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed here after reading the NYT review. It was definitely roomy - but didn't feel so clean or comfortable. First, there are a TON of flies - EVERYWHERE. In the hallways, we killed a bunch in our apt. The location is fairly good - felt a little off the beaten path for coming home late at night though. Was great for the cost however - a lot less than the hotels nearby - and more space. Good value, but might not stay again due to comfort and location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuno P, Proprietário at The Lisbonaire Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2015

Hi,

By guest request and in order to improve comfort and quality, the Lisbonaire has since introduced free daily cleaning for all apartments.

Best regards,

Nuno Pinho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for The Lisbonaire Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 508 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed for 2 nights in Lisbon in May, I had high expectations of the Lisbonaire Apartments and was not disappointed! All of door codes are given to you in an email before arrival so that you can let yourself in, both myself and my partner not really ones for gushing with delight were walking around our apartment (Apartment A) saying 'WoW' for a good 5 minutes.

The location for us was perfect, probably not so good if you've got bad knees as it's about 200m up the Rua Gloria, which is a very steep hill, but it's only a little way up and we didn't find it a problem.

If you're a vegetarian/vegan I highly recommend visiting Terra, it was expensive for a buffet (50 euro for two including wine) but it was delicious, really delicious and I would go back! We also recommend a ride on Tram 28 and A Ginjinha for a shot of sickly sour cherry goodness.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rahsberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night visit to Lisbon. I found The Lisbonaire Apartments online and chose to stay there, encouraged by the nice reviews. The location is great. Right off of a main street, and just a few blocks away from a hop on hop off bus stop. We rented a one bedroom apartment...perfect for 2 adults in the bedroom and 2 children in the den area where the couches convert into beds. Clean and pretty comfortable beds. Free WiFi was very nice too. We arrived very early...too early to check in. Miguel, the manager, sent an email with instructions how to get into the building (pin code) and told me where the storage room was. We were able to put all our bags into our own room/closet, lock it and keep the key with us until we came back for check in. I would definitely stay at the Lisbonaire again and I would definitely recommend this property to others. This is not full service at all...you will be told this when you book. You will probably only see the manager at the desk during check in times. I wished a couple of times that I could've asked someone there for restaurant recommendations...but this was not a problem at all. Very nice stay for us.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Arrived from Australia for 3 nights. This is a fantastic place to stay. Very clean and well equipped with seperate bed room, bathroom and kitchen area with small table. The bed was comfortable and we had a great stay - just what we were looking for. Location is fantstic but it is a bit tricky to find when you first arrive. Miguel was fantstic and I highly recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We loved our stay at The Lisbonaire Apartments. Our apartment was extremely spacious and had a very contemporary design. The location of the apartment is good, in close proximity (walking distance) to all of the sights, especially the bars in Bario Alto. The apartment was clean and very comfortable. We would recommend this as a fantastic place to stay when visiting Lisbon.

The only thing that could be improved is by adding an extra mirror to the bedroom and improving the light in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrismartinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

After 36 hours of travel (straight from Sydney) we were really pleased to have so much space in the apartment. The Lisbonaire is perfect if you're traveling with kids, and you can NOT get a better location! Everything is within walking distance!
My big tip- buy the double decker bus ticket first, it gets you on tram 28, the funiculars (trams that go up really steep hills), and the Santa justa lift, also 30% off the ticket to get into the castle. After buying a ticket we took tram 28 to the castle (get there before 12 or the line gets really long) then we did an Alfama self-guided walking tour (I just googled it) and then caught the bus tours (by then the kids were tired, so happy to sit onthe bus).
There is a good supermarket 5 min walk away and HEAPS of restaurants nearby.
Lisbon is a fantastic city and the Lisbonaire makes you feel like a local!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoiltkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

When we walked in, we couldn't believe how good the room was considering the price.

The bed was very comfy, the room had a fully self contained kitchen and the bathroom was very clean. I liked how the room had a pin for entry (easy to remember as its digits from your mobile number).

We loved the entertaining area downstairs in the basement. There is a fridge full of beers & soft drinks (with an honesty box), pool tables, lounges and a huge TV. There is also a sound system so you can plug in your iPod etc.

The apartments are very quiet (we didn't see or hear any other guests) and the location of this place is unbeatable.

Do you need more convincing? book it, you will LOVE it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiefytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#29 of 254 in Lisbon
1,113 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 254 in Lisbon
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 254 in Lisbon
605 reviews
Britania Hotel
#5 of 254 in Lisbon
2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lisbonaire Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lisbonaire Apartments

Address: Rua da Gloria 16, Lisbon 1250-116, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 484 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: $88 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lisbonaire Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lisbonaire Apartments embodies a new way to visit Lisbon. Located in a quiet street in the heart of downtown Lisbon, a short stroll from Chiado, Bairro Alto or the Castle, The Lisbonaire Apartments are your ideal starting point to visit or work in Lisbon, with the subway a few steps away and numerous sights, monuments, restaurants, theatres and bars immediately at your doorstep. The 1960s building was fully rebuilt in 2011 and each apartment has the contribution of a Portuguese designer, which invokes a specific object or place from the surrounding area, making the apartments unique and special. The Lisbonaire boasts 19 studios and one bedroom apartments, fully furnished and decorated, subject to the idea of 100% Portuguese, with all the must-have utilities such as Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations in every apartment. With prices starting from 30 euros per person, the apartments are an economical, spacious and practical solution if you are visiting, working or travelling with family. We can provide your apartment with a push chair, high chair, cot and toys upon request. Our aim is to welcome and inspire all visitors to discover the traditional and contemporary Lisbon and all the small things that make it so unique. Come and visit us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lisbonaire Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing