We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish my stay was as good as everyone else's! Maybe I was unlucky.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lisbon Destination Hostel
Ranked #11 of 468 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I wish my stay was as good as everyone else's! Maybe I was unlucky.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Lots of good things about this place as others have written but I couldn't sleep here so my review couldn't be positive. The room was like a sauna. I got up once and asked for the air con to be turned on and was told he wasn't allowed to put it on until 2am. At 4am I had to ask again and then it was put on. On the second night I had the same issue but was more assertive and cooling was turned on earlier. Was on the top bunk so this may have had an impact. Staff were nice, breakfast was good and the hostel looks great. It was such a shame really.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    118
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
52
80
290
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here with a group of about 15 guys on a Stag Weekend in Lisbon (though we didn't spend very much time in the hostel itself, so don't let the potential of encountering other stag weekends put you off.) We were allocated several rooms next to each other on the ground floor. The rooms were excellent; all very clean and with comfortable beds. The corridors are totally covered in sound-proofing foam, which actually makes the entire space very quiet. The bathrooms were also very clean and although the showers were powerful, the hostel ran out of hot water pretty quickly one morning.

The location is perfect for exploring the city. It is very close to the main shopping streets and is very easy to get to from the airport. At night, it can be a bit of a pain having to ring the bell and wait for the night-watchman let you in, but at least it is secure.

Breakfast was a help-yourself affair, with a good selection of hot and cold options. The staff were extremely accommodating, though I think they were glad to see the back of us on Sunday morning!

All in all if you're looking for a quiet, convenient and affordable option to explore this fantastic city, then you really can't go wrong.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bands33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

good location, i stay in a single room,clean. the common area is very spacious and good hang out place. easy to find and you can walk around after you off load your luggage. they have some tours arrange everyday, its fun to join them.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Had such an amazing stay at this hostel, the facilities and rooms we're excellent but it was the staff that really made it. Everyone was so helpful and friendly which gave the hostel such a good vibe. I'd strongly suggest going on the excursions that they offer at the hostel as well because you see so much more!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Location and Staff are the two main pros. The hostel is pretty well located, right inside the train station nearby nightlife and some touristic attractions. The staff was promptly available and eager to share tips and support. Pretty much recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guilherme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Couldn't recommend this hostel more! Excellent price for what you get, everything is super clean and spacious, the food is great, activities are varied and worthwhile, and the location is perfect. The best thing is the atmosphere, created by the staff, who are all lovely and willing to help with anything!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is truly the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The staff are friendly and remember your name, the decor is modern and inviting. Having a great breakfast included in the price is a huge bonus. The rooms and bathrooms are spotless and everything is designed with comfort and style in mind. Being part of the station building is no problem, there is no train noise. The free activities put on by the hostel are widespread, well run and allow people to get to know each other.
I would actively encourage people to visit the beautiful city of Lisbon and to stay in this fantastic hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank customer709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 251 in Lisbon
1,525 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#12 of 251 in Lisbon
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 251 in Lisbon
2,727 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 468 in Lisbon
562 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 468 in Lisbon
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Destination Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Destination Hostel

Property: Lisbon Destination Hostel
Address: Rossio Train Station | Second Floor, Lisbon 1200-160, Portugal (Formerly Rossio Patio Hostel)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 468 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisbon Destination Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In July of 2011, smack in the heart of downtown Lisbon - Rossio - a new hostel is born. It could be just another hostel, except it's not. Housed in one of Lisbon's most beautiful and renowned buildings - the Rossio Railway Station - an undisputed icon of late XIX Century Romantic architecture (and which has recently undergone a profound facelift), Lisbon Destination Hostel is perched around a winter garden, where light filters down from the rooftop, harmoniously flooding the patio and creating an ambiance that is both tranquil and upbeat. We had planned on catering to a specific target, only to realize later that we didn't have to. We're confident that, between the ample first floor bedrooms (sleeping 4 to 8) with large windows overlooking the historic city, and the double rooms one floor up which peer out over the winter garden, you - whomever you may be - will find your niche. And if all this weren't enough, please note that, from our doorstep, you can take the train to the town of Sintra, a Unesco World Heritage Site just 20 minutes' ride away. Once you get there, you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lisbon Destination Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing