We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lisbon Destination Hostel
Ranked #10 of 503 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a great hostel. The rooms (both dorms and private rooms) are spacious and comfortable and the common areas are really nice. There was a great selection for free breakfast each morning and the 9 euro dinner was simple but delicious and provided a great opportunity to talk to other people staying at the hostel. The tours and activities run by the hostel were fantastic- we went on the free Alfama walking tour, the Sintra day tour and the street art tour and would highly recommend all of them. The hostel is in a great location and always felt very safe.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Nadia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 779 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed at the Destination Hostel with my adult son in September for 1 night. I had never stayed at a hostel before and we had a private twin room with shared bath. The hostel is located in the Rossio train station but is quiet and well maintained. Our room overlooked the street with a view of the Castle. The common areas were light and pleasant and the kitchen area was well equipped. The bathroom and shower facilities were clean and well maintained with hot water and good shower pressure.

Although I clearly was older than most of the clientele, I felt comfortable and welcome. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Having arrived early in the morning, the staff offered to store our bags until check-in time so we could spend the day sightseeing. They also suggested restaurant options and things to see. They have a movie room and offer lots of activities and options for those staying longer.

A fun, lower-cost option. I would happily stay again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Excellent room, very comfortable, and felt extremely secure. Very quiet which was a warm welcome, and delicious breakfast with good options. Shared bathrooms were very clean and always available.

Will definitely return to this hostel and highly recommend it to anyone staying in Lisbon.

We stayed in the triple room no ensuite.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurpleJuice11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I've travelled to countries as far apart as Germany and Tajikistan and stayed in hostels as varied as Bob Marley-themed Himalayan retreats and Beatles-blaring, bargain basement shacks in the Old Quarter of Jerusalem. Never, however, have I found a hostel that even remotely compares to Lisbon Destination Hostel.

Fantastically located, engagingly decorated, impeccably maintained - the hostel is a winner from first to last. The breakfast pancakes are legendary and the facilities second to none. I had my pick of events night after night, from traditional Portuguese dining to free walking tours of Lisbon, to a cultural musical evening.

The view from my room out over Lisbon and towards the castle was stunning. However, it was the staff who added the true quality to the place. Every single person who works there is welcoming from the get-go, friendly throughout and helpful to the core. Their service even extended to researching and calling a dentist to help me with a wisdom tooth that made a sudden and unwelcome appearance!

Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed for five nights (always went to the reception and booked another night) and loved this hostel. It's in the middle of Lisbon and the staff is great and super friendly. I can highly recommend the free walking tour as well! The breakfast is great especially the pancakes!!! The people I met there were so lovely and I enjoyed Lisbon very much!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

My mom and I stayed at this hostel and it was fantastic! The rooms were very clean, the location was extremely convenient, there were plenty of scheduled activities to choose from. Also, the staff was amazing!! They were all very eager to help with any information we needed (directions, tours, bar suggestions). Our expectations were beyond exceeded!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Rvogel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

After arriving late to Lisbon we took the Metro right to the station ultimately next to the hostel. The location is perfect and you are close to everything. Plus there's a Starbucks in the train station! What's crazy too is that you don't hear the trains (or anything else) at all! It was one of the quietest places I've ever stayed. When we arrived at the hostel the front desk staff actually greeted us by name. We got a tour of the facilities and then made our way up to our room. We changed and then did a load of laundry. After waiting about an hour we discovered that the laundry didn't actually start but instead of waiting around for it (till probably 1 AM) they took care of putting everything in the dryer and we woke up to fresh clothes! The included breakfast was also really good and the whole place just felt like we were staying at home. Our room was an ensuite and it was great. Once again the staff was fantastic and we were able to store our bags on our last morning before we left with no trouble at all. They also have plenty of tours set-up which is nice to be able to get the lay of the land. There are plenty of shops, restaurants and bars nearby also. We only wish we had more time to spend in Lisbon at the Destination Hostel! Thanks for an awesome stay, we will hopefully be back soon! I almost forgot the best part! There is a sister hostel down by the water and your wristband gets you into that property as well. In the summer it would be awesome since they have a pool!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrbanL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#79 of 255 in Lisbon
2,066 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#3 of 503 in Lisbon
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 503 in Lisbon
587 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 503 in Lisbon
289 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 503 in Lisbon
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Destination Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Destination Hostel

Address: Rossio Train Station | Second Floor, Lisbon 1200-160, Portugal (Formerly Rossio Patio Hostel)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 503 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: $22 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisbon Destination Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In July of 2011, smack in the heart of downtown Lisbon - Rossio - a new hostel is born. It could be just another hostel, except it's not. Housed in one of Lisbon's most beautiful and renowned buildings - the Rossio Railway Station - an undisputed icon of late XIX Century Romantic architecture (and which has recently undergone a profound facelift), Lisbon Destination Hostel is perched around a winter garden, where light filters down from the rooftop, harmoniously flooding the patio and creating an ambiance that is both tranquil and upbeat. We had planned on catering to a specific target, only to realize later that we didn't have to. We're confident that, between the ample first floor bedrooms (sleeping 4 to 8) with large windows overlooking the historic city, and the double rooms one floor up which peer out over the winter garden, you - whomever you may be - will find your niche. And if all this weren't enough, please note that, from our doorstep, you can take the train to the town of Sintra, a Unesco World Heritage Site just 20 minutes' ride away. Once you get there, you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lisbon Destination Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing