We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps style over substance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Ranked #15 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The stylish interiors were great and I had the best night's sleep; the bed, pillows and linen were excellent. But. The door of the shower didn't close to the correct position, so it flooded the floor outside. (You don't expect to get in a shower and have to pay minute attention to closing the door properly, and I would guess it was only a centimetre off.) Similarly, the cold tap of the bidet leaked at the base, going onto the floor, so the very stylish bathroom was not without issues. The view from my (streetside) room was dismal, overlooking a ghastly modern building rather than pretty Bairro Alto houses, but it was quite a relief not to be overlooked by inhabited buildings as the gauze curtains and the bathroom blind didn't feel very private, and there were no shutters on the bathroom. The 'small' courtyard was the smallest I've ever seen, the depth of a small bistro table, enclosed by very high walls, so there was no incentive to sit outside. You have to ask for a TV to be in your room, ahead of time.The breakfast was ok, but in my other hotel (less than half the price) we had had croissants, so I was disappointed not to have them here. And the Wifi code I was given didn't work; I was assured that there was wifi on my floor (first floor; it's only available up to the first floor). It was my last night, and I didn't raise any of these issues with the staff, but I think they were fairly valid. The interiors are amazing, decor straight out of an interior design mag, but there were too many niggles for me to feel it was worth the money.

Room Tip: Don't bother with a street-side room, though it'll cost you more to have a view. Close your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leonie_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanelascomVista, Guest Relations Manager at A Casa das Janelas com Vista, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

First of all thanks for choosing Casa das Janelas com Vista and also for your honest comments as it is very important to us that all guests share their opinion about us, because only with critics (positive and negative) we are able to improve our service. Although, we are sorry you didn't had a nice stay as most of our guests have.
Regarding your critics:
- About the shower and bidet, we are sorry about these situations, but we only noticed the following day and it was fixed immediately;
- Our adds are very clear regarding the views from the rooms. You have booked the Standard Room with Street View;
- Yes, our terrace is small but we never have advertised it was big. This is more used by the smokers, although we do have guests that enjoy to drink a glass of wine at the end of the day there;
- The concept and design of our Hotel does not contemplate TV in rooms, but if you request one in 5 minutes we will put it up;
- We do not have croissants but we do have homemade cakes, fresh and sweet orange juice, fresh fruit...;
- You should have confirmed the wifi password, as the receptionist might have made an honest misspelling mistake. Very, very soon we will have Free Wifi Internet in all floors.
Despite it all, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we really hope to see you again soon at Casa das Janelas com Vista, so you can see our changes and improvements.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 511 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Due to a Zeit-recommendation we booked this Hotel. I Tell you what, this is exact the One we wanted. Just not room 4 again my spouse deceided. We did Not Miss our tele Brause of the Family like living room in the basement.just ASK for dinningout recommendation around the corner. You wont be dissapointed by the staff's gibt's!
Five them a try, when in town, you'll Love it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonny-A-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanelascomVista, Guest Relations Manager at A Casa das Janelas com Vista, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Many thanks for choosing Casa das Janelas com Vista for your vacations.
We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed our "Casa" a lot.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A delightful little place on a quiet back street, yet only a few minutes from restaurants, bars and the funicular down to the lower town. The room was small but comfortable with great views over the rooftops to the river. This was our second stay and I hope it won't be our last.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidH1141b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanelascomVista, Guest Relations Manager at A Casa das Janelas com Vista, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for choosing Casa das Janelas com Vista for your vacations again.
We are glad to know that you really like our "Casa".
It was really a pleasure to have you as our guest and we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review.
We also hope that this wasn't your last visit to us.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay here. The decor and furnishings are very attractive and tasteful in both the bedrooms and reception area-cum-breakfast room-cum-lounge area. The breakfasts are very good, including a selection of fresh fruit and delicious home-made cake, though anything cooked costs extra. Drinks and snacks were available in the evenings which was really nice after a long day out. Our bedroom (no.4) was very small, but it had a good view and the shower was good. It was quiet. The staff were very helpful and took the trouble to recommend restaurants and make bookings for us. We came from the airport by metro and I'd recommend a taxi from the metro station especially on a hot day, as it's a bit of an uphill slog when you're trundling suitcases and don't know the way.

Room Tip: Room 4 is quiet with a good view but very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toftie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanelascomVista, Guest Relations Manager at A Casa das Janelas com Vista, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for choosing Casa das Janelas com Vista for your vacations.
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our "Casa".
It was really a pleasure to have you as our guest and we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review.
We hope to see you again very soon at Casa das Janelas com Vista.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We're 28, stayed there as a couple. The guesthouse was really great. The location is nice because it's not in a touristy area, so you can get a real feel of Lisbon. The staff were nice, the breakfast was good, especially the orange juice, it's very clean and I loved the decor. We stayed in a small room, and true to fact, it was very small, basically just a bed with a small bathroom, but we didn't need more. I'd stay there again. The bed was very comfortable and good water pressure & clean shower (important points for me!) Tiny detail, the wifi basically only works in the common area downstairs. There's someone there 24hours a day so you leave your room key with them.

Room Tip: If you need space, don't take the small room. The rooms with a view truly do have a beautiful vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanelascomVista, Guest Relations Manager at A Casa das Janelas com Vista, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Many thanks for choosing Casa das Janelas com Vista for your vacations.
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed our "Casa" and the home-like feeling in it.
Regarding the wifi, that situation is going to change very soon, as we are going to put access points in all floors.
It was really a pleasure to have you as our guest and we would like to take this opportunity to really thank you for your review.
We hope to see you again very soon at Casa das Janelas com Vista.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We staied in this nice boutique hotel for 4 nights and it was a great pick.

This hotel is well located in Barrio alto close to restaurants, wine bars, late bars and yet, in a very quiet street.

We were given room number 10 on the 3rd floor which was spacious and with a massive bathroom. It was perfect for our needs.

When we arrived, we were greated by a very nice lady who gave us the map of the city and told us what to do in Lisbon as it was our first time there.

Breakfast is nice and aboundant. We did noticed though that, they tend to put less food on the table weekdays than weekends however, if you are looking for more cheese or ham or anything else, you just have to ask for it.

We had a great stay but, if we really had to be picky, I guess they could improve their wifi as it reaches the top floor jut about.

We would be definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davide M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanelascomVista, Guest Relations Manager at A Casa das Janelas com Vista, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Many thanks for choosing Casa das Janelas com Vista for your vacations.
We are thrilled to know that you have really enjoyed our "Casa".
In regards to the wifi situation, we are happy to tell you that that will change very soon as we are going to put access points in all floors.
It was really a pleasure to have you as our guest and we would like to take this opportunity to really thank you for your review.
We hope to see you again very soon at Casa das Janelas com Vista.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

It is a great place, beautiful decoration and very nice people
Amazing breakfast
Everyone should try the casa das Janelas experience
The location is great as everything is close by by walk
And even in the Bairo Alto, the street is very quiet

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLORENCE75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanelascomVista, Guest Relations Manager at A Casa das Janelas com Vista, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Many thanks for choosing Casa das Janelas com Vista for your vacations.
We are thrilled to know that you have enjoyed our "Casa" very much.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your review and we hope to see you again soon at Casa das Janelas com Vista.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,873 reviews
PortoBay Marques
#27 of 255 in Lisbon
340 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Hotel Convento do Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,621 reviews
Britania Hotel
#5 of 255 in Lisbon
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Casa das Janelas com Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Casa das Janelas com Vista

Address: Rua Nova do Loureiro 35 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200-293, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: $79 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Casa das Janelas com Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each room at Casa das Janelas com Vista is unique and has its own individual decoration: the yellow iron table, the hand-painted wardrobe, the velvet chaise longue, and the old armchair, etc. as well as bright and spacious bathrooms, perfumed with refreshing essences. Everything is tailor-made, full of charm and specially designed for you.The kitchen is an open, informal place and a meeting point in which to start the day with breakfast around a large table. The living room, which is next to the kitchen, is a pleasant and very bright space that also has a small terrace. You will find a place to relax, read, talk, or enjoy a good Portuguese wine along with a portuguese cheese board. The living room and the kitchen can be rented for small one-off events, presentations or parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your A Casa das Janelas com Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing