We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lisbon Destination Hostel
Ranked #10 of 484 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Friendly helpful staff, excellent location, great breakfast, local information, and clean & tidy. Sociable, friendly guest events and common area. This hostel ticks all the boxes for travellers wanting to have a great stay in Lisbon. Based at the Rossio train station makes it very easy to get to, easy to find and great base to get around. Consideration of other guests late at night is achieved with the minimum of fuss and bother. It's has a very nice atmosphere and I am a repeat guest.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank DdKiw2013i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
There are newer reviews for Lisbon Destination Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 767 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

It is really rare when this happens but this place exceeded my expectations from what I had see in the photos. My fiend and I stayed here for NYE and had a great time meeting new people in the common areas. The staff was super friendly and always checked in with us to see if we were having a good time. Juao (I think that's how you spell his name?) even helped me book a flight since it was all in Portuguese! I would definitely go back here when I return to Portugal.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicesonwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

After a 'missed connection' with a Couchsurfing host, my companions and I ended up in the Starbucks at Rossio station - buying coffees in order to buy Wi-Fi time which would allow us to search for a place to stay in Lisbon. When one of us was finally smart enough to inquire with an employee there about local hostels, we were guided to the top of the station we were sitting in to a great hostel experience!!
The LIsbon Destination Hostel was a spotlessly clean, lively, and refreshing place to stay during our exploration of the city! You couldn't ask for a more central location with the best access to transportation! The young staff was very efficient, professional, and extremely personable - which made this stay a great experience!
If you are looking for a quiet place to hide in a hotel room - forget it - this is not the place for you! But if you want a comfortable and clean place where you can meet a wide variety of people and engage in a fun community atmosphere - Destination Hostel is where you need to be! I highly recommend it, and hope to visit again someday soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reb k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful and not only encouraged you to go and see the area but also to engage in hostel activities.
The common area is incredible, a hammock for relaxing, bean bags, relaxed music and a pool table to unwind with among many other things.
Many activities to keep you occupied and entertained throughout your stay, perfect if travelling alone!
A great place to stay, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomosParsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

... and when you get there ask Hugo to make you his signature drink ;)

Next to this enjoy the feeling of staying in a really modern and cool place located inside of the beautiful historical Rossio train station, which is in a strategic position to explore Lisbon.

The best thing about this place is the staff, they are very helpful, relaxed and fun. Also thanks guys for recommending me the trip to Sintra! Loved it and miss you all!

Kisses, Karla

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karla k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Lisbon Destination Hotel is the place to be for young people who want to enjoy the city with a tiny budget. The location is perfect, the staff is so much fun, the swimming pool has a breathtaking view and the rooms are clean. Follow the staff members on pub crawls, take the train next door to visit the stunning Cascais and get the best advice for an optimum couple of days in Lisbon. Can't ask for more!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hostel is inside Rossio train station and is close to metro stations too! Easy access to many sights and night life! I love the kitchen a lot! it is big enough to do a lot of cooking! And is a good place to meet new friends! Thanks Nicholas, Gloria and Lucas for giving a lot of suggestions! Thanks for their help! Remember to join the free walking tour and Fado Tour! you will not be disappointed absolutely! Pedro is really a cool guide!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillyJillyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 253 in Lisbon
1,560 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 253 in Lisbon
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#10 of 253 in Lisbon
634 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 484 in Lisbon
572 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 484 in Lisbon
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Destination Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Destination Hostel

Address: Rossio Train Station | Second Floor, Lisbon 1200-160, Portugal (Formerly Rossio Patio Hostel)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 484 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: $21 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisbon Destination Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In July of 2011, smack in the heart of downtown Lisbon - Rossio - a new hostel is born. It could be just another hostel, except it's not. Housed in one of Lisbon's most beautiful and renowned buildings - the Rossio Railway Station - an undisputed icon of late XIX Century Romantic architecture (and which has recently undergone a profound facelift), Lisbon Destination Hostel is perched around a winter garden, where light filters down from the rooftop, harmoniously flooding the patio and creating an ambiance that is both tranquil and upbeat. We had planned on catering to a specific target, only to realize later that we didn't have to. We're confident that, between the ample first floor bedrooms (sleeping 4 to 8) with large windows overlooking the historic city, and the double rooms one floor up which peer out over the winter garden, you - whomever you may be - will find your niche. And if all this weren't enough, please note that, from our doorstep, you can take the train to the town of Sintra, a Unesco World Heritage Site just 20 minutes' ride away. Once you get there, you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Lisbon Destination Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing