We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hostel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lisbon Destination Hostel
Ranked #10 of 498 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I 'm Japanese and I stayed with my parents.
This is our first time to stay hostels.
The room was so clean and staffs were so friendly.
They helped us so much.
So we could have excellent time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoko730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 463 of 777 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

I'd planned to stay 2 nights in this hostel but it was such a pleasant experience that I booked for an extra night. It's location is superb..right in the center of the old historical city center . The staff are all very kind and helpful, and the atmosphere is very good. I immediately felt at home. The breakfast which is included in the price, is very varied, even delicious pancakes are served. The central place (kitchen / lounge / reception) is very spacious clean and fresh, a lot of daylight coming through the big top window.
Also the sanitary very clean and modern. And I was really happy with the wifi so I could do my mails at the hostel and didn't have to go to an internet cafe which is far more practical. If I come back to Lisbon again I definitely will come back to this hostel!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deniz187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Stay four nights at the Rossio Patio hostel and had a fantastic time. This hostel brings hosteling to a whole new level.. it is a luxury hostel but with hostel hospitality and prices! The open concept lounge and kithcen are just amazing with tonnes of plants and natural sunlight. This is a new hostel so everything is brand new.
The owners (Dangolia and Joao) are superbe people who go out of their way. The staff are super friendly and interested in helping you out with the little details. For example, I came in from the rain and they offered me a hair blower and when we needed to dry our clothing, brought us a rack to hang out clothes to dry. It is just amazing and the location is just perfect!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natmanitouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Great location, excellent staff, very friendly. The hostel offers kitchen facilities, dinner for a reasonable price and very good breakfast. There are shared and private rooms, both very comfortable. I strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Very friendly and clean hostel in the city centre of Lisbon.Very helpful and friendly staff. Within walking distance to the main attractions. Very good value for money, definitely the best youth hostel I have visited so far!

Valentina 25, Italy

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I'm from manchester and I stayed in Rossio Patio hostel from the 5th to the 12 of november. The minute I got there, I noticed that all the staff were multilingual, they were always there to help and advise you, and I actually considered them as very good friends at the end of the week!
The hostel it self is situated on the 2nd floor of the gorgeous train station, which i found very helpful incase i wanted to go to places around like Sintra etc.. Its also a perfect location to stay! you have lots of places to visit which are just minutes away from the station.. with many restaurents and bars.
The inside of the hostel was designed to look like a green house / conservatory.. so theres so much light in the room, you can find the kitchen in the main room.. nice comfy chairs.. big bean bags, a free pool table and they also let you choose the music you'd like them to play if you're staying in.
The room i stayed in had 6 beds as i went with friends.. it was spacious and had a place to hang your clothes, and a locker to put your stuff in which comes with a key so its safe to leave your things inside... the view from the room i stayed in was breath taking! I was so pleased with it! They also have a small bar and daily activities.. such as kareoke night, portuguese buffets.. free daily walks from 10.30 am to take you around lisbon, and I went on the sintra walk which was also such an amazing experience. I've made so many friends from the hostel.. the people that go there are mainly 18 to 30, you meet people from all over the world.
It wasn't just a place where you'd drop your bags and just sleep there.. you actually enjoy staying in the hostel as much as you'd enjoy going out.

You will honestly never find anyone as nice and as lovely as the staff in Rossio Pattio! I will deffinatly come back to stay in Rossio Patio Hostel again! :)

PS: Penelope is very nice :)

Room Tip: all the room have amazing views :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We arrived as a group with some of our friends staying at different hotels in Lisbon.. We were dubious about it being a hostel as many people don´t think hostels are very nice.. None of us have ever stayed on one! HOWEVER.. when we got here we were so surprised about how nice and relaxed the hostel was that we felt like we weren´t even abroad but at home. Our friends visited and loved it too and spent most of their vacation here opposed to their hotels (which were 4* and nice apartments). Rossio Patio has totally changed all our views on hostels and we would definitely consider staying in them again! The staff are so friendly and welcoming and more like friends than people who work here! They even organised a night out for us to show us Lisbon nightlife! The chef Gustavo makes lovely food which is so worth the money and well worth a try!
Basically this hostel is well worth staying in and we would recommend it to anyone who is wanting to visit Lisbon! x

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOT18x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#3 of 498 in Lisbon
585 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 498 in Lisbon
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 498 in Lisbon
288 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 498 in Lisbon
372 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#7 of 498 in Lisbon
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Destination Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Destination Hostel

Address: Rossio Train Station | Second Floor, Lisbon 1200-160, Portugal (Formerly Rossio Patio Hostel)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 498 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: $19 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisbon Destination Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In July of 2011, smack in the heart of downtown Lisbon - Rossio - a new hostel is born. It could be just another hostel, except it's not. Housed in one of Lisbon's most beautiful and renowned buildings - the Rossio Railway Station - an undisputed icon of late XIX Century Romantic architecture (and which has recently undergone a profound facelift), Lisbon Destination Hostel is perched around a winter garden, where light filters down from the rooftop, harmoniously flooding the patio and creating an ambiance that is both tranquil and upbeat. We had planned on catering to a specific target, only to realize later that we didn't have to. We're confident that, between the ample first floor bedrooms (sleeping 4 to 8) with large windows overlooking the historic city, and the double rooms one floor up which peer out over the winter garden, you - whomever you may be - will find your niche. And if all this weren't enough, please note that, from our doorstep, you can take the train to the town of Sintra, a Unesco World Heritage Site just 20 minutes' ride away. Once you get there, you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lisbon Destination Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing