We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would someone stay anywhere else?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lisbon Destination Hostel
Ranked #11 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Why would someone stay anywhere else?”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Rossio Patio was the perfect accommodation in Lisbon: very well located, near everything, very clean, the staff was super nice and helpful, fun activities (I went on the pub crawl and it was really fun) and a very good breakfast. I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm and have absolutely no complaints about anything. The hostel is located inside the Rossio Train Station, which was extremely convenient (the train to Sintra leaves from there). Walking distance to Alfama, Bairro Alto and Castelo de São Jorge, and there are subway, tram and bus stops nearby.
Great value for money, would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fernandagm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    117
    16
    11
    6
See reviews for
52
79
284
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

A gorgeous setting, a surprise to find a whole hostel INSIDE the Rossio Station, then more surprised of the fact that it was very quite!!!

Staff is very nice and helpful (despite a bit of difficulty in the kitchen during breakfast !!).

The Hostel is modern, the rooms are very spacious & comfortable as well as Clean. The patio area is lovely and bright with comfy bean bags :)

The Hostel is fantastically located with a wonderful view of the Castle from bedroom window .

I really did enjoy the stay there and if and when I go back would stay at same place :)

Please, please be aware of the robbers they are very good at unzipping and stealing your wallets or what ever their sticky fingers can grab out!! Luckily I caught one my self !!!

Enjoy and have a wonderful time :)

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quite room do not pick the room at the Entrance which is located next to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lil_Ndb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I never stayed in a hostel before but chose to do so because I was traveling with a young relative and I wanted her to have a good time with people her own age. My expectations were very low and I didn't expect to sleep very well.

To my great surprise, this hostel exceeding my expectations in every category. We had a twin ensuite room which was comfortable, immaculately clean, and silent at night. The hostel itself was light, modern and airy. The staff was friendly, competent and helpful. There were organized activities each day. For example, on our last evening we went to a local music bar where we listened to a type of Portuguese traditional music called foro escorted by the knowledgeable and personable Paulo. There was also a worthwhile day trip to Sintra organized by the hostel. Each evening a delicious three course supper is served at 8 PM for only 8 Euros. We ate there three times and they were among our best meals in Lisbon.

The location of the hostel is convenient and safe right off of Rossio Square, the center of Lisbon. Be aware though that Rossio Square can get a tad sketchy later at night so single females may want to keep that in mind when planning their day.

Here are some tips if you are planning to stay here:

1) If you are taking a taxi from the airport, ask the fare before you get in and tell the driver to turn on the meter.

2) The Hostel is the top floor of the Rossio Train Station. Just take the escalator to the top and turn left.

3) Bring your own towel, washcloth and flipflops.

4) Don't bother bringing high heels. It's impossible to walk in them because of the cobblestone sidewalks and the steep streets of Lisbon.

5) Definately sign up for the Sintra trip with Carlos. It was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

This was my first time traveling solo & staying at a hostel. All the reviews indicated to this hostel & from the first step into the hostel you will know why! The location couldn't be any better, right inside the train station (but don't worry, it's surprisingly quiet!) in the city centre with a beautiful view of the city.
The staff is super friendly, they remember your name, they are very patient, wiling to help you out & accommodate your needs as best they can. The hostel was opened only a few months ago, it's very clean & beautifully decorated. They organize activities like tours, dinners, pub crawls, Fado nights, etc, so one is never alone & one actually gets to experience the city with friendly & genuine guidance.
Their delicious dinners are made by their in-house chef, the breakfast crêpes are awesome & the tour guides are amazing!
Carlos is an outstanding tour guide and person; he is your friend, he encourages you to be curious about Portugal, the culture, the city, is full of information and advice, I will miss him! I took the Sintra tour and it was a very beautiful experience! He was also my driver for the airport shuttle service the hostel provides & even those 20 minutes were very fun!
This is the place I would recommend to everyone & when I go back this is where I'll be staying again!
Obrigada por uma experiência incrível!

Room Tip: The four-bed room in the corner facing the city with a clear view of the castle is very quiet, brigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

There are hostels, and then there's the Rossio Patio Hostel. These amazing guys don't just set the bar high, but they set it even higher.

From the moment that I walked in (through the train station), it felt like home. They have made a huge effort to make sure that guests are comfortable, and it shows. Things like bed-side reading lamps and storage units, beanbags and hammocks in the common room under a beautiful sun roof, delicious nightly meals, a television room, snooker table and good security made my 4-night stay nothing but incredible.

The rooms, bathroom and kitchen are spotlessly clean all through the day, and the beds are great after a hard day of climbing Lisbon's hills. Location-wise, it doesn't get any better. It was a surprise to find a whole hostel INSIDE the Rossio Station, but there's nothing to worry about; it's very quiet, safe and easy to get around and outside Lisbon. Truly a unique destination in itself.

However, without a doubt, the best aspect of staying here is the staff itself. I've stayed at over 20 hostels through my travels, and I can honestly stay that I've never met a friendlier bunch of people than at Rossio. Whether it was the personal tour of the hostel or dinner and chats with the staff, each person that I met made a genuine effort, and the fact that they remembered me and greeted me by name each time was something special. I didn't want to leave!

Thanks to Rossio for making my trip to Lisbon so memorable. I'm already planning my return! :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2012

c' e un bellissimo posto a lisbona dove dormire e sentirsi a casa

si chiama Rossio hostel e si trova nella spettacolare stazione ferroviaria di rossio,

amibiente caldo ed accogliente, spazi grandi ed arredati con fantasia, tipica portoghese e charme

prezzi modici, posizione ottima per visitare il centro citta ed anche i dintorni , proprio perche e sita nella stazione,

stanze pulite e servizi ben tenuti ed in numero sufficente

ottima colazione e very very good people from the staff, at any time of the day

try and enjoy it

luka caruso

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luka c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Partinico, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is a great hostel, more like an hotel than a hostel. It's inside the Rossio train station, so that is very comfortable for travellers. The hostel is very modern and the quality of the services is high. The hall is a common space, large and it makes you feel home, you can play games, know people,watching movies or just relax. You will breath a modern and young atmosphere, but nighttime is quiet and so nobody will bother you if you sleep. It's very clean and organized and the organization is accurated, the staff is great, professional, multilanguage and ready to answer to any question. I'll get back for sure in my next visit to Portugal

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robymatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 246 in Lisbon
2,649 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#13 of 246 in Lisbon
586 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 246 in Lisbon
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 445 in Lisbon
552 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 445 in Lisbon
258 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 445 in Lisbon
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Destination Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Destination Hostel

Property: Lisbon Destination Hostel
Address: Rossio Train Station | Second Floor, Lisbon 1200-160, Portugal (Formerly Rossio Patio Hostel)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisbon Destination Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In July of 2011, smack in the heart of downtown Lisbon - Rossio - a new hostel is born. It could be just another hostel, except it's not. Housed in one of Lisbon's most beautiful and renowned buildings - the Rossio Railway Station - an undisputed icon of late XIX Century Romantic architecture (and which has recently undergone a profound facelift), Lisbon Destination Hostel is perched around a winter garden, where light filters down from the rooftop, harmoniously flooding the patio and creating an ambiance that is both tranquil and upbeat. We had planned on catering to a specific target, only to realize later that we didn't have to. We're confident that, between the ample first floor bedrooms (sleeping 4 to 8) with large windows overlooking the historic city, and the double rooms one floor up which peer out over the winter garden, you - whomever you may be - will find your niche. And if all this weren't enough, please note that, from our doorstep, you can take the train to the town of Sintra, a Unesco World Heritage Site just 20 minutes' ride away. Once you get there, you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Lisbon Destination Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing