We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new hostel concept”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lisbon Destination Hostel
Ranked #11 of 470 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“new hostel concept”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

if I called destination hostel as a hostel, ı should find another definition for the rest of the hostels in other countries. In standart hostel, they put beds in room as much as they can, I stayed in the room with 4 bed but it is still possible to put there another 4. lockers in room and under each bed. common area space is as much as total room space. concierge support with various activities makes your days in lisbon more efficient.rooms, showers and toilets are clean, but I think number of toilets have to be increased.... breakfast is quiet good, but please support it just with cheese....I visited hostel with my friend but even I will come over to lisbon with my wife, I can prefer here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylordylan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    118
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
52
80
290
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Good initiatives and activities, such as walking tours, dinner days, quiz night.
Very helpful staff. Nice hostel in general, lots of light, and extremely central.
If I have to point out something, is the fact, that they could have more showers though...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Perfect place to stay in Lisbon ... Very central location in the train station but not noisy at all! Staff very chilled out and helpful lots of activities going on within the hostel if your up for them. Rooms were great, simple but clean and spacious just what we were looking for.
Breakfast was pretty standard but good selection, if you fancy something else then the kitchen's fab you can cook your own.
Social area is huge with pool table and chess set and hammocks for swinging in!

Only downside its got no outdoor area for the summer to chill out on but many great bars and restaurants near by instead.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosycheeks1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you are looking for something well located, this is the first place you should go. The rooms are very clean. if you want something simple with a warm and friendly atmosphere this is where you should go. the breakfast is varied, and you can bring any food you want if you want to cook it yourself. towels are available and other kind of services to have fun (music, ...)
The people working there are very nice, you can ask them anything. In other words, i'd definitely go back there!
Well enjoy your stay!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ntraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronda
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We were just passing through Lisbon this time but this hostel was perfect for us because we needed a place where we could chill out and have some down time. It didn't seem to be party central which was actually really good for us. The kitchen is well equipped & there's a supermarket a few doors away. Breakfast could be a bit better (some people would love chocolate pancakes every day, but I need my fruit & mueslie!!). Also the dorm we were in had no windows so there was no fresh air which is my only negative comment really.
Everything else was tops - great place & would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Fantastic, interesting staff. Felt like old friends. Hostel owner Joao is a great dude, too.
Fantastic location in the middle of town with easy transit connections.
Good breakfast in morning.
Large kitchen available for cooking.
Met lots of other travelers.
Wifi works well.
Lots of evening events available, but this is NOT a party hostel - you can be as busy as you like, or be a hermit if you choose (I particularly liked the 8 Euro dinners offered in the evenings).
Super clean.

I wish all hostels could BE this hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The staff here are very friendly, professional and helpful. The place is clean and very central. The breakfast is sufficient. Nice and relaxing atmosphere, not easy to find this type of hostel anywhere in the world. Valu for money. They can arrange for trip to nearby places with reasonable price.

Room Tip: Book inadvance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rush M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 251 in Lisbon
1,531 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#10 of 251 in Lisbon
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 251 in Lisbon
2,728 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 470 in Lisbon
563 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 470 in Lisbon
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Destination Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Destination Hostel

Property: Lisbon Destination Hostel
Address: Rossio Train Station | Second Floor, Lisbon 1200-160, Portugal (Formerly Rossio Patio Hostel)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 470 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisbon Destination Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In July of 2011, smack in the heart of downtown Lisbon - Rossio - a new hostel is born. It could be just another hostel, except it's not. Housed in one of Lisbon's most beautiful and renowned buildings - the Rossio Railway Station - an undisputed icon of late XIX Century Romantic architecture (and which has recently undergone a profound facelift), Lisbon Destination Hostel is perched around a winter garden, where light filters down from the rooftop, harmoniously flooding the patio and creating an ambiance that is both tranquil and upbeat. We had planned on catering to a specific target, only to realize later that we didn't have to. We're confident that, between the ample first floor bedrooms (sleeping 4 to 8) with large windows overlooking the historic city, and the double rooms one floor up which peer out over the winter garden, you - whomever you may be - will find your niche. And if all this weren't enough, please note that, from our doorstep, you can take the train to the town of Sintra, a Unesco World Heritage Site just 20 minutes' ride away. Once you get there, you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Lisbon Destination Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing