We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lisbon Destination Hostel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lisbon Destination Hostel
Ranked #10 of 406 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hostel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Lisbon Destination Hostel is an affordable hostel to stay at while in Lisbon. The location is prime as it's steps away from Rossio Square with bars, restaurants, and shopping at your fingertips. Intitially this hostel is confusing to get to because it's in the metro station, but once you're settled in, it's very convenient! The hostel is very well kept, with clean bathrooms and showers. (not something I can say for the rest of the hostels in europe) The staff is what makes this hostel memorable though. Someone is always at the front desk willing to help out with any need. Daily excursions are arranged at affordable prices such as beach days, walking tours of Lisbon, and or tours of Sintra (a must see). They are very informative and passionate about their country which makes it enjoyable to learn about! Breakfast is included in your stay each morning which is a bonus. Very general such as eggs, toast, cereal, crepes, coffee, and juice. But the dinners are what make the food at this hostel outstanding. It's normally buffet style and you have to pay 8 euros but it's SO worth it! The chef is amazing at Portuguese cuisine, it's as if you're sitting in her kitchen and eating a meal with her family. It's well worth the 8 euros because it provides a full 3 course meal and wine in included!!! Don't miss her meals, they're worth it!

This hostel was by far the best once I came across in europe!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have the best A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    113
    16
    10
    6
See reviews for
52
76
278
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Modern hostel in the top off the trainstation in the middle of Lisbon. We had a ensuite double with a small bathroom. Nice shower. Simple but clean room with a bunkbed so they can also rent it as a 4 person room. Nice and clean shared kitchen and livingroom. Bit noisy at night when people return from bars and clubs. Staff is friendly (and partly american) and organises activities like bbq's, beachtours and pubcrawls.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

This Hostel in the heart of Rossio Square is the perfect hostel for people with a small budget who still wish to stay in a lovely modern clean hostel. The staff who work at Lisbon Destination are some of the nicest I have ever met at a hostel during any of my travels. Each day the hostel organized trips to Sintra, the beach and many other locations as well as various free walking tours around the city. as well as the trips out of the hostel there is also many events that the hostel does in the evening including barbecues and film nights. Each morning there is a free breakfast which includes freshly made pancakes. The hostel has a nice clean bathroom with several showers, my only jibe being there is only two toilets which may cause delays in mid summer and the need to constantly keep pressing the power button in the shower to turn it back on every 10 seconds. The building itself is on the upper floor of the Railway Station overlooking the front of the station and is a clean modern building with a huge airy living/dining space in the centre. From the Hostel there are easy links all around the city with train, tram, metro and buses all within 5 minutes walk away. There are several restaurants and a small supermarket just around the corner from the which is very convenient. Despite the location of the hostel it is surprisingly quite at night due to the sound proofing on the windows and walls.
Overall this hostel is the perfect option for those who fancy an interesting, exciting trip to Lisbon with plenty of activities to do and plenty of interesting people to meet from all over the world.

Room Tip: If you have the opportunity to pick a room request to be located on the upper floor and not in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I was lucky enough to choose this hostel a few months ago for my first small attempt at solo backpacking with mobility scooter. It was a fairly scary prospect, getting back out there, but confidence is everything and this hostel was not only stunning inside and out but run and operated by the best bunch of people I've met at any hostel around the world. They made all the difference. The hostel itself is very accessible and the owner had plans to make it even more so, though the upstairs rooms were only accessible by stairs. But the upstairs rooms don't have the awesome views! The showers weren't fully accessible yet, but I can stand for short periods so it was okay for me. There was a large disabled toilet, which was going to be turned into a fully accessible shower wetroom. The lower bunks were quite high and a wheelchair user may struggle, but both of the rooms I was in had a low day bed that could be used for sleeping. The building management had made some crazy decisions while I was there, making the building itself (a major train station!) difficult to access. The hostel owner João was so outraged and embarrassed that I'm sure that has been changed! The kitchen was very well equipped and there's always someone around and genuinely happy to help, whatever the request. Especially memorable for going above and beyond and making my stay so easy and successful were Mafalda, Zsofi, and Penelope. I plan to go back! Maybe for a rock festival next year.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms have incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath_Harlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed here recently for 2 nights and had a great stay.
The location is fantastic and right in the heart of Lisbon with a very modern look to the hostel and rooms. We had a double with shared bathrooms and both were clean and exactly what you need after a day of exploring.
Breakfast was good with cereal, toast, boiled eggs. The hostel has plenty of activities on especially at night including a good priced meal.
Lots of travellers of all ages from everywhere which I think makes a hostel great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ausamanda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Getafe, Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

This hostel is really good which I have ever been!!
and the special dinner in hostel was really good!! especially the BBQ party!!
the staff was also nice and kind and the morning crape was really delicious!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjrals2234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

This was my first stay at a hostel and I enjoyed it very much. I decided to go with a private room which had a private bathroom. The room was spacious and comfortable. The free breakfast (toast, boiled egg, crepe, coffee, cereal, tea) was very convenient. I am a more mature traveller but felt comfortable here as it is a hostel for all ages. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The location was fantastic. Taking a day trip to Sintra cannot be more convenient as the trains are literally steps outside the hostel door (however, amazingly I couldn't hear any trains from inside the hostel!). There is free wifi throughout the hostel which was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripquestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#13 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 406 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#6 of 406 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 406 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Destination Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Destination Hostel

Property: Lisbon Destination Hostel
Address: Rossio Train Station | Second Floor, Lisbon 1200-160, Portugal (Formerly Rossio Patio Hostel)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 406 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisbon Destination Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In July of 2011, smack in the heart of downtown Lisbon - Rossio - a new hostel is born. It could be just another hostel, except it's not. Housed in one of Lisbon's most beautiful and renowned buildings - the Rossio Railway Station - an undisputed icon of late XIX Century Romantic architecture (and which has recently undergone a profound facelift), Lisbon Destination Hostel is perched around a winter garden, where light filters down from the rooftop, harmoniously flooding the patio and creating an ambiance that is both tranquil and upbeat. We had planned on catering to a specific target, only to realize later that we didn't have to. We're confident that, between the ample first floor bedrooms (sleeping 4 to 8) with large windows overlooking the historic city, and the double rooms one floor up which peer out over the winter garden, you - whomever you may be - will find your niche. And if all this weren't enough, please note that, from our doorstep, you can take the train to the town of Sintra, a Unesco World Heritage Site just 20 minutes' ride away. Once you get there, you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Lisbon Destination Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing