We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travels with a mobility scooter!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lisbon Destination Hostel
Ranked #9 of 433 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Travels with a mobility scooter!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I was lucky enough to choose this hostel a few months ago for my first small attempt at solo backpacking with mobility scooter. It was a fairly scary prospect, getting back out there, but confidence is everything and this hostel was not only stunning inside and out but run and operated by the best bunch of people I've met at any hostel around the world. They made all the difference. The hostel itself is very accessible and the owner had plans to make it even more so, though the upstairs rooms were only accessible by stairs. But the upstairs rooms don't have the awesome views! The showers weren't fully accessible yet, but I can stand for short periods so it was okay for me. There was a large disabled toilet, which was going to be turned into a fully accessible shower wetroom. The lower bunks were quite high and a wheelchair user may struggle, but both of the rooms I was in had a low day bed that could be used for sleeping. The building management had made some crazy decisions while I was there, making the building itself (a major train station!) difficult to access. The hostel owner João was so outraged and embarrassed that I'm sure that has been changed! The kitchen was very well equipped and there's always someone around and genuinely happy to help, whatever the request. Especially memorable for going above and beyond and making my stay so easy and successful were Mafalda, Zsofi, and Penelope. I plan to go back! Maybe for a rock festival next year.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms have incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath_Harlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    116
    16
    10
    6
See reviews for
52
78
282
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed here recently for 2 nights and had a great stay.
The location is fantastic and right in the heart of Lisbon with a very modern look to the hostel and rooms. We had a double with shared bathrooms and both were clean and exactly what you need after a day of exploring.
Breakfast was good with cereal, toast, boiled eggs. The hostel has plenty of activities on especially at night including a good priced meal.
Lots of travellers of all ages from everywhere which I think makes a hostel great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ausamanda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Getafe, Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This hostel is really good which I have ever been!!
and the special dinner in hostel was really good!! especially the BBQ party!!
the staff was also nice and kind and the morning crape was really delicious!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjrals2234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This was my first stay at a hostel and I enjoyed it very much. I decided to go with a private room which had a private bathroom. The room was spacious and comfortable. The free breakfast (toast, boiled egg, crepe, coffee, cereal, tea) was very convenient. I am a more mature traveller but felt comfortable here as it is a hostel for all ages. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The location was fantastic. Taking a day trip to Sintra cannot be more convenient as the trains are literally steps outside the hostel door (however, amazingly I couldn't hear any trains from inside the hostel!). There is free wifi throughout the hostel which was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripquestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Rossio Patio was the perfect accommodation in Lisbon: very well located, near everything, very clean, the staff was super nice and helpful, fun activities (I went on the pub crawl and it was really fun) and a very good breakfast. I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm and have absolutely no complaints about anything. The hostel is located inside the Rossio Train Station, which was extremely convenient (the train to Sintra leaves from there). Walking distance to Alfama, Bairro Alto and Castelo de São Jorge, and there are subway, tram and bus stops nearby.
Great value for money, would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fernandagm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

A gorgeous setting, a surprise to find a whole hostel INSIDE the Rossio Station, then more surprised of the fact that it was very quite!!!

Staff is very nice and helpful (despite a bit of difficulty in the kitchen during breakfast !!).

The Hostel is modern, the rooms are very spacious & comfortable as well as Clean. The patio area is lovely and bright with comfy bean bags :)

The Hostel is fantastically located with a wonderful view of the Castle from bedroom window .

I really did enjoy the stay there and if and when I go back would stay at same place :)

Please, please be aware of the robbers they are very good at unzipping and stealing your wallets or what ever their sticky fingers can grab out!! Luckily I caught one my self !!!

Enjoy and have a wonderful time :)

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quite room do not pick the room at the Entrance which is located next to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lil_Ndb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I never stayed in a hostel before but chose to do so because I was traveling with a young relative and I wanted her to have a good time with people her own age. My expectations were very low and I didn't expect to sleep very well.

To my great surprise, this hostel exceeding my expectations in every category. We had a twin ensuite room which was comfortable, immaculately clean, and silent at night. The hostel itself was light, modern and airy. The staff was friendly, competent and helpful. There were organized activities each day. For example, on our last evening we went to a local music bar where we listened to a type of Portuguese traditional music called foro escorted by the knowledgeable and personable Paulo. There was also a worthwhile day trip to Sintra organized by the hostel. Each evening a delicious three course supper is served at 8 PM for only 8 Euros. We ate there three times and they were among our best meals in Lisbon.

The location of the hostel is convenient and safe right off of Rossio Square, the center of Lisbon. Be aware though that Rossio Square can get a tad sketchy later at night so single females may want to keep that in mind when planning their day.

Here are some tips if you are planning to stay here:

1) If you are taking a taxi from the airport, ask the fare before you get in and tell the driver to turn on the meter.

2) The Hostel is the top floor of the Rossio Train Station. Just take the escalator to the top and turn left.

3) Bring your own towel, washcloth and flipflops.

4) Don't bother bringing high heels. It's impossible to walk in them because of the cobblestone sidewalks and the steep streets of Lisbon.

5) Definately sign up for the Sintra trip with Carlos. It was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#13 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 433 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 433 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 433 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Destination Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Destination Hostel

Property: Lisbon Destination Hostel
Address: Rossio Train Station | Second Floor, Lisbon 1200-160, Portugal (Formerly Rossio Patio Hostel)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 433 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisbon Destination Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In July of 2011, smack in the heart of downtown Lisbon - Rossio - a new hostel is born. It could be just another hostel, except it's not. Housed in one of Lisbon's most beautiful and renowned buildings - the Rossio Railway Station - an undisputed icon of late XIX Century Romantic architecture (and which has recently undergone a profound facelift), Lisbon Destination Hostel is perched around a winter garden, where light filters down from the rooftop, harmoniously flooding the patio and creating an ambiance that is both tranquil and upbeat. We had planned on catering to a specific target, only to realize later that we didn't have to. We're confident that, between the ample first floor bedrooms (sleeping 4 to 8) with large windows overlooking the historic city, and the double rooms one floor up which peer out over the winter garden, you - whomever you may be - will find your niche. And if all this weren't enough, please note that, from our doorstep, you can take the train to the town of Sintra, a Unesco World Heritage Site just 20 minutes' ride away. Once you get there, you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lisbon Destination Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing