We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Ranked #10 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Delightful Hidden Gem”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Ideally located on a quiet street of the Bairro Alto, this quaint bed & breakfast has everything you may wish for: very friendly staff, available 24/24 for helpful recommendations and pieces of advice; lovely rooms, not very big, but full of light and tastefully decorated (some have great views over Lisbon and a tiny balcony); a welcoming lounge and delicious, healthy, abundant breakfast. Last but not least Casa das Janelas' location is perfect, the area is lovely, a mixture of atmospheric bars and restaurants, smart shopping and in walking distance of all kind of public transport.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are the best, the house is old, hence charming, but not that well insulat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJML1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    95
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
57
269
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

stayed here last week without the kids, initial welcome set the tone, guys on reception offering a drink prior to any kind of check in. Breakfast and late evening drinks always felt personal in the communal 'dining / relaxation room' Location excellent heart of Barrio Alto but on a quiet street that felt silent (compared to surrounding hustle and bustle). Happily rebook here especially as even when I spilt a whole cup of coffee on the reception table whilst checking out it was still met with a helpful smile - not sure i would have managed that at 7 am. The look is very thrown together contemporary which done as well as this has not been thrown together at all but very well thought out and implemented. Rooms by comparison are utilitarian and a little basic but in this part of town you don't spend much time in the room and they work well enough.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Sublime hotel in the heart of the city, delightful attention to detail interior design and a high level of service.

While I was in Porto I was pick pocketed and when i was checking out the manager refused to take my money. I thought this was a lovely gesture and has really stayed with me.

The breakfast was delicious, the room and view were stunning, my stay was faultless.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or view it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tictactamtam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The hotel has an incredibly nice interior design (industrial chic), young and friendly staff, good breakfast buffet and is nicely located in the Barrio Alto neighborhood. Our room (cheapest category) was small, but beautifully decorated - the bathroom was huge and nice, too. To be recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anmulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I never get around to posting tripadvisor reviews, but this stay was so perfect it seems worth the bother. We sadly only stayed one night on our way to Alejento but our stay was totally faultless and an absolute bargain. In short, the hotel is simply and beautifully decorated, the staff very friendly and helpful and the breakfast delicious and plentiful. The staff were completely lovely the whole time and were helpful enough to book an excellent restaurant for our evening meal. The room (one of the smaller, cheaper ones) was clean, bright and quiet and the shower was amazing and the bed comfortable... need we say more? The location is great too, a little bit away from the tourist traps but still in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njones1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was our first stop in Portugal as part of a one week visit continuing on to Madeira. Staying in Bairro Alto made us feel like locals. The desk staff is very sweet and welcoming (Jorge in particular) and we had a nice evening staying here. I know I will come back and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterJMurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The staff were very welcoming and reception is manned 24 hours a day. When you get home late, they will serve you a nightcap, if you want!
Room 6 was huge, quiet, comfortable and clean and we could see the river.
The breakfast was great with lots of choice and local breads. Even espresso!

Room Tip: We were in room 6. Quiet, big and great shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie_1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanelascomVista, Gerente geral at A Casa das Janelas com Vista, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Valerie,

Thank you very much for choosing us to spend your vacations in Lisbon.
We feel privileged that you have given us the trust to be part of your holiday memories, and for having set-aside some time to tell us about your holiday experience.
Despite your comment was short, was extremely good and we will surely help us to continue providing good experiences to our future guests.
I Hope that you will give us the pleasure of having you to our guests again in the not so distant future.

Best Regards,

Luis Castro Caldas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
2,297 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
572 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#6 of 248 in Lisbon
898 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 248 in Lisbon
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Casa das Janelas com Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Casa das Janelas com Vista

Property: A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Address: Rua Nova do Loureiro 35 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200-293, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — A Casa das Janelas com Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each room at Casa das Janelas com Vista is unique and has its own individual decoration: the yellow iron table, the hand-painted wardrobe, the velvet chaise longue, and the old armchair, etc. as well as bright and spacious bathrooms, perfumed with refreshing essences. Everything is tailor-made, full of charm and specially designed for you.The kitchen is an open, informal place and a meeting point in which to start the day with breakfast around a large table. The living room, which is next to the kitchen, is a pleasant and very bright space that also has a small terrace. You will find a place to relax, read, talk, or enjoy a good Portuguese wine along with a portuguese cheese board. The living room and the kitchen can be rented for small one-off events, presentations or parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your A Casa das Janelas com Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing